We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Dali Museum Package
Ranked #2 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great option for staying in St. Pete downtown. Particularly good on 4th of July. You can walk to the park and watch fireworks over the bay. Excellent coffee and fresh breakfast included in the stay. Parking seems expensive but there ally are not many options in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Yes, the July 4th festivities are right around the corner and we are a great place to stay and experience all the downtown excitement. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    102
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
100
125
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seven Valleys, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

An unpleasant experience - from the moment we arrived it was all about money. The front desk staff were formal, detached and unhelpful, the TV in breakfast room was noisy and the breakfast supervisor bordered on being rude. The nicest people in the hotel are the women who service the rooms. All the amenities in the world cannot make up for poor service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hamptonality is something we're completely dedicated to and I regret to hear that this is not something you received while staying with us. You're not just a customer to us, you're our guest and I've reminded our team to ensure this remains a top focus. Thank you for alerting us to the experience you had at the front desk and during breakfast. I've specifically addressed your concerns and hope you'll come back to see a whole new level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed our experience at the downtown Hampton Inn. We parked our car on Friday afternoon and picked it up on Sunday. There was lots to do with no driving involved. We went to the Saturday Morning Market (about 300 yards from the hotel), the Dali Museum (about 800 yards away), and the sites on Central Ave. The location was perfect!! The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn menu but acceptable. Only wish they had bacon instead of the sliced sausage. Thanks again for a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We do have the best location in downtown St. Petersburg and many of our guests do not need their vehicles once they arrive. Also, we do have bacon on the breakfast menu, but we rotate offerings. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a surprisingly nice hotel with a great location. It was clean and up to date and the free breakfast was a plus. There was free wireless, although at times it was a bit slow. Overall I would stay there again since I got a reduced rate for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property and mentioning many of the extra value items you receive for free at the Hampton. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great location to everything downtown St. Pete has to offer. A nice alternative if you have a meeting at the Vinoy. It's about a 3-block walk that is pleasant through the park or along the waterfront. Close restaurants and bars on every adjacent block. Parking is easy. A great place as well if you fly in to Albert Whitted since you can walk to/from the airport as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
You mentioned two subjects that we do not talk about often. We are a great alternative to the Vinoy if you are not needing the full service 5 star experience (or price!). And, for guests who own a small plane, we are very convenient to Albert Whitted airfield. Thanks for bringing up these topics, we do appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My sister-in-law booked a room at the Downtown Hampton Inn & Suites for me and a friend, making our first visit to St. Petersburg. We LOVED everything about it. The room was very clean and comfortable, overlooking the 2nd floor pool, the complimentary breakfast was great (Judy had a fresh waffle for the first time in years), and the hotel staff were all marvelous. The location was perfect for walking to the many surrounding restaurants and museums, the Pier, and the waterfront parks. We would love to return some day, and will definitely tell friends & family back in Grand Rapids, MI about this great little hotel.

Room Tip: If school is out (spring break, summer) only ask for room directly overlooking pool if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are very happy to have played a role in your positive impression of downtown St Petersburg. We love the downtown area with all of its various offerings. Our job is to help you enjoy your visit by providing a clean, comfortable location to return after a busy day of exploring. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff originally put us in the wrong room, but they were very helpful to get it fixed. The rooms are nice, the staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed the free beverages and food that are provided from 5 - 7 p.m.
If I was being critical, the only negative thing about the stay was the front desk never answered the phone. I called downstairs a couple of times for valet and to ask a question. The phone rang so many times, I finally just went downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the positive review of our property. I apologize for the telephone not being answered in a timely manner. I will review our front desk scheduling to get this corrected. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.