We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Dali Museum Package
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Tampa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed our experience at the downtown Hampton Inn. We parked our car on Friday afternoon and picked it up on Sunday. There was lots to do with no driving involved. We went to the Saturday Morning Market (about 300 yards from the hotel), the Dali Museum (about 800 yards away), and the sites on Central Ave. The location was perfect!! The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn menu but acceptable. Only wish they had bacon instead of the sliced sausage. Thanks again for a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We do have the best location in downtown St. Petersburg and many of our guests do not need their vehicles once they arrive. Also, we do have bacon on the breakfast menu, but we rotate offerings. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    108
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
108
135
29
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a surprisingly nice hotel with a great location. It was clean and up to date and the free breakfast was a plus. There was free wireless, although at times it was a bit slow. Overall I would stay there again since I got a reduced rate for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property and mentioning many of the extra value items you receive for free at the Hampton. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great location to everything downtown St. Pete has to offer. A nice alternative if you have a meeting at the Vinoy. It's about a 3-block walk that is pleasant through the park or along the waterfront. Close restaurants and bars on every adjacent block. Parking is easy. A great place as well if you fly in to Albert Whitted since you can walk to/from the airport as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
You mentioned two subjects that we do not talk about often. We are a great alternative to the Vinoy if you are not needing the full service 5 star experience (or price!). And, for guests who own a small plane, we are very convenient to Albert Whitted airfield. Thanks for bringing up these topics, we do appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My sister-in-law booked a room at the Downtown Hampton Inn & Suites for me and a friend, making our first visit to St. Petersburg. We LOVED everything about it. The room was very clean and comfortable, overlooking the 2nd floor pool, the complimentary breakfast was great (Judy had a fresh waffle for the first time in years), and the hotel staff were all marvelous. The location was perfect for walking to the many surrounding restaurants and museums, the Pier, and the waterfront parks. We would love to return some day, and will definitely tell friends & family back in Grand Rapids, MI about this great little hotel.

Room Tip: If school is out (spring break, summer) only ask for room directly overlooking pool if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are very happy to have played a role in your positive impression of downtown St Petersburg. We love the downtown area with all of its various offerings. Our job is to help you enjoy your visit by providing a clean, comfortable location to return after a busy day of exploring. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff originally put us in the wrong room, but they were very helpful to get it fixed. The rooms are nice, the staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed the free beverages and food that are provided from 5 - 7 p.m.
If I was being critical, the only negative thing about the stay was the front desk never answered the phone. I called downstairs a couple of times for valet and to ask a question. The phone rang so many times, I finally just went downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the positive review of our property. I apologize for the telephone not being answered in a timely manner. I will review our front desk scheduling to get this corrected. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had to make last minute reservations. I got in late but the staff was really accommodating. The location was very accessible to so many of the downtown venues. The breakfast was really good and the afternoon snacks were nice to have after a long days work. Although I was on business I would definitely stay at this location for vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
As oppossed to the last reviewer, this is a first review. To have perhaps made such an impression that someone was motivated to write their first review is also exciting and rewarding. Thank you for taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth City, Missouri
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

As a Hilton honors member, I stay at a wide range of properties throughout the continental US. This hotel exceeded all expectations---I'd like to commend the staff for being so professional, courteous and helpful. At one point, even the manager came by and asked if he could help me w/trolley service downtown. I was staying in a very heavily booked period and initially could not get a second night's stay. The front desk individual (wish I knew her name) worked so hard to get me the one room that came available.....I was ecstatic as I didn't have to leave and find another property to stay at. And....the 2nd room was an upgrade!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
To receive this type of recognition from a traveler with 99 reviews in 47 different cities is truly exciting and rewarding. Thank you for taking the time to commend our management and staff for their hard work and effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.