We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit while in St Petersburg, FL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Holocaust Museum

Florida Holocaust Museum
55 5th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
727-820-0100
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Jasper, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must visit while in St Petersburg, FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Passing through St. Petersburg on our way to a wedding on Captiva Island, we decided to spend the day and night here and take in some sights. My husband and I are history buffs. He especially is an avid reader about WWll so it was a must stop. I had read about how interesting it was, and we weren't disappointed. One must stay long enough for the guided tour. Our docent was a seasoned tour guide, but was wonderful enough to include us in his tour. Within an hour, a visitor walks away with almost the whole story and experience. Great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    45
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very educational, but could greatly benefit from more artifacts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It goes without saying that the museum's mission and subject are absolutely worthy of your interest and visit. This review is about my experience at this particular holocaust museum. I very much enjoyed our visit, but my significant other did not. I have to drag him to cultural attractions as it is, and this trip caused a fight because he was ready to leave several hours before I was. The museum is packed with information, and I learned a lot about the conditions which lead up to the holocaust, but most of the info is presented in words rather than through artifacts. That's not too much of a problem for me, but my partner did not like the format at all.

I live far away from Florida's big cities, and I always want to explore everything an attraction has to offer because it's usually a 2-3 hour drive and I don't know when I'll be able to see them again, if ever. As I mentioned, there are very few artifacts in the museum and there's a lot of reading/audio tour listening to do. Everything I read and heard was interesting, but it took a very long time.

Artifacts could have been absorbed more quickly and would have better kept my partner's interest. I wish I'd gone by myself, but that wasn't possible. For those with children and partners who are less than thrilled by museums, I'd advise you to leave them at home so you can enjoy the museum at your leisure. It's absolutely worth it if you've got the time and patience to fully experience it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newjersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“VERY SOBERING EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Everyone should visit to remind us how unbelievably barbaric humans can be. And it continues to this day (Sudan) while the world idly sits by. Exhibit is mostly photos, but to view the boxcar is surreal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hommage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Here we find a very telling portrayal and exhibition of events surrounding the Holocaust. It is represented in a tasteful yet gripping fashion in a sober and dignified decor. The museum uses a variety of audio, video and hands-on displays including eyewitness, victims and survivors recounting. A large quantity of artifacts along with contextual historical explanations retell the sad events of History leading up to, during and Post- World War II.
In addition, on the second and third floor, you will find artist's collections rendering the Holocaust events through paintings, woodcarvings and fabric art. The largest object on exhibit is a boxcar used to transport those arrested. There is also a small room for meditation and reflection which includes a Wall of Lamentations.
Count at least an hour or more to see it all. It is quite suitable for children as well as adults. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring hill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“.... So you never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I am so glad I went to this museum! I am not a big fan of history, however, I felt this was important. It was very moving and extremely impressive. Many exhibits with audio. The box car makes the reality set in. Allow the time to truly experience this museum. And don't hesitate to go because you feel it will be too sad. Educate yourselves so you can educate your children. You won't regret having gone!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Holocaust Museum also viewed

 

Been to Florida Holocaust Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Holocaust Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.