We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being back in college” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ponce De Leon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ponce De Leon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Like being back in college”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the dorm room furniture is the worse I have seen in a hotel. I travel for a living so maybe i am spoiled by Hampton Inns and Courtyards. I would never stay here again the place is good for spring breakers, which is what I heard night after night at 3:00 am in the morning.

Room Tip: the street noise is bad on beach drive and central
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    40
    32
    41
See reviews for
26
71
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is fine if you are going to stay just for a night after attending an event in the area, other than that I would suggest another hotel. I have stayed in older hotels with smaller rooms and it has not bothered me but this one was just not comfortable. We actually chose to drive 5 hours back hom after a wedding reception we attended instead of staying the extra night because we would get a better nights sleep. The night staff was friendly a somewhat helpful but the day staff was not very helpful at all and on the verge of being rude.

The room was not overly small but its layout was weird and we just never felt comfortable. Maybe it just was not our style. It how ever liek the rest of the hotel was clean. The best part of the hotel was the restaurant next door, Ceviche.

Room Tip: We stayed in a full room and it was not very comfortable, not to small just odd. So I would ask abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

In the heart of the city and just blocks from Dali museum made our stay even better. Nice team of employees and David at the front desk was very helpful with directions. Kinda Fun décor, fun spirited with a slash of class.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. petersburg
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great place to stay for a night or two, or even longer, if you are looking to do things in downtown St. Pete. Unfortunately, there are not a lot of inexpensive choices with this central location. Most other places run about $200 plus per night. This one was 99 and was quite acceptable. Yes, it is an old hotel, but it has been updated and the rooms are cute. The bed is well done, hardwood floors, nice desk, small refrigerator and wardrobe. Otherwise, all the usual amenities, free Wi-Fi, hairdryer, coffee and a ironing board.
Sure, there were a few little issues, phone didn't work, but who needs one, plug where coffee maker was did not work, (moved it,) But all in all, the room was very adequate, and the big plus, as you have seen from all of the other reviews is the location: it is walking distance to the Museum of fine arts, the Dali Museum, the Pier, Saturday morning market (don't miss this if you are there
then, a true treat every Saturday in season,) The Vinoy and all the great shops and restaurants on Beach drive. The perfect place to spend the night downtown.

Room Tip: One on Central Avenue gives you a nice view of the area. Unless there is some special event, should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this basic hotel. It was listed as a boutique hotel but was rather a standard motel room (the lavatory was outside the toilet in the bedroom itself) it was noting special to stay at this place although the location in its citycenter is a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this hotel. Small rooms and a very small elevator. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was helpful. Enjoyed the small bar next to hotel on the corner. Location was excellent and within an easy walk to a very wide assortment of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

THE PARKING... is ridiculous! Upon arriving, my first thought was "there's no parking..." When we checked in at the lobby, the kid working told us that there's a parking garage not too far from the hotel that they advise the guests to park in. Literally said "It's only $3 a day"...WELL, when we left, (the following day), we stop at the parking garage cashier to pay for our parking, and she tells us we owe $12!!! I said "well, is there a special price for guests staying at the ponce de leon hotel, because the guy there told us it would just be $3/day?!" and the woman just looked at me like I had two heads. We only had a $50 bill (which she couldn't break) and a few singles. Long story short, we had to wait for her to go to the main office to break the $50 bill we had.

EVERYTHING needs to be upgraded. There were very few things in this hotel that didn't look outdated or hardly functioning. There are little random signs taped to things to basically say they're not working. The shower in the bathroom had a sign saying to wait for hot water. The public bathroom in the lobby had signs informing that the lock was "broken". Even the walls on the 6th floor looked like they were about to fall down. Hard to describe, but this place is super run down.

THE ROOM: Our room was disgusting. Thank goodness they didn't have carpet in the rooms, because (even with wood floors) it smelled so musty. The bathroom door was literally "see-through". Who puts a glass paneled door on a bathroom so that everyone can see you on the toilet, or undressing to shower? The bathroom was so small, they couldn't fit a sink in it. The sink is awkwardly placed right at the front door to the room, alongside a very old and disgusting microwave & a small fridge. The bathroom smelled like awful body odor. Straight up sweaty armpit scented. I had to hold my breath in there. And lastly, we had unwelcome "visitor" in the form of a pretty big gecko-type lizard crawling up the wall.

The ONLY good thing I can say about this hotel, is that the location is PERFECT. That's the only thing that made this trip bearable. So many places within walking distance.

Room Tip: Higher rooms (6th floor) offer a very nice view of Pioneer park, and of the water. Our view was pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponce De Leon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.