We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hip and Happening Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollander Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hollander Hotel to your Saves list
Hollander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   421 4th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking!
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
NPR, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Hip and Happening Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hollander Hotel in downtown St. Pete. It was tastefully decorated to match the 1930 style in which it was constructed. It is a local favorite, and the place was filled each evening, but comfortably so. On Tuesdays they have a $3.00 special on pints of beer, and there are a number of craft beers on tap - 20 or so. Their menu is reasonable, and everything was delicious. There is a gormet coffee shop downstairs with a new coffee each morning. The staff was friendly, interesting, and very accomodating. The only cautionary note is that the surrounding neighborhood isn't that great, so don't leave any valuables in your car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FloridaRick, Public Relations Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We value your input and will stay hip and happening. We promise. Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    153
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
250
27
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed for 2nights & was highly delighted with this modern Boutique Hotel, room was a bit small but very comfortable and cosy. All staff were very friendly, especially in the bar restaurant, it's obviously the 'in' place in St Petersburg, they were very busy at night, but nothing was too much trouble, the staff all worked very hard and kept smiling. Food was very good & reasonably priced. Would definately recommend and hopefully return soon. Also good location for downtown St Petersburg.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor, & didn't hear any noise from the downstairs bar/ restaurant whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Shores, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just had a great two days at the Hollander Hotel! The whole hotel is a great experience - from the well-appointed rooms to the charming lobby and delicious food. I had a grouper that was the freshest I have ever tasted. Compared to the fishy-tasting grouper I had at the Vinoy the next day - there is no contest. The staff is friendly and helpful too. Can't wait for my next stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My mom and I spent nine nights at the Hollander recently and loved it! I found this place through vrbo.com and got a great deal. I love the hardwood floors, tiles and decor, and set of pictures along the stairways. My mom and I shared a room on the third floor and it was not spacious, but plenty comfortable. Will at the front desk is so very friendly and everyone is willing to help out answering questions. The Tap Room has live entertainment every night, and the music is varied and fun. Great place to spend a few hours at night. The best place in the morning, however, is out on the front porch in the sunshine. Plus, the hotel is in easy walkable distance from everything downtown. I would definitely stay here again on a visit to St. Pete!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having read the Trip Advisor reviews we were looking forward to the night we booked at the Hollander. Always nice to get away from the chain hotels and the idea of a quirky recently renovated hotel appealed.

The Hollander has potential and if a few more dollars had been spent on the renovations it would have been money well spent. Our room was small, the bed uncomfortable (and small) and the bathroom did not even have basic services such as tissues. The workmanship on the renovations was poor.

Breakfast seemed disorganised, with limited choice and delays. Having to order coffee in the separately run coffee shop is less than desirable. Aside from the small car park behind the hotel the adjacent parking area is simply an empty block but we did find a place once we told that was where we should park.

We enjoyed the area around St Pete and the waterfront areas are enjoyable with a good range of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was the only reasonably priced hotel I could find in the downtown St Petersburg area. It was about 3 times less expensive than some of the neighboring hotels. This is a restored older hotel with hardfloors and some older tubs, showers, closets, etc. The hardwood amplifies foot traffic a little. The room I had was adjacent to 4th avenue which provides some noise early in the morning due to traffic. The other rooms our down the hall from the road so are probably better. There is a bar/restaurant downstairs that had live music until 10 pm or so which a lot of people seemed to be enjoying. There is free parking and internet which was good. The bed was very comfortable. I used the hotel as a bedroom and walked to the harbor area for meeting each day which was exactly what I needed. I liked the hotel and would stay there again. I believe there is a exercise area but did not use it.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room facing 4th Avenue or near the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This cozy hotel is a great place to stay and a fabulous location in downtown St. Petersburg. The restaurant, The Tap Room is awesome and very welcoming. The little coffee shop has great coffee as well. i also onjoyed sitting out on the front porch for coffee.

Room Tip: There is no pool on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Address: 421 4th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St, Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music nightly with a friendly staff. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy one of our 20 Craft Beers on special for only $3 on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full bar to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.