We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Dali Museum Package
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ledyard, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Impeccably clean, walking distance to everything in downtown St Petersburg. Pier makes a nice morning walk, and many good nearby restaurants. Valet and receptionists exceptionally helpful and fast. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are always reinforcing the importance of the 3 C's - clean, comfortable and convenient. Thank you for recognizing our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    145
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
139
181
31
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location in the heart of St Pete with lots of little cafes and restaurants within walking distance. Staff was nice and everything was pretty Hampton standard. Just not a great choice for me as I don't like valet parking, and that is the only option you have. Its kind of inconvenient as they want you to call down 30 mins prior to needing your car, and I'm a spur of the moment kind of person. Also, the shower seemed a bit off, as it took a long time to get hot water, and a long wait for temp of water to change from hot to cold and back.

I much prefer the Hilton in downtown St Pete, but it was all booked up on this business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm sorry to hear that we did not completely fulfill your needs. We try to accommodate all of our guests including those who have "spur of the moment" choices. We've shared your feedback with our third-party valet services and will look for any feasible options to ensure we're accommodating guests, such as yourself. We hope to see you again for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This Hampton is the place to stay. Very friendly staff from the receptionist to the Valet Attendant. The breakfast was excellent, close to the Pier, Bay walk, shopping and various eating establishments.

Room Tip: They do have military rates, so take advantage of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Short, sweet and to the point. We appreciate your positive comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great option for staying in St. Pete downtown. Particularly good on 4th of July. You can walk to the park and watch fireworks over the bay. Excellent coffee and fresh breakfast included in the stay. Parking seems expensive but there ally are not many options in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Yes, the July 4th festivities are right around the corner and we are a great place to stay and experience all the downtown excitement. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Valleys, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

An unpleasant experience - from the moment we arrived it was all about money. The front desk staff were formal, detached and unhelpful, the TV in breakfast room was noisy and the breakfast supervisor bordered on being rude. The nicest people in the hotel are the women who service the rooms. All the amenities in the world cannot make up for poor service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hamptonality is something we're completely dedicated to and I regret to hear that this is not something you received while staying with us. You're not just a customer to us, you're our guest and I've reminded our team to ensure this remains a top focus. Thank you for alerting us to the experience you had at the front desk and during breakfast. I've specifically addressed your concerns and hope you'll come back to see a whole new level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed our experience at the downtown Hampton Inn. We parked our car on Friday afternoon and picked it up on Sunday. There was lots to do with no driving involved. We went to the Saturday Morning Market (about 300 yards from the hotel), the Dali Museum (about 800 yards away), and the sites on Central Ave. The location was perfect!! The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn menu but acceptable. Only wish they had bacon instead of the sliced sausage. Thanks again for a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We do have the best location in downtown St. Petersburg and many of our guests do not need their vehicles once they arrive. Also, we do have bacon on the breakfast menu, but we rotate offerings. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a surprisingly nice hotel with a great location. It was clean and up to date and the free breakfast was a plus. There was free wireless, although at times it was a bit slow. Overall I would stay there again since I got a reduced rate for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property and mentioning many of the extra value items you receive for free at the Hampton. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.