We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the $” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollander Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hollander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   421 4th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking!
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for the $”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of March after finding the hotel by accident on the internet. As we have friends who live in St Petersburg, we needed somewhere in walking distance and this fitted the bill perfectly.

The hotel is very new and so everything is very clean and tidy. Staff on reception were helpful and allowed us to check in an hour or so early.

The tap room at the hotel is one of the best in St Petersburg serving quality craft beers at reasonable prices (Tuesdays are $3 crafts if you're in the area!). Food is also great and I think all meals are under $10; the 1 pound stuffed meatball really set me up for the day. The only problem was that it was so busy in the bar that we only managed to eat there once, but from the hotel's point of view, that's a good thing!

As previous posters have mentioned, parking can be an issue, but there is a grassed area at the back. Another point made previously is noise; on our first night, we had a bad nights sleep due to the people in the room above banging around on wooden floors. Also, someone was banging on our window from outside and shouting loudly at about 2am.

The other 2 nights were better, but be aware if you are a light sleeper

These points would not stop me visiting the hotel again when we are next in the area, in fact it would be our first choice

Room Tip: A top floor room may help to reduce the noise from the wooden floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    125
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
48
200
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Walking into the Hollander Hotel was a big surprise: the place was alive with music, people and the bustle of a good time. The front desk welcome could not have been warmer, and sitting in the lobby and on the front porch was a pleasure. The hotel is within easy walking distance to downtown restaurants and local attractions. Our room, however, was somewhat disappointing. We stayed in the "newer" hall of the hotel, over the coffee shop and facing the street. It was extremely noisy the first night, which was a Friday. The second night was much better except for some loud footsteps overhead. Our floor was tiled, and I wonder if the "older" section is more sound-proof. The bed was comfortable, the room and bath clean, and the rate very good. I'd stay here again but would make sure I asked for a room away from the street in the older building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We found this hotel on trip advisor when all other hotels we checked out were full. The Tap Room had good food that was reasonably priced. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast on the front porch. The rooms were small with no phones, but just fine as we were only there for one night. The people working at the desk were very helpful and friendly as were the waitresses. Overall, we liked this hotel and would go back. Our only complaint was a group of people who partied in the halls until after 3:00 AM. We did share this with the desk people who said they had received other complaints about this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Tap room was great fun, but rooms left a bit to be desired; sparsely furnished and not very well provisioned. However we enjoyed our 2 night stay as the tap room had great craft beers, food and atmosphere. They only do breakfast on Sat/Sun however staff recommended Central Cafe which was great and walkable. Parking is tight. Bit far to walk to main attractions, but you can get a 50c trolley ride which loops past everything of interest.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great value, very clean, friendly!
Close to everything St.Pete. Will stay again!
The food and beer at the Tap room hit the spot.
Great 1933 hotel all renovated, and the front porch is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect for the job we came to do. The proprietors have obviously worked very hard (and are still working) to make a success of the business. The lobby, bar, restaurant, and coffee shop downstairs were beautiful. The employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful and eager to please.
That said, there were a few issues with the room. Most of them were minor, but one troubled us deeply. The rooms are very small and the walls thin. The last night or two, the sound of the people in the room above us made sleeping difficult. No tissues in the room, no wastebasket in the bathroom, no hair dryer (one was provided when we asked, but didn't work very well). Parking was often difficult, especially on weekends. The grassy area is usually fine, except that, of course, it was muddy after a rain, and when it was crowded it was difficult to navigate through the haphazardly parked cars. We were almost completely parked in the morning we had to leave to catch our flight home.
Our major problem was that on the second night we discovered that half of my husband's prescription medication was missing. We told the manager, who was very concerned and was going to investigate and get back to us about the matter. We never heard back from him. The rest of our visit was a little uncomfortable, since after that we no longer felt that our belongings were safe in the room when we went out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We always welcome all comments and concerns, We are a completely renovated Hotel
open for 3 months, We always consider our hotel guests as Guests in our home, any concerns for security are always taken very seriously. We have cameras throughout the hotel. and any comments are always welcome. We always have our housekeepers in teams of two to avoid any
incidents that could arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was everything people wrote. It was nice and quaint, quiet, and fantastic! I found this hotel on a hotel search trying to find something that wasn't a typical chain hotel for just a night stay for a birthday getaway. The hotel was adorable with it's old feel. Thank you Hollander Hotel for a great night stay. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We Thank you so much, Look forward to seeing you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Address: 421 4th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 miles from the city center of St, Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music nightly with a friendly staff. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy one of our 20 Craft Beers on special for only $3 on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. We also have a full bar to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.