We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dali Museum Package
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Clearwater, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here to attend the St Pete Beef O'Brady's Bowl. Beautiful hotel and a great location near the bay and near other activities. Only a couple of miles from the Trop, and right around the corner and easy walking distance from an excellent craft beer bar (The Ale & The Witch). Staff was very friendly. Room was nice, but thought it was odd to have a mini kitchenette type of setup in the suite with a mini-refrigerator, sink and microwave, but no table in the room at which to eat & drink. Pretty lobby and breakfast area. Multiple coffee choices available in the lobby, Comfortable bed and plenty of pillows. Very clean. I don't like to have to valet my car ($14/day and NOT optional), but the valet was fast and friendly. Friendly housekeeping staff and pleased to report that we left a small item in the room and the housekeeper came down and gave it to us as we were checking out!

Breakfast setup was typical Hampton, I guess. The good: great waffle maker, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, oatmeal, juices, milk, coffee, bagels etc. The bad: Creativity gone wrong. No typical breakfast meat (sausage patties or links, ham or bacon)... instead there was some kind of kielbasa chunks or something. No plain scrambled eggs... some tuttie-fruitie looking fake omelettes with cheese goo in it. No "normal" breakfast potatoes... something with cheese and potato glued to a bagel half. Not enough seating, but that's understandable when it's an area that goes unused for most of the day. We took our breakfast up to our room since there was nowhere to sit (here's where a small table would have come in handy rather than trying to balance our breakfast on our laps while sitting on the sofa in the suite).

All in all, it's a really nice hotel in a very nice area. Except for the items I mentioned, it will impress you, and you may even like their weird breakfast items. :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. There are rumours circulating the Hampton Brand is working on updating the breakfast options at all Hampton hotels. I hope you are an Hhonors member so the brand can keep you updated. Thanks again for the positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    114
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
116
144
29
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was my first stay at a Hampton Inn and I must say it was a very good stay. Being here on business means you have business and personal needs that must be met so that you can do your work comfortably. The valet service was very accomodating to my needs as were the staff. The dining area is not to be believed! You have the option of sitting at a table or at a couch or on a stool. Breakfast was great as you had many choices from fruit to oatmeal to eggs and some sort of breakfast meat to making your own very tasty waffle. And let's not forget the yogurt and pastries! And then there's the happy hour buffet! Amazing, and in a very comfortable atmosphere. The room itself was very conducive to being productive...or just relaxing. All in all, a very good 3 days. For my next vacation, Hampton Inn will be my hotel of choice. Here's to a long lasting relationship!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I am very pleased that your first impression of Hampton Inn & Suites was so positive. I have worked for several hotel brands and the Hampton Brand has always been a strong & innovative brand that delivers on service and product. Of course, we like to think we are one of the "better" Hamptons in the country, but we will let you decide. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I am planning on getting married in downtown St. Petersburg next year and upon doing my research for hotels where my guests could stay at I stumbled upon the Hampton Inn & Suites. What a treasure! From the moment I made my first phone call I knew that this was the hotel that I wanted my guests to stay at. Chi Nguyen, the Sales Manager was awesome to work with. She took the time to answer my long list of questions than sent me a follow up email with everything that we talked about. I think we have talked on the phone at least 6 times and have exchanged numerous emails, she has called me back/ responded each and every time. I called 2 other hotels in the area and neither one returned my calls (still haven't).

My fiance and I decided out of the blue to visit St. Pete a few weekends ago so we made last minute reservations to stay at the hotel to try things out. The hotel is really modern and new looking on the first level- doesn't feel like your typical Hampton. Andrew, checked us in and was very friendly. He explained all the amenities and gave us pointers on where to go for drinks and dinner that night. We were booked into a standard king bed that overlooked the pool. Upon walking into the room the first thing we noticed was that it smelled really fresh and clean. The furniture and decor of the room needed some updating but nonetheless the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and the comforter was very soft.

PROS:
Free wifi (this is very important for us)
Free breakfast
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!
Great Service

CONS:
The rooms need a little updating but other than that the hotel is great!

I read a few reviews on here about valet being pricey but I personally thought $14/ day is very reasonable for a downtown hotel. I stayed at a hotel in Washington DC that charged $50/ day!! I know my guests will have a great time and am so happy that I found this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I rarely have mentioned our sales manager, Chi, so I am glad you did. She is wonderful to work with and very responsive to our prospective and current guests. Our group room agreements are simple and straightforward with no attrition clauses. Thank you for choosing our property to host your wedding guests and we look forward to playing our part in your big day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel meets ones expectations for a Hampton in. Parking is by Valet only. The ticket says that wait time can be 30 minutes, but that is not my experience. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful, check-in has been quick and clear on both of my stays. The rooms are roomy and well appointed, the beds are comfortable. The heating/cooling system is efficient and not overly noisy. Not really a clean-modern feel to the rooms, but not dingy and old either. For a hotel with a great location, I have yet to have a room with a nice view. Shower is good with steady temperature and good pressure. Cleaning staff are good about replenishing the supplies. My only housekeeping issue was during my first stay, when there was the same long hair on the shower wall for the entire length of my stay. I left it up as an experiment (Yuck!).
There is a nice kitchen in the lobby that serves breakfast and hosts an after work reception with beer, wine and snacks. There is coffee in the lobby all day and night.
The greatest thing about this hotel is its location. It is right on Beach Drive and close to very nice restaurants and some shops - as well as the bay. Very pretty place to go for walks. This area does not seem to have the extensive street-people presence that most of the rest of Downtown St. Pete does, which is a nice break.
Overall, I intend to keep staying at this hotel, i like the value and love the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for the very detailed account of your stay. Some very good, some good, some OK and one "experiment" that is completely unacceptable from my view. However, your review sounds honest and sincere and we appreciate your loyalty. We will work on improving areas that you mentioned and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for a wedding, recently. The hotel is perfectly located in Downtown. Close to the Saturday Market and on Beach Drive with all the eateries. The rooms were very nice. We were automatically upgraded to a suite – without asking. The rooms were clean and nice. Bed was comfy. The thing with this hotel that stood out was the SERVICE. It was exceptional. Everyone must have been practicing their customer service skills the entire weekend. All the way from the valet guys to the check in desk to the cleaning people. I was very impressed by the way they treated all their guests. And not just one or 2 staff members, but the entire hotel staff.

A few tips when you go – you can only valet your car. There is no parking unless you park on the street. No biggie though – if you call the valet attendant, they will have your car ready for you at whatever time you tell them and have it waiting when you come down.

Breakfast – I will say, this is just a get something in your mouth/stomach breakfast. Good coffee. Nice and convenient but nothing more than that. Which is ok, because in DT St. Pete, there are so many places to sit on a sidewalk and have breakfast with a mimosa or bloodymary.

I would make this my first choice if I stay in the area again.

Room Tip: Ceviche's has a basement (yeah... a basement in "Florida" terms....) bar. Good music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for the compliments regarding our staff. "Exceeding expectations", "being proactive" and "going above and beyond" are all overused phrases I hear from other companies regarding their customer service. Here, at our property, we do work very hard to make sure that every guest is given the attention and service levels they deserve. Again, I appreciate your recognition of our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed there for a teacher's conference. Very clean, staff was both friendly and professional. Pool was nice..the breakfast rocked!! Manager happy hour with cold beverages and hot appetizers was well received. .......

Room Tip: Be sure to take the Loop bus for 50 cents right out by hotel -Stop 13 to the Pier for a walk,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. I'm glad you mentioned The Looper Trolley. A narrated tour of downtown St Petersburg that makes the entire loop in 20 minutes. And it only costs 50 cents! We highly recommend this "trip" for any first time visitor to the area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Service, breakfast, and location all outstanding. The beds are very comfortable. I love the multiple electric outlets on the nightstand. I was pleased I could buy a snack by the front desk in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Another business edge: Both wired and wireless Internet access in all rooms free of charge. Thank you for pointing out our advantages to the business traveler. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.