We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Dali Museum Package
Ranked #2 of 45 hotels in St. Petersburg
Birmingham, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel was okay. Housekeeping needs to do a better job on over all room cleanliness. The basics were clean but the fine details needed some attention. Breakfast area was clean and nice. Location and Lobby was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I apologize that our room cleanliness did not meet your expectations. I will be sharing this review with my housekeeping managers and staff. We will then determine the best way to "tighten up" on our detail cleaning procedures and inspections. Thank you for taking the time to share and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    105
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
106
131
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Downtown St. Petersburg, FL is in an excellent location. We are from the area and visit St. Pete often. This will be our choice of hotel if we ever need to stay down there again. It is right on Beach Drive so you can walk to all of the restaurants, shops, movie theater, and eventually..."The Lens" which is currently replacing The Iconic Pier. The beautiful St. Pete waterfront is literally out the hotel's door. If you are coming to visit the beaches, you can stay here and drive to Pass A Grille (highly recommeneded) for the beach. It is a 15 minute drive, and a very charming little town without high rises and fast food. Ft. Desoto Park is also within 15 minutes and has beautiful beaches, a fort, and a campground. Do NOT take the trolley or bus unless you want to ride on it for over an hour each way. Downtown St. Pete has great restaurants (use Urban Spoon for choices), night life, and it's SAFE for your family and friends. We walked around every night and felt very safe. There are great museums like the Dali and Chihuly which are both highly recommended. Take a trip to Paciugo for the BEST Gelato ever, and for those coffee lovers, Starbucks is within walking distance as well (just a block or so away). The hotel itself is EXCELLENT with an amazing food/drink reception in the evening during the week (we almost didn't have to buy dinner out). The breakfast is also wonderful. We used the pool twice, and it was very private and peaceful. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED HOTEL FOR ANYONE- business, couples, family, friends, or solo. You WILL NOT be disappointed. **Only downside to this hotel is the $14 a night valet parking, but if you take into account the good value for the hotel and the free food, it works itself out with what you would pay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the detailed and positive review. We are close to a diverse option of activities - the beach to the downtown restaurants and nightlife. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Location, location....just the perfect place for a downtown hotel! Lots to walk to...pizza places, restaurants, museums, shops. I cannot say enough about the staff to try and be helpful regardless of the request. Upon arrival we asked for more hangers...granted. Housekeeping each day left fresh soap and amenities. Great room...any of them that end with 30 are on a corner and have a balcony with a couple of chairs. The queen suite afforded more room than we could have imagined. We also had a microwave and refrigerator.
I know some have groused about the valet parking charge. We didn't find this unusual for a downtown hotel in any city.
Hot breakfast served until 10 was appreciated. A pretty good variety of food.
I'd love to go back to this hotel and would recommend this hotel to all travelers!

Room Tip: Pool and laundry are on the second of four floors. Rooms ending in 30 afford a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Yes, any room that ends in 30 is a Queen Suite with balcony - our most popular room type. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a great location and the staff is always wonderful. I use the hotel for business stays and have not taken advantage of the pool or fitness facility, but they look very nice. The location is awesome. There is an aweome selection of restaurants and a few small shops and galleries within waliing distance. There is a free trolley a few blocks away that will take you to Tropicana Field for a Rays game. The stadium is awesome AND is air conditioned!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It's nice to hear from someone who appreciates Tropicana Field. We feel it is a great venue and we are the perfect location to stay after the game. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, well located in downtown St. Pete. The rooms are well appointed and have everything a business or leisure traveler could ask for. Free breakfast seemed to have something for everyone. Staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. The beds are divine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the "wonderful" review. We appreciate you taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I travel to the Tampa every other week and try to stay at this location as much as possible even if it is out of my way. Great staff and Wonderful location where I can get out and walk after work everyday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We sincerely appreciate and value your loyalty. Please continue to stay with us and we will continue to provide the quality lodging experience you have come to expect. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel has great amenities and comforts of home...especially happy hour for adults on certain days; rooms-dvd player,refrig,microwave and big flat screen tvs! Facility very clean and staff courteous, professional and always ready to assist in making your stay wonderful! Loved the valet parking/staff, they are ready like soldiers, asap they come to grab packages/luggage upon your arrival and no worries about safety with parking! Location location location was every bit of paradise! This hotel was like a resort in downtown area of Tampa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.