We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical pub decor but....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Arms

Britannia Arms
7220 Central Ave, St Petersburg, St. Petersburg, FL 33707
+1 727-202-6817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 723 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: American, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: British and traditional American Style cuisine, along with a cozy pub feel, with 6 rotating taps and 10 taps mix with imports and domestics. We also carry wine and a selection of bottled beer.
Santa Rosa Beach, fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a typical pub decor but....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

ok, so I used to live in Ireland and have had my fair share of fish and chips, but I have to say, this may be the best piece of fried cod I've ever had. Super friendly neighborhood pub- the other customers at the bar were as friendly as the British owners. I ended up here by accident, and it turned out to be a great find. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quite Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I also enjoy the fish and chips, though everything I have eaten there has been good.Big portions and always delicious.The staff, from the owner on down, helps to make the experience an even better time.I would recommend this for anyone looking for a good meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips! Huge servings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I don't know why it took us so long to go to the Britannia Arms - it's right down the street for our home. I guess it's because I've never craved British food but we finally stopped there for lunch to give it a try. I will be back! The fish sandwich (get the haddock, not cod) was so good, I wanted to eat it all. But I couldn't because the piece was HUGE!!! I took half of it home. The sandwich bun was really soft and tasty too. I normally don't eat the bread (low card diet) but it was worth every carb calorie. Service was fast and friendly and waitress let me sample several beers on tap till i found one I liked. Will go back again and again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband had the Fish and Chips and I had the Chicken and Vegetable Pie. The food was hot,
fresh and very tasty. We also had some Fried Mushrooms, as appetizers, which were scrumptious. They have many types of beers and some ciders. Enjoyed the beer, food and atmosphere. Owners are very pleasant and obviously take pride in their restauraunt/pub. We have gone there twice and have enjoyed it both times.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The owner of Britannia Arms was the owner of the long closed Pints and Pastimes in St. Pete Beach. He still has the expertise to prepare great British fare. Fish and Chips there are my favorite. I would recommend this place for a night at a good pub with good food. Lots of different types of beer too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Arms also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Britannia Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.