We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This really shouldn't be a 3* rated property” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ponce De Leon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ponce De Leon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This really shouldn't be a 3* rated property”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked this as a 3* property with a "name your own price" deal with priceline.com. The photos of the building and surrounding areas had us pretty excited about our stay at this property, but the reality was far from pleasant. The first room we were given had dirty towels on the bathroom floor and a dead cockroach on the carpet. We should have left immediately. Instead, approached the desk and with their compliements, were "upgraded" to a room with a damaged blinds, a cracked window and rusted bathroom fixtures (new floors and bedding though!). But, with a baseball game to get to, and just planning to stay a night, we stuck it out and decided to stay.

We were awoken to power-saw & hammering renovations and in the room directly beneath us at 8:30am. We quickly packed and checked out with bitter disappointment. Priceline.com offered us a partial credit, thankfully.

I don't think I'd stay here again unless a new management company is able to bring new life to an otherwise historic and lovely building.

The location and area amenities are excellent, so that's something to consider. If you can get a great deal on a room, and don't mind noise, cosmetic issues, and maybe roaches, it could be worth it. We were told by a local not to eat at the restaurant there, as there had been locally published health-code violations. Ugh.

Room Tip: Hold off till renovations are complete!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies that we were unable to satisfy your needs during your recent visit. Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We take reviews like yours very seriously and the housekeeping and maintenance issues have been dealt with. One member of staff is no longer with us. Our policy is if any guest does not want to stay they are given a full refund.
The restaurant in the building is run by a different management company and during the time of your stay they were doing renovations and painting, the construction company had all the permits issued by the city and were in full compliance as it was during the week.
Thank you for the positive mention of the location and the area, we agree that both are excellent. We have many return guests and during baseball season many fans stay with us, the free baseball shuttle is just one block from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    40
    33
    42
See reviews for
28
72
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Micanopy, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here last week and will be going back in a couple of weeks. Perfectly located so that you can walk to all the museums, shops and downtown restaurants and the waterfront. My room was super clean and the staff was very, very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 give you a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

BUT...the rooms were pretty good considering this is an old hotel right downtown St Pete. A little musty smelling (my wife said it smelled like an old museum) and the rooms were sparse but overall, a decent value for a quick stay. There was a bachelorette party ongoing all night which was noisy but that was it.
Definitely had an historic vibe in a cool city.

Room Tip: Parking was best in an adjacent garage as they have NO parking for the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small and lack any real chutzpah, but location is fantastic, staff is friendly and helpful, and the price is decent. Historic building, but without the ambience that could garner unfortunately. But, yes, I would sat here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there for weekend with GF to see St. Pete and catch a rays game. The location is ideal for walking, never used the car. The hotel is older and not up to date, but clean and comfortable. Acoustics is a problem, as every sound outside can be heard.

Room Tip: If you want to a water view, rooms end in 1 as in 601. Anything under the 5th floor will have an obs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We always return to this jewel. Staff is super friendly, and helpful. The hotel is in the middle of town and bay; so it offers a great variety of things to do. We come back every year for the Indy Racing event. Great location for it!!!
Not a fan for car racing? come any other time, you will have a blast!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms towards the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Called the hotel 3 months ago. Was told our room was $200 a night. Was over charged ($250) a night. Our room was never serviced, for $250 a night. Our room was disgusting. Our bathtub didn't drain and our toilet didn't flush. They deactivated our room keys a night early. staff has no idea what they are doing. They also never gave is a receipt upon check in because they "didnt know the system" when they were just screwing us. Spend the extra money and stay at the Hampton Inn next door or the Hilton down the street. Totally not worth it. This place may be what hell is like.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponce De Leon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.