We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokin' Sauce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
3650 Tyrone Boulevard, St. Petersburg, FL 33710 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
727-341-2990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 707 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Smokin' Sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I don't usually go for BBQ chains, but we decided to give Sonny's a try. We loved it! Greated by friendly staff as soon as we opened the door, seated immediately, and got drink order placed.

It took some time to go over the menu...so many choices! I had the pulled pork with a baked sweet potato and cole slaw. My husband ordered a full slab of baby back ribs, baked beans, and fries. We shared fried okra for an appetizer. The okra was lightly breaded and good. The pulled pork was melt in our mouth tender! Sonny's has 5 different bbq sauces on the table and the Smokin' was my favorite. It was sweet and hot at the same time. My husband enjoyed the ribs and preferred the sweet sauce. All meats are served smoked, but not sauced so that you can add what you like. We both had cornbread with our meals, but you have a choice of that or garlic toast.

They had really good looking desserts, but we were too full! I would definitely go back to Sonny's! Good food and good prices and good service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Gramgo, thank you for the great review! We're happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed our pulled pork and ribs with the Smokin' BBQ sauce. We appreciate you taking the time to write your detailed review and hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went last night for the first time and glad we did. I travel all over the country eating BBQ and I enjoyed this. Reminds me of the stuff I get in KC and St. Louis. The prices were really good! We got a two person deal for only $18 which each getting an entree with 2 sides and an appetizer. Portions were big and tasty. I'd recommend pulled chicken, turkey was good as well. Beans were nice and spicey, corn bread moist and like a little mini loaf, and BBQ nachos tasty with not being overloaded with BBQ sauce. The place is a huge chain in FL so the restaurant itself was nothing fancy. We went dinner on Sunday evening and it wasn't crowded at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Banny9949, thank you for your great review! We're glad to hear that you're a fan of our BBQ and enjoyed the pulled chicken, beans and corn bread. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dowh Home BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Well I love BBQ and Ribs...I am a NORCAL girl, with a downhome southern cooking thing for BBQ...We were just driving by and saw the place and decided to stop in. It was clean, friendly, and good and very INEXPENSIVE!!! My husband loved the beans, I loved the ribs, and my son loved the chicken, and we had to buy every bottle of their BBQ Sauce...Krista was a good server!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the great review, Mike and Joanna W! We'r glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your BBQ dinner! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you all again soon for more ribs, baked beans and chicken!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I haven't really visited Florida if I don't go to a Sonny's. For a chain they are really good. ANY of the bar-b-que is good. 4 different sauces to squirt on your plate. Generous portions. 2 for 1 drinks/beer on fridays. Excellent prices.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Been to this location twice, and other locations in the area a few times. This location by far has the best service. Each time the staff is courteous and friendly. Always ask us if we want to take a beverage to go.
The food is great. Their dry rub ribs are excellent. The service is always fast as well. Couldnt believe when our food was brought out so quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.