We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hollander Hotel to your Saves list
Hollander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   421 4th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hernando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a great weekend, small boutique type hotel, small rooms, but a fun bar and great breakfast. One problem, the mildew in the bathroom, especially the grout in the bath tub needs to be addressed, how hard is it to clean it just a little??

Also, don't plan on sleeping late, the gap under the doors is at least one inch, and you hear everyone and everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    186
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
68
305
40
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I'm always nervous about booking a hotel that is not part of a chain, but this little gem well exceeded my expectations. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The locations is excellent. The room and overall hotel is very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The finishes were charming with their blend of contemporary and original hardwoods. The price was ideal and very competitive with major chains offering same style of room. We will definitely look up this hotel again the next time we plan to stay in Saint Petersburg.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was attracted by the TA reviews, so we booked there. Great place, super staff, lots of atmosphere, finer location in downtown, one of the best steak we had for a long time, met interesting people...so all good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marly-le-Roi, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were in Tampa for a few days and we stayed at this nice hotel. Big brick building near the central street of St Pete.
Really nice staff, there is a pretty decent bar with a nice selection of draught beers.
On the downside, wifi is bumpy and my bathroom small and not really convenient.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed at the Hollander Hotel earlier this week for work reasons. I arrived about 5:30 pm and was greeted by the front desk staff who checked me in fairly fast. He mentioned their bar area and restaurant hours for dinner for breakfast. He directed me to the parking area and how to find the elevator and room. All the standard practices hotels should do upon check-in. The lobby area is attached to a large seating area and the bar and seating area for the restaurant are at the other end of the open lobby. The feel is somewhat like a B&B. The wood floors in the hallways are newly finished as was the real hardwood floors in my room. The bathroom is retro but very clean. The bed was comfortable and the pillows perfect. The AC was the European type and worked well. Did not make any noise. Some people mentioned the shelter behind the hotel but it didn't bother me nor did I notice it. You can walks to some of the Tapas places or drive a few blocks. The bar and food in the Hollander were good. The craft beer was served cold and at a great price. The fish sandwich was good and the fries were fries. Breakfast was coffee and danish and there seemed to be pastries and other items at the other end of the lobby too. Anyway, I will stay here next time for sure, I might get the larger room though and not face the street.

Room Tip: maybe op for the larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was a pleasant surprise, because of mixed reviews on TripAdvisor. Seems like some of the concerns have been addressed: for example, the extended parking lot was being completed when I was there. Yes, the bathrooms are small, but I don't care. (I heard there's the "old" part and a newer part to the property, but did not confirm.) I had a third floor, rear room and found it quiet and restful. Very comfortable bed. Three things are really key here: very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, and probably one of the best hotel "lobbies" I've ever seen--it's the taproom and always very lively. It's such a pleasure to stay somewhere where you feel comfortable sitting at the bar and having dinner (I'm a solo female traveler in her 60s). I walked to the movies, the bayfront, American Stage--day and night--and felt quite comfortable.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room, be specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Although the renovations are well done and there is a lively atmosphere, the rooms arent as clean as they could be. Overall a little stale and musty. staff was very pleasant, though, and amenities (golf carts, free wifi/parking, coffee shop) were nice. Location was great and super walkable to restaurants, bars, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Address: 421 4th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St.Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music Friday and Saturday nights. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy our Beautiful New pool and outdoor Bar area, with Cabana rentals available. $3 Craft Beer on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full 2 bars to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.