We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for good Greek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Greek Taverna

Acropolis Greek Taverna
515 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3703
727-823-1010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 736 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for good Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food. Great portions. There salad dressing is awesome I love it. Wish I could buy it. Waitress was great

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    38
    18
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St petersburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Greek food, generous portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Regular customer, consistent food, soup of the day is homemade and very good. Large salads served chiled with many options to add chicken, gyro meat, fish. Large menu with many choices.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible atmosphere, food only so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Acropolis is a great place to bring a group of friends for the atmosphere alone. The music, belly dancers, throwing napkins and smashing plates all make it a happening place. The food, however, is not as fabulous as one would expect. The lamb gyro was plain and nothing new or exciting and the pita it came in was flimsy at beat. The spinach and artichoke appetizer came with very large delicious chips that were definitely made in-house, but the dip tasted like something you could find at your local Applebee's. The octopus appetizer was over-seasoned and tough, even for octopus. I recommend getting whatever fish they're serving. A friend of mine ordered the fish and it was served whole, and while it was difficult to take apart, he said it was delicious. Also, if you're there for a birthday, make sure to tell your waiter or waitress. You'll get a song, a few thrown napkins and a cute piece of baklava.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun, great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Since our first visit to Acropolis, we have made it our go-to spot for Greek. We've tried other Greek restaurants in town, been swayed by a Groupon or two, but always come back to Acropolis. The food is fantastic. The service is usually above average. The drink specials are great. The dancers are fun to watch. It's just a really nice place to go. Family visitors have been taken to the restaurant and now they get jealous whenever someone new comes to visit and they know we are taking them there. In fact, we have someone coming this weekend who is insisting we go twice during the weekend. Highlights: their chicken lemon soup that is on the menu every day, their tomato soup on Sundays is incredible, the stuffed mushrooms appetizer (huge, plenty to share, don't try to have on your own), the greek dressing and acropolis salad, gyros, the Greek burger with feta cheese, the steak skewers, and the fruit plate. Truly, the only thing there that I have not been excited about is the dessert. But that's a good thing because it means I don't crave adding dessert to my meal when I'm here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberling City, Missouri
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Opa! Opa! Opa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The food was delicious once the waiters and waitresses finally figured out a successful way to meet the needs of a wedding reception party. There was so much food that was served that it is impossible to single out a single one to compliment as they were all delicious! The belly dancer livened up the evening and my only concern is with those responsible for picking up the pounds of shredded white paper that cluttered the floor after each festive "Opa" explosion! One word of caution; the restaurant's name is conveniently hidden from view by the awning so don't expect to find this establishment from the comfort of your auto!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Acropolis Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.