We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Burg is awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burg Bar and Grill

The Burg Bar and Grill
1752 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33712-1342
727-894-2874
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 724 restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: American, Greek, Hamburgers
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
St. Pete, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Burg is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great beer selection, terrific atmosphere and a great owner. What more could you want? Give this place a shot sometime. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    50
    25
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was skeptical when my husband brought me here after a Rays' game one night. It is a small elongated room with a bar on one side and small tables along the other wall. Our waiter was friendly and recommended some of the local microbrews to my husband. We ordered burgers (the name seems to refer both to their signature hamburgers and the nickname "Burg" for St. Petersburg.) My black and blue burger was the best I have had other than those made by my husband, and it was perfectly cooked. There was a young crowd that night, and the music was indie rock and pretty good choices. The bill was very reasonable, and when we left the waiter recommended that we stop next door to hear some music at the little local club next door. We did stop in heard some pretty good jazz. Since the musicians were filling in for another group who hadn't shown up that night, there was no cover charge. An inexpensive and fun night for us!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be skeptical when it comes to these rankings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The pulled pork sliders and Greek salads were nice, but the burger was a disappointment. Ordered medium, it came out well done and dry. No wonder it took a while for the food to come. Respectable selection of beers, but there are much better options for food nearby. Not likely to recommend or return. The high ranking here is a mystery and we'll be more skeptical in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
“Don't miss this hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you're looking for a big, juicy and well-seasoned burger, this is your place! If you want friendly service and an extensive beer selection, make sure you stop here. Just be aware that the place is tiny with bar seating and maybe 5 or so tables-most of which are two-tops. There is also seating available out front. Food prices are very reasonable and beer prices are posted so there are no surprises. Can't wait to get back and try their fried twinkie a la mode! Def a winner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pete Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood Bar and Grille-stop for lunch or before the game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Burg is a great place to stop for lunch, dinner and definitely before (and after) every Rays game. The food is awesome, you can't go wrong with any burger, cuban and or the best gyro in town. If the food wasn't enough they have a terrific beer selection with local and micro beers on tab and in the bottle. Service is attentive, friendly and fun.
Oh yah, you've got to try the Lemon Chicken soup, oh my, or the desserts, the best you'll ever have -hand made by mom. Simply the best ever :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burg Bar and Grill also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL

Been to The Burg Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burg Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.