We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queenshead

Queenshead
2501 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33713
(727) 498-8584
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 705 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We enjoyed dinner at this great restaurant in the Grand Central District of St. Pete. The atmosphere was immediately welcoming, the decor very classy yet comfortable. We loved the sangria with a delicious dinner-awesome meat pie and incredible sirloin. Portions are perfect and prices are consistent with the quality of the fare. We finished our dinner with coffee on the patio in one of the lounging beds. We'll definitely be back either for dinner or just to relax on the patio. Thank y'all so much for a great time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penn, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“English food at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The meat pie I had was to die for! a little pricey but well worth it ! Loved the atmosphere ! and such nice .. friendly owners!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been to Queenshead twice. Once during a festival and it was a blast. Great music, lounging beds, super crowd -Beer and wine only. The other time for lunch. Darren the owner waited on us and he was a delight. He talked about things to do in the city and instead of "upselling" his wine, trying to sell a more expensive glass, he said both of the wines were good. REALLY APPRECIATED THAT!
The fish and chip sandwich special was good. The fries are on the sandwich - one piece of fish. Also had the scallops and brussel sprouts - delicious. Servings are small but in all reality they are just enough.
The brownie we had for dessert was heavenly - and a nice healthy serving!
Local is important to me and now that I know about Queenshead, I will always patronize when visiting the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

In general restaurants in St.Pete are less than stellar. Sadly our community seems to favor price over quality. However this place is a real find. Small with neat interior and outside seating, the bar is quaint and the staff personable. Now I am not usually a big fan of British and Indian food, but this chef puts a nice spin on it. We have been there several times and would not hesitate to go back. The chickpea appetizer is excellent and flavorful. The scallops with bacon and Brussels sprouts is excellent as is the salad with strawberries. The fish and chips are superb,(if you like fried food), and normally I am not a curry fan but the chicken curry was superb. Finally their rice pudding had sweet Indian spices and was quite yummy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Sing it with me... :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A twist on British pub food meets contemporary. The guys that own it are fabulous. Very friendly staff, try the chicken curry! It's not what you are expecting. pumpkin hummus is awesome. If you want the sheppards pie, put your order in right away, it takes a while. The beers are really fairly priced, and it's the good stuff, not the Budweiser crap. We go before Rays games, and we are happy every time. My favorite is the bacon and avocado with arugula sandwich special on the weekends. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it. :)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queenshead also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Queenshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queenshead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.