We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor wetting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mesa

Red Mesa
4912 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33703
+1 727-527-8728
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Of Mexican origin, fused with flavors and favorites from Latin American, Tex-Mex & Caribbean kitchens. A St. Pete landmark, known all over for inspired dining at its best, garnering numerous awards and kudos, most proud of our personal service.
Narragansett, RI & Poincian, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great outdoor wetting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If the weather's good, Red Mesa is a must. The food is good, the prices reasonable, but the outside setting makes it a great spot. The service was very good and when the manager found we had gone for three consecutive days, he sent over margarita's on the house. Happy hour drink specials are a good deal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    110
    37
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Crapolla”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Passed up my usual Mexican to try this place based on the great reviews. The chips, salsa, house made hot sauce and beer were good but that's where it ended. We ordered two combination plates so that we could try several dishes in one. Almost everything was breaded and/or deep fried then covered with different sauces and salsas. The sauces were tasty but not enough to mask the bland flavour of the food underneath. After peeling off the deep fried coatings which I hate there was hardly any filling for me taste. No quality ingredients here-just cheap fillers. $95 bill for 4 appetizers, 1 kids meal (a disappointing breaded shrimp again) 2 entrées and 4 beers. Wish I had spent my money and night out elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great ambience, especially outdoors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great ambience that unfortunately was not really matched by the food. Nevertheless we will go back for another try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, snooty management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food is great...but they aren't the most hospitable. I believe that you always make the customer feel welcome. They will refuse to seat you if ONE person in your party is not there yet. I understand why, but still don't feel like it's very hospitable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“yummm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

whether i've been looking for brunch, lunch, dinner or just drinks, i have yet to be disappointed by red mesa! their food is so mouthwatering...so delicious...the service is great...the atmosphere is gorgeous...drinks are tasty and strong! you can't miss here!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa also viewed

 

Been to Red Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.