We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ponce De Leon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ponce De Leon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really liked the hotel, the room and service but the hair in the sheets and torn sheets just completely through me off... The area is nice, lots of nightlife. The restaurant is nice downstairs and have shows but please stop calling something flamenco if it's not. This is embarrassing to call girls twirling to the the gypsy kings and hotel California music dancing flamenco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    40
    32
    41
See reviews for
26
71
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This boutique Hotel is quaint and very well kept for a vintage style look and feel adjacent to Ceviche (one of the best restaurants in the area). Furnishings are up to date keeping a nice balance between nostalgia and modernism. We noticed some remnants of termites in the 3rd Floor vintage water fountain which is attached to the wall right next to the Elevator however, the overall value is excellent. It's convenient at the heart of downtown close to many diners, parks, museums, and much more. Ponce De Leon Hotel is a great stay for both the value and suitability!

Room Tip: Rooms with a King or Queen Bed are likely to be much more roomier that the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The building is old and the stairwell has a musty smell, but this is a good value for a one night stay,the furnishings are modern, the cleanliness could be a little better for sure, but if you aren't a picky pincher you will enjoy your stay. The location is very convenient for walking to local parks and restaurants and this hotel does not require a two or three night minimum on holiday weekends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Honestly, we were super happy that we only stayed here one night. The room overall was not bad, relatively speaking. There was a very small and creaky bed, not too comfortable. We wanted to watch the world cup and the tv was not working. I had to keep calling the downstairs for them to check on it and in the end they just gave up because there were no other accommodations open (we unknowingly stayed here during Pride weekend). Supposedly it was a loose connection, however, there was nothing done to remedy the situation (not even a partial refund or anything like that, which is not very professional.) The wi-fi was spotty at best and kept cutting in and out. The tiles were loose in the bathroom and in the elevator (not very comforting). Perhaps the worst was the fact that the walls are paper thin and we were put in the room by the elevator. We could hear everything. We also got awoken during the night because people kept slamming doors. I was told there were mini-fridges in the rooms and ours didn't have one so we were told to go to the 3rd floor for vending. There was nothing there except a really old vending machine that had some chips from like 1980 and accepted tokens. Overall for the price I felt like the accommodations were not up to par. I would suggest going elsewhere if you want your basic needs taken care of with what they offer on the website.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The stay at Ponce de Leon Hotel for my husband and I was truly wonderful. Let me start by saying, the customer service/front desk staff was prompt and they made sure our stay was an overly pleasant experience. The hotel was centrally located, had amazing views, and the room had historical mystique! My husband I and will definitely return in the near future for another peaceful retreat filled with bliss! Thanks to the staff at the Ponce de Leon and see you again soon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this location for 2 nights. We booked a two bedroom, 2 bath room. We arrived to find that one bathroom only had a sink and toilet . We were three people. The phone did not work and the a/c didn't work properly. They did move us to another room and we were told that every room is different. The second room did have two full baths and it was clean. The hotel had a mildew smell in the lobby and hallways. When they moved us to the 6th floor, we were told we only could get one key. Yes a real key. We wanted extras since we were three adults. They said the 6th floor only gives out one key per room and if we leave we can put the key in a box in the lobby. Who does that? The only friendly person was the one that helped us. Each time we left or came back in, the front desk didn't even look up. The front of the hotel was dirty from the night before. I left at 8:30 and cans, towels and cigarettes were all over the place. The guy in the front was just sitting around. The elevator is the slowest. Not that they were busy. Terrible internet service. I was told the guy had to keep setting the router. Pizza crusts thrown on the floor in the hallways in the morning. They don't walk through the facility to clean. The only thing is it is in a good location. So many other hotels close enough to the same location. Don't stay at this place. You will truly regret it. It is disgusting. I have never written a negative review but I had to save someone from staying at this place. It bothered me so much.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any room. They are old, out dated and no amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, General Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear jng8:

I would first like to thank you for taking the time in submitting your review to
Tripadvisor, describing the unpleasant circumstances that you encountered during your stay at The Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel; your candor is greatly appreciated. However, I am quite disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. Please also know that we are not taking your dissatisfaction lightly. In fact, your review has indicated that we neglected to properly enlighten you about the ‘real key’ needed to access your room on the 6th floor. The safety of our guest is of the upmost concern, therefore, since the doors on the 6th floor have ‘real locks’, for security purposes we decided to limit access to those rooms by issuing only 1 key. Our Boutique Hotel is housed in a very historic building, circa 1922 to be exact. We take pride in the fact that all of the rooms are unique, showcasing the various nuances of the hotel. I am pleased to know that we responded quickly to your displeasure with your initial room by relocating you to a room that met your satisfaction. In regards to the customer service that you received during your stay, we have reiterated to all our staff members the importance of greeting our guests at all times; without your presence we are nothing but an empty building. As you stated in your review, the location of The Ponce De Leon Hotel is fantastic, we are an “urban oasis”! Being centrally located in the bustling downtown area of St. Petersburg, we are surrounded by many local bars, clubs, restaurants and concert venues, all within walking distance to our front door! Therefore, it is quite common to find remnants of the previous night’s festivities strewn along the street and in front of the hotel. Unfortunately, our housekeeping staff does not arrive to the hotel until 9 AM, therefore upon your 8:30 departure you were greeted with the unpleasantness you described. We are appealing to the city to provide public trash cans along Central Avenue in the hopes that this will help keep our city clean! Finally, in regards to the internet service, once we realized that resetting the routers did not improve your connectivity, we placed a service call to our internet provider and they have since rectified the issue. In closing, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and I do sincerely hope that you will not allow this to be your last visit to the Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel. In light of the circumstances, please reconsider your evaluation and know that we would love the opportunity to be of service to you and your family once again.

Best regards,

Leslie G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed after going to a rays game and love the area and had a blast. However, upon getting back, there are no designated parking spots for the hotel. We drove for almost an hour and finally found a spot nearly a mile away. Elevator was the slowest I've ever seen. The room was obviously not cleaned and the AC worked all night just to keep semi cool. You could hear the people upstairs, although they were quiet.

It is in a nice area, the beds were fairly comfy, it was an older, but charming place. Lots to do nearby

But parking, oh the parking!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, General Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Stevodod:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review The Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel, please know your comments are valued! In regards to the A/C and the cleanliness of your room, please know that we take this type of situation quite seriously. Our Front Desk staff has been trained to respond to these types of concerns with prompt action, by quickly relocating you to a more comfortable room, when available. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Rays game and found the time to partake in the many activities and venues that our dynamic downtown area has to offer! I am however disappointed to know that you had such a difficult time with parking. With the hotel being so centrally located, this means that you are able to take the free city run trolley directly to Tropicana Field to enjoy the game. With the trolley stop being conveniently located 1 ½ blocks away from the hotel, this gives you the option to park your vehicle in the South Core Parking Garage directly across the street from the hotel.

The entrance is at 100 1st Avenue South, Mon-Fri from 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. the charge is $1/hr, $6 maximum, nights and weekends a flat $3 rate on entry is in effect, event pricing is usually $5 and occasionally $10 for larger events. Below you can find information pertaining to the Free Shuttle:

• Service hours: Starting 90 minutes prior to the beginning of the game
until 1 hour after the game is over.

• Service Frequency: Approximately every 10 minutes

• Post-Game Concert Shuttle: On the dates the Rays have a post-game concert the shuttle will run until 1 hour after the concert is over.

• COST: The shuttle is FREE to the general public

• SHUTTLE STOPS: Second Street South between Central Avenue & First Avenue South
(under the pedestrian bridge connecting the Office Tower and South Core garage). Motorists may park in the South Core garage by entering from 1st Avenue South between 1st and 2nd Streets 16th Street just south of 3rd Avenue South.

We genuinely hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you decide to take in a game at the Stadium or a concert at any one of the many venues in the area. We look forward to making your next stay at the Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel a memorable and comfortable one! Thanks again!

Best regards,

Leslie G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponce De Leon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.