We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOA St Petersburg / Madeira Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KOA St Petersburg / Madeira Beach
Save Saved
You added KOA St Petersburg / Madeira Beach to your Saves list
5400 95th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ft Myers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've stayed here a few times with our camper trailer and have always had great times and great hospitality by the KOA staff. This past weekend we and another couple got 2 of the Kabins. These were the basic ones with no running water, so it was kinda like back when we were tent campers, only with air conditioned cabins and cable TV. Again, we were not disappointed - staff members were very gracious and seemed committed to making sure we had a great stay. Since we didn't have our camper, there were a few items we realized we had forgotten to bring, so I was pleased to see that the prices in the camp store were not out of line with what you pay at a convenience store. This is not always the case at other parks we've stayed in. Thanks to Lori and her staff - we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    13
    5
    17
See reviews for
36
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bokeelia, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let me start by saying that I read some previous reviews about this place and we almost didn't book. Now, after staying there, I really don't understand why anyone would write anything bad about this place. We met up with some friends of ours who were already staying there and our son who is 8 and their twin boys (8 also) had a great time in the park, pool, and mini golf, by the way were very clean areas. They also did some fishing off the dock and one of the boys caught a Redfish. The staff there was fantastic and very helpfull, and the security guard was a real treat to talk to. I've been to other camp grounds and this place gives you that "family" feeling. Although we didn't stay in the cabins as we had our own travel trailer, they looked beautiful. I just can't get over how clean and friendly the camp ground is. Thanks and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place was great. A gem in St. Petersburg. Once in the KOA campground we forgot how close we were to home. The staff was courteus and friendly. Plenty of stuff to do with the kids. The weekend we were there they had a scavenger hunt. The kids loved it and so did we. The pool was clean as well as the the shower rooms and restrooms. So much to do there it will keep you busy. Planning our next visit soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My daughters & I stayed in a studio lodge/deluxe cabin at this KOA for 2 nights in July. The cabin appeared to be very new and clean.It had a mini-fridge with small freezer compartment, microwave, coffee-maker, and a gas grill on the porch. All linens were supplied as well as paper products. Each cabin also has it's own fire pit area surrounded by pavers and benches. We felt safe, there were cyclist on the bike path but I never saw anyone that appeared homeless or just hanging around as an earlier reviewer noted so maybe security has increased. The pool and hot tub areas were very well kept. We did see snakes in the bayou, don't plan on swimming there. One item that I wished I had packed was cintronella candles for the porch because the bugs were terrible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lovely log cabin by bayou, everything we needed, fire pit, nice decking out front, until a group of country hicks turned up and decided to party all night! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and did everything they could to remedy the situation. The site is pleasant, 2 miles inland from Madeira Beach and within walking distance of a couple of places to eat and right on the Pinellas Trail.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The drive into the campgroud may worry you, but I promise when you get to the end of that road, you will be pleased. It is a very quiet area believe it or not. The staff is very nice and helpful. the grounds are clean and very well maintained. The pool and hot tub are crystal clear. Great fishing opportunity...dont forget your poles. Close to beaches, shopping. We will go back if ever in the area again. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We Reserved 3 Nights in late June at this KOA. The staff, especially Mike were FANTASTIC!!! They went out of their way to help us make this reunion a success, from seeing to our needs to letting us use the rec hall for our nightly functions. The volunteers in the kitchen were very helpful. Thank you Joyce!! They even had live music by the pool on Saturday and breakfast at the rec hall on Saturday & Sunday at a very nominal cost.
Great to have a pool, lagoon and close by beaches.
The only thing that could be a little better would be better quality mattresses in the cabins.
We were very glad that we picked the KOA in St. Pete for our reunion! We will be doing it again! Thanks so much for all your help!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KOA St Petersburg / Madeira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA St Petersburg / Madeira Beach

Address: 5400 95th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Also Known As:
Koa St Petersburg / Madeira Beach Hotel St. Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOA St Petersburg / Madeira Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.