We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isla del sol condo rental” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club
6000 Sun Boulevard, St. Petersburg, FL 33715   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 47 hotels in St. Petersburg
Naperville, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Isla del sol condo rental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

Isla del sol is a condo development that provides rentals through various agencies. We ended up here because we couldn't find a large affordable place on the beach. Physically the unit and grounds were very nice and well kept, and the rental agency seemed appreciative of my suggestions when we checked out. Just beware of the strictness of the "pool police."

We stayed here in 1992 when our kids were toddlers and vowed never to return because of the grief we got. We came back last year and found things pretty much the same. That being said, if you follow the rules (no towels on the balcony, keep your pool chairs out of the walkways, no toys in the pool, and no one under 14 in the hot tub etc.) I think it is a great, quiet, affordable place to stay. And, yes, we booked the same unit for this year's spring break.

Isla del sol is not on the beach. A short drive gets you to Pass-a-Grill beach which is rarely crowded. Parking is convenient and there is a basketball court across the street which my son used every day.

  • Liked — good value for the price and quiet
  • Disliked — lots of rules
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ONTARIO, CANADA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

Acommodations where great, however you have to drive to the beach and resturants.

Beware of the strick pool rules......each complex has it's own pool....that means if you would like to go to the pool that overlooks the Bay and you do not have the right colour of tag......then you have no access to that area.

Very strick rules. Not the kind for place to take young kids.

If you are a senior looking for a quiet area close to all the amenities of St. Petes ....this is for you.

SM, Ontario

  • Liked — Condo..Home away from home
  • Disliked — No access to the on location golf course
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

A great area...golf,marina,close to beach..Accomodation is mostly in condos in immediate area.Hotels on St Petes Beach abount 1.5 milews away. \just a short trip 5 mins or so to Fort de Soto.. A brilliant beach..TRY TO KEEP THIS A SECRET !!!..Nice area but accomodation on Isla should perhaps be booked before arriving....enjoy it...

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

This country club is just that! It's not a hotel! You cannot make a reservation and stay there. It is on the grounds of a large conco complex. It is very beautiful and on the Gulf of Mexico, but not a hotel. I've been going there and own a condo there for many years.

Stayed January 1999
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2005

Just returned from a two week stay at the Isla del Sol resort just outside St Pete Beach. Stayed in a two bed/bath condo. Excellent standard of accomodation. with a full kitchen and a ground floor location leading to a beautiful garden and then to a small white sandy beach on Boca Ciega bay. Most days we were able to see dolphins playing in the bay. The pool area was well maintained and the pool itself was warm and clean. The resort itself is sutable for all ages and particularly those who are interested in seeing more of the surrounding area. We went to Siesta Key nr Sarasota and also drove to Orlando which should take around 90 mins but is taking more like 2 and a half hours at the moment due to the horrendous roadworks on the I4 around from around 30 miles away from the theme parks. Also went to the designer outlet village at Ellenton which was excellent, loads of bargains particularly shoes and kids clothes at Osh Kosh, Gap, Nine West etc.
Loads of good restaurants in the area, Sea Critters in Pass a Grille, the Crabby Bills chain. However all very busy during spring break. The beach cafe at Sunset Beach is also good and again very popular.
This is our fourth trip to the area and will be returning as soon as possible and will probably stay as Isla del Sol again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club

Also Known As:
Isla Del Sol Yacht And Country Club Hotel
Isla Del Sol Yacht And Country Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Address: 6000 Sun Boulevard, St. Petersburg, FL 33715
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Isla del Sol Yacht and Country Club to your Saves list