We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in the center of downtown St. Pete !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 47 hotels in St. Petersburg
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in the center of downtown St. Pete !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is in the center of down town. The weather was a delightful 65-70 degrees, sunny and breezy. On Saturday there was a huge farmers market behind the hotel, fresh fruits and vegetables, all kinds of foods, arts and crafts. The area is so lively with outdoor cafe's, restaurants and shops. We took long walks, around the parks, the pier, the marina and the jazz festival. This hotel is truely in the center of it all.
The hotel itself has a modern clean look. The front desk staff were all friendly and pleasant. I am a gold hhonors member and booked a standard room and they recognized that and upgraded me to a king suite before I had a chance to ask. The room was clean and roomy, The room had a refrigerator, sink, counter, microwave and coffee maker with plenty of coffee and condiments. I do wish the rooms had a safe for valuables, they only had small saftey boxes at the front desk. The daily breakfast was good. Fresh waffles, fruit, breads, muffins, eggs, sausage, cereal, juices and coffee. They did have flavored creamers, kudos for that ! We attended a wedding directly across the street at the St.Pete Yacht Club, it was so convienient ! It was a great weekend and would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for the complimentary review of our hotel. Downtown St. Petersburg is truly a very active downtown, and we are in the middle of it all. In room safes are part of a planned upgrade later this year as we realize it is a desired feature for our guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    96
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
92
111
27
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just spent three nights at the hotel with a large wedding contingent for our son's wedding.
Everyone at the hotel went above and beyond to accommodate our group. The valets helped us load and unload huge amounts of stuff and were so pleasant about it. Mary of the housekeeping staff was so helpful as we had so many people who needed to be getting ready at the same time.
We used the meeting room as a hospitality room for the weekend and the staff was very accommodating in cleaning it up late at night so that it would be ready in the morning for the guests to sit and eat their breakfast. The location is perfect for walking to restaurants and museums. Our out of town guests really enjoyed all that the area has to offer. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast had plenty of variety and was kept well stocked.
Thanks to all the staff for helping to make this a memorable event.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are proud to have a played a role in your son's wedding. Every wedding day should be special and it sounds like his was. Again, we are just happy to have had a hand in his positive experience. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very clean hotel. Room good. Internet good and effective. Air Con not as effective as should be. Good location for what I needed. Breakfast good. Easy printing of boarding pass.
Am not sure what else can be said as this was a two day visit purely for business reasons therefore limited time at hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are pleased you chose our location for your business visit. Complimentary Internet access, business center and on-the-go breakfast bags are just a few of the ways we try to make conducting business easier for our guests. Thank you for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

10. Location, location, location!!! So much to do and see within walking distance to this lovely hotel. Or hop on the Looper Trolley right outside the building and take a tour of the area.

9. Super clean rooms and the most comfortable beds and pillows. Best away-from-home sleeps EVER!!!

8. DVD and Board games on loan anytime of day/night....Great FREE entertainment alternative.

7. Free breakfasts with healthy choices-yogurt, fruit, wheat toast, as well as waffles cereals etc. Also To Go bags at front desk if you miss breakfast or are in a hurry to get out in the sunshine!

6.Evening reception from 5pm-7pm on Mondays to Thursdays. A nice relaxing option after a busy day of sightseeing. Beer, wine, pop and appetizers & dessert is offered.

5. Lovely courtyard pool, exercise room and laundry facilites on the 2nd floor.

4. Tuck shop that's opened 24/7...in case you need a chocolate bar or headache remedy at 4am...

3. Reasonable priced valet parking with a friendly and hardworking staff (Patrick, Derek, Chris, Ryan) .

2. Recycling program-Finally-a hotel that gives their guests the opportunity to make the world a cleaner, better place!!! Its about time we all pitch in...thanks Hampton for giving us the choice!!

And the #1. reason why we returned to the Hampton Inn and Suites St Petersburg Downtown-
The Outstanding Staff and Management!!!
Everyone, from the wonderful housekeeping staff (Gloria, Susan, Crystal and Lara to name a few) to the lovely dining room ladies ( many thanks to Irene for being so terrific, and to Donna for working so hard and being so cheerful, even at 4am) and to the worlds BEST front desk staff: Cool, calm Cobi, an angel named Angelique, phone chaser and kleenex giver Andrew, information expert and fellow- foodie Nykeisha and all the others who work very hard but make it look like its effortless and so much fun!!! You made our holidays very enjoyable and memorable.....so for sure....we'll be back....

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Our own "top ten" list. A great review and a great idea (a similar version may appear in future marketing material!). Seriously, I am humbled and appreciative of all your wonderful comments. The expectations now have been set very high, so I had better get back to work and make sure all our guests are equally impressed. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is a good hotel, and just what you expect from a Hampton Inn. The staff however, was amazing. They consistently went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic. From the front desk to the cleaning staff to the valet service, everyone was very pleasant. The hotel is in a great location and close to all the bars and food you could want in downtown St. Pete.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize the efforts of our staff. We have a very tenured staff (notice the years of service pins) and they do a great job of imparting our company service values to the newer staff members. I truly feel that most staff members enjoy their jobs and it shows in the level of service displayed. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I can tell that everything was great at Hampton Inn and Suites. The bedrooms were extremely clean, very good sized, with nice furniture. I used the laundry facilities and they're very good and inexpensive (1 dolar each - washing - drying). Good breakfast and manager's reception. The location is marvelous, downtown, near the pier, the Dali museum. I'd sure recomend and stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I wish that I could add something significant to this review, but when the response is this positive, I prefer to let the review speak for itself. Thank you for taking the time to comment in a positive fashion. It is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here two nights to visit family and sight see. We loved the location, valet was very pleasant and our car was kept safe & was ready as soon as we needed it. The room was comfortable however lacked an exhaust fan in the bathroom and both the toilet & tub had trouble draining. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was good except it lacked any child friendly cereals. Our only dislikes were the constant car alarms at night, noise from a party in the banquet hall went well into the second night and housekeeping vacuuming the hallways & knocking on guest doors at 8am on a Saturday morning was not appreciated. Make sure you put your privacy sign out!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back away from the street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We appreciate your review and comments. Being a downtown hotel you will occassionally get more of the "sights and sounds" of the big city than appreciated, but I will certainly address the issues mentioned that I can help control. Again, thank you for taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn
Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.