We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How cool? Very very cool.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponce De Leon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ponce De Leon Hotel to your Saves list
Ponce De Leon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in St. Petersburg
usvi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“How cool? Very very cool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you have traveled the world you will love this place! Not a new place but certainly not run down. The decor is eclectic and as soon as I walked in I new I made the right choice. In St Pete it's my first choice from now on. The front desk staff was as eclectic as the decor and all very cool. Had a great conversation with one of the owners and it was obvious he has a passion for boutique hotels. This is one very unique place to stay. The location could not be better! The price is a steal. Did I like it, for sure and I recommend this place to anyone.... except if you need corporate perfection and have no sense of adventure or creativity.

The negative has nothing to do with the hotel but it was a downer. The parking meter people are RUTHLESS. It sucks and got TWO tickets. The first (9:15 am) was forgiven after I showed the payment office the fact I was staying at the hotel, but by the time I got back after getting the first one forgiven, my time was up (less than 30 min) and I got another before I could feed the meter. Lame. So I can do without St Pete for that. BTW yes you can pay online if you can navigate the worthless interface, I tried four times and 45 min to no avail. Boo. Probably best to just park across the street in the garage. Less than a ticket.

The party scene was awesome and the live music at the Gastro bar was world class!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    77
    55
    37
    43
See reviews for
34
95
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Despite the mean title I posted the hotel was meh ok. I found this hotel as a last minute stay because of the cheapest price in comparison to all the other places.
I got the smallest room available at 122.08 for a room that at the most would be 200-300 sq ft if that. I could literally reach the fridge and the front door from the toilet.
Everything is IKEA and though everything was relatively clean it definitely felt like new paint on an old wall.
I kind of feel ripped off that for 120 bucks a night I get a room whose shower knobs are sticking out a half inch from the wall and I can literally see the pipes behind it.
The walls are paper thin. You can hear the conversations going on in the hall clear as day. Not to mention the couple that was either having sex or practicing wrestling moves at 2 am. I was on the 5th floor and my friend on the third floor heard the same exact noise I did and it was taking place ABOVE my floor.
Take a picture of the lobby because thats the biggest part of the entire place.
Despite all of that, the staff at night was super friendly. The lady during the day had a bit of an attitude.
If you are here on business and just need a place to crash it's fine but if you are on a romantic getaway then definitely go splurge on a better hotel because you won't get good rest here.
The location is great. A block away from the downtown area and 15 minutes walking from the Dali museum. There is a honor system parking lot across the street. Just be careful because there are a lot of homeless and drug addicts in the area. kind of hit or miss really.
Would I stay here again? If I can afford a better hotel no way but If i had just needed that quick overnight stay again? It's doable.
I wish I could have given this more stars but there are too many inconveniences.
Expect to wait a good 5 minutes for the 2x2 elevator.
The only reason I gave this a 3 instead of a 2 because the nice old Cuban gentleman that checked me in was very friendly and I watched him take care of a rude guest who was having trouble with the key card.
This hotel feels more like a money opportunity for who ever owns it. They had the space and decided to make it into a hotel. Ikea furniture and small rooms doesn't make you boutique. It makes you a hostel.
Customer service great, rooms not so much.
This hotel shouldn't break the 100 dollar mark for a one night stay.

Room Tip: If you are solo and don't need much then the junior will work fine. Beds are stiff but at 6'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I love St Pete and this time we wanted to stay in the downtown area to be walking distance to all the activity. This hotel is very well located, you can walk to museums, restaurants, shops and everything in the lively and fun downtown area. Downside is that the hotel is outdated, bathrooms urgently need renovations and the elevator takes forever to go up and down for only 6 floors. With some renovations this hotel would be excellent.
Service at the front desk is very good, employees are very nice and accomodating. They also have a very good restaurant on the first floor, "Ceviche", they serve great tapas and drinks.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quaint old hotel right in downtown St. Petersburg. Only parking is on the street after 6 PM or pay in a garage about a block away. Rooms and bathroom are small, typical for an older hotel, but there are no clocks or radios in the room, only 1 wastebasket and they don't provide Kleenex tissues. There are no coffee or restaurant facilities in the hotel, and the restaurant next door is only open for breakfast on weekends. Other than a small coffee machine in the room, good coffee or breakfast is a Starbucks 1 1/2 blocks away. If you don't mind a room rate of $140 in season, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for an overnight work trip. Strange layout of the room/bathroom-our sink was literally in our bedroom and the rooms were kind off loud in the morning. Clean and nice staff. Fantastic location if you are looking to be downtown. Overall good value for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old hotel with lots of history, It is walking distance to many interesting restaurants, the marina and beaches, museums and many nightclubs. The room was clean but dated as to be expected. It is a very good value and somewhere we plan to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ended up staying in DT st Pete on the fly for my boyfriends birthday. This hotel is within walking distance of a bunch of bars and the cheapest in the area of walking distance to DT. Staff was friendly. "Mini bar" has pop and water at $2 a piece. Worth it.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponce De Leon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.