We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ponce De Leon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ponce De Leon Hotel to your Saves list
Ponce De Leon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 and get 50% on 3rd
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
1 review
“Great location, decent price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small and lack any real chutzpah, but location is fantastic, staff is friendly and helpful, and the price is decent. Historic building, but without the ambience that could garner unfortunately. But, yes, I would sat here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    45
    35
    42
See reviews for
31
84
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there for weekend with GF to see St. Pete and catch a rays game. The location is ideal for walking, never used the car. The hotel is older and not up to date, but clean and comfortable. Acoustics is a problem, as every sound outside can be heard.

Room Tip: If you want to a water view, rooms end in 1 as in 601. Anything under the 5th floor will have an obs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We always return to this jewel. Staff is super friendly, and helpful. The hotel is in the middle of town and bay; so it offers a great variety of things to do. We come back every year for the Indy Racing event. Great location for it!!!
Not a fan for car racing? come any other time, you will have a blast!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms towards the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Called the hotel 3 months ago. Was told our room was $200 a night. Was over charged ($250) a night. Our room was never serviced, for $250 a night. Our room was disgusting. Our bathtub didn't drain and our toilet didn't flush. They deactivated our room keys a night early. staff has no idea what they are doing. They also never gave is a receipt upon check in because they "didnt know the system" when they were just screwing us. Spend the extra money and stay at the Hampton Inn next door or the Hilton down the street. Totally not worth it. This place may be what hell is like.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I dont know how anybody found anything negative to say about this place. Staff was excellent. Location could not be beat. Rooms were clean. All i needed was a place to crash after a concert at Jannus and was more than satisfied. If you are staying on a Friday night, be sure to check out the farmers market a block away for a great breakfast before you leave!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times before, and will again. The big draw (a tie) is LOCATION and THE STAFF. Can't get any more centrally located, and the staff is more than friendly. I know all of them by name, and they always remember me. The rooms are small, and minimally furnished-- more than adequate. When I come back, I feel like I'm coming home. There's a computer available to all on the mezzanine, which is handy, and wi-fi in the rooms if you bring your own. Also a laundry room on the third floor, and vending machines.
Near restaurants. A very nice place.

Room Tip: Just show up, you'll be welcomed. (call first for reservation!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I don't know where the negative reviewed stayed, but I feel it was a completely different hotel. The Ponce De Leon is a beautiful little place. The first night I checked in my flight had been delayed 2 hours but the staff was totally cool about it, and had all of my check in stuff ready. I was settled in within moments of arriving. From that point on, I had nothing but amazing service. The one thing I feel people haven't taken into account is the age of the building as well as the fact this is not some swanky, 5 star hotel. For its age, the hotel has been kept up very well. The decor is more modern, and after a thorough check I was pleased to find the room pristinely clean. Maid service even mopped(the rooms have wood floors, which is a breath of fresh air to disgusting carpet commonly found) during their daily cleanings. The location of the building is fantastic . I was able to walk anywhere in St Pete. As far as amenities, there is room for improvement. The only weird things I noticed missing was a microwave in the room and a box of tissues would have been nice. The bed was extremely comfortable, the first night i stayed i was a little disappointed in the pillows but I had failed to realize a very fluffy, soft pillow was stored in the closet along with a pillow top/comforter that only added to the comfort of the bed. The staff, once again was incredibly friendly and helpful. I'm sure I seemed incredibly needy, but they definitely at least tried to fulfill any requests I had, and were very knowledgable, recommending restaurants, activities, etc. I wouldn't hesitate recommending anyone stay here, as I have had nothing but amazing service. Just retro remember this isn't an overpriced, brand new building.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponce De Leon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.