We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, disappointing management practices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club

Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club
Save Saved
You added Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club to your Saves list
6000 Sun Boulevard, St. Petersburg, FL 33715   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, disappointing management practices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at isla del sol unit 215 managed by Capalbo mgt in St Petersburg, Fl and noticed the following. Management or owner did not supply toilet paper or trash bags for their somewhat nice 2 bedroom unit. This was not discussed prior to our arrival. Strange. They did provide one roll of toilet paper and one bag to "get you started". I have never in 30 years of numerous travels had to supply my own toilet paper. Even the worst places provide TP . It may sounds petty but that is ridiculous. The condo was ok but I am dumbfounded by this practice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here with friends for 10 days in April and had a lovely quiet stay. The pools were great, buildings were only 6 stories and only 36 units in the building wee were in so it was not crowded. Lovely barbecue area in the back. The 3 mile tun is a perfect circle around the area that is connected and also makes for a lovely athletic walk. It was a short 1 mile plus bike ride to town over the new bridge- a great way to see the town. All in all a lovely stay in St Pete!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful Clubhouse, a little jewel of a golf course, friendly people, good food, great location....how can you ask for more? We've belonged to this Club for 20 years and have made many wonderful friends here. Our Pro Fred Curtis is first class and is a certified TPI instructor.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This particular listing is for the country club, which is actually private. No hotel rooms are available. There are condos in the area that may be rented or purchased. However, if you are looking to join a golf, tennis/ yacht club, Isla is fantastic. We have met many wonderful people as members and enjoy spending time at Isla.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

Isla del sol is a condo development that provides rentals through various agencies. We ended up here because we couldn't find a large affordable place on the beach. Physically the unit and grounds were very nice and well kept, and the rental agency seemed appreciative of my suggestions when we checked out. Just beware of the strictness of the "pool police."

We stayed here in 1992 when our kids were toddlers and vowed never to return because of the grief we got. We came back last year and found things pretty much the same. That being said, if you follow the rules (no towels on the balcony, keep your pool chairs out of the walkways, no toys in the pool, and no one under 14 in the hot tub etc.) I think it is a great, quiet, affordable place to stay. And, yes, we booked the same unit for this year's spring break.

Isla del sol is not on the beach. A short drive gets you to Pass-a-Grill beach which is rarely crowded. Parking is convenient and there is a basketball court across the street which my son used every day.

  • Liked — good value for the price and quiet
  • Disliked — lots of rules
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONTARIO, CANADA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

Acommodations where great, however you have to drive to the beach and resturants.

Beware of the strick pool rules......each complex has it's own pool....that means if you would like to go to the pool that overlooks the Bay and you do not have the right colour of tag......then you have no access to that area.

Very strick rules. Not the kind for place to take young kids.

If you are a senior looking for a quiet area close to all the amenities of St. Petes ....this is for you.

SM, Ontario

  • Liked — Condo..Home away from home
  • Disliked — No access to the on location golf course
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

A great area...golf,marina,close to beach..Accomodation is mostly in condos in immediate area.Hotels on St Petes Beach abount 1.5 milews away. \just a short trip 5 mins or so to Fort de Soto.. A brilliant beach..TRY TO KEEP THIS A SECRET !!!..Nice area but accomodation on Isla should perhaps be booked before arriving....enjoy it...

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club

Address: 6000 Sun Boulevard, St. Petersburg, FL 33715
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Also Known As:
Isla Del Sol Yacht And Country Club Hotel St. Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.