We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice well kept complex” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bermuda Bay Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bermuda Bay Beach Club
Save Saved
You added Bermuda Bay Beach Club to your Saves list
3657 42nd way South, St. Petersburg, FL 33711   |  
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice well kept complex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The condo that we rented (59I), for the past two winters was excellent, great view of Boca Ciega Bay, where we watched dolphins, boats, and many types of birds from the second floor patio. We found the Bermuda Bay property to be clean and well maintained. Only a short drive to many beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Lots to do in St Petersburg!! This a gated complex with armed security guards.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

For the price, this place is right on the money for families. I stayed here with my Mom for a 1 week get away, in the hopes that we could walk out our back door and have the beach at our toes (as advertised). The amenities are nice, clean.... but the beach is a small inlet, not the ocean front. There are no "beach front" rooms, but still a good place to go if you don't mind driving around for a beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

A very nicely keep facility, in a great location, except perhaps for the public housing area down the street. I am sure many rental units are in excellent condition, however, ours was not ,59D. Towels and linens were threadbare castoffs from someplace else, furnishings were old and dirty. Floors had been swept, but were dirty and grimy. Back door screen was torn loose and flapping in the breeze. The broken hairdryer was still hanging off the wall, cheap coffee maker was broken (i fixed it).

The 20 minute ride to pick up the key at Whispers (and check out) , was inconvenient and unnecessary. Whispers itself was creepy and dirty. We had a bad feeling about it all as soon as we pulled up to that place ! Avoid units owned by Jeff.!

Room Tip: Do not rent from Jeff Solomon !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The bigges t disappointment was the beach was not for swimming. The beaches are 10- 15 minutes away which is ok, but not if you desired a beach vacation.
The resort was ok... pools were nice, though hot tub looked a little dirty. Security was present at the gate and roaming.
My unit was dated and didnt feel clean. I only used paper and plastic kitchen ware and bought my own towels and pillow at the local Walmart. The sliding door was off track so I never used the unscreened back porch or anything on it.
I thought just giving a " starter roll" of toilet paper and paper towels was very cheap and having to drive to Treasure Island for the gate pass was very inconvenient. The appliances were cheap but working.The cleaning fee had to be paid upfront but the instructions to pile linen ( not use much), sweep floors etc made you think you didnt just pay $90!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

These are privately owned condos and some are rentals and some are owner occupied. Obviously some will be in better shape than others. Unit 70A was in near perfect condition. It is a new rental so it had been freshly painted through out. The unit was clean and well equipped. The furniture all seemed brand new including the bed. There is free wireless internet, extended cable and the phone included FREE long distance to US and Canada.
It is very quiet and relaxing. I loved the private beach where you can watch the sunset every night. There are 2 pools and hot tub. There are also tennis and racquet ball courts. This unit is also equipped with 2 bicyles which we took advantage of. If you enjoy the bigger beaches there are several within a 10 minute drive. I loved artsy downtown St. Pete which is only 10 minutes away. It was the perfect get away from my Canadian winter.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Unit 59D was clean but dated and much smaller than we anticipated. The redeeming features were that we were on the ground floor next to the pool and hot tub and had fantastic views of the sunsets.
We may or may not rent in Bermuda Bay again, and we warn everyone not to expect first-class accommodations. We would certainly try to get up to date photos of the place. The furniture was old and a mish-mash of styles. We were hoping for better atmosphere at a vacation home.
The biggest disappointment is that we had one of our children and his family with us and it was not the kind of place to make wonderful memories of a great vacation.
This was our first time at the condo and now we know what to expect in the area. Hopefully it will be much warmer when we visit Florida.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Unfortunately there are people out there that rent to people and really don't give a hoot about what they are renting, just as long as they get their money. Unit 59B was proof positive. When we arrived (and I had to pay a cleaning fee up front) the place looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. The place was very dated and smelled, and needed to be cleaned OUT and not just cleaned up. My husband and myself spent 3 1/2 hours just surface cleaning the kitchen because everything was covered in grease. The pots (that we could use) and all the dishes had to be all washed. And the things we could use didn't go back into the cupboards or drawers because they where so dirty and the bathroom well thats another story, I could go on about Unit #59B forever but whats the use. Live and learn. The Bermuda Bay Beach & Racquet Club is a beautiful place very well maintained and cared for ,we've already rented another Unit there for next year but this time we actually visited the condo and met with the person that rents it out. We will not be caught again renting on line by looking at pictures that are 5 years old and trusting people with outdated on line information (our first time who knew). My friend mentioned this web-site and I glad she did. Renters beware! I did take a lot of pictures of the inside of this place and did forward them to the Landlord and she agreed without hesitation that my cleaning fee would be refunded. I wonder how long that will take? And no apologies where given for making our month is this unit very unpleasent.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mambocas, PR manager at Bermuda Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
Every condo is cleaned before a guest comes. If the cleaning is unsatisfactory, this must be reported immediately for a reclean in the presence of the guest. The cleaning company guarantees satisfaction. Guests should not report problems 8 days after arrival date. There are many repeat guests for this condo. They would not return if unsatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bermuda Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bermuda Bay Beach Club

Address: 3657 42nd way South, St. Petersburg, FL 33711
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
Bermuda Bay Beach Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Bermuda Bay Beach Hotel
Bermuda Bay Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bermuda Bay Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.