We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feedback from a 5 week stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Coral Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Reef Resort
5800 Gulf Blvd., St. Petersburg, FL 33706-2252   |  
Hotel amenities
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Feedback from a 5 week stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We are providing feedback as interval owners following our recent 5 week stay. First off we will update our observations from last year.

Excessive partying by renters: There were no occurrences where someone rented a unit for the evening-week-end and had an all-night party. On back to back Sundays, small groups who had rented units had numerous guests drop in and have an afternoon party. Although disruptive, it only lasted until the early evening.

Uninvited people crashing the pool: Unlike last year when it was an everyday occurrence for people to come off the beachéstreet, jump the fence and hop in the pool or hot-tub, this year it happened 2 or 3 times per week. This lack of security is still not acceptable.

Parking: Everyday there are still people who are not guests who simply drive in, park and go to the beach. Little has changed since last year to stop this practice.

Internet: When we arrived the internet was not working, but the entire system was replaced with Brighthouse during our stay. There are now modems throughout the two buildings providing a considerable upgrade to the signal.

What we noticed this year: There has been major improvements to the landscaping throughout the property, and everything looks clean and appealing. New loungers have been added to the pool area. All of the staff continue to be friendly, engaging and work to provide excellent service. They work very hard - day in and day out!

We had a problem with ants for a couple of days, but staff responded promptly by bringing in the pest control to eliminate the problem.

One area for improvement (for interval owners) is the need for regular communication throughout the year to provide updates on the pending major construction that will take place in the adjacent lot, status updates in relation to the financial health of the association, and other relevant updates. There is also a need for the general manager to be more pro-active in communicating with guests during their stay. This could be simply accomplished by leaving a phone message (ie. the internet is out but will be fixed this week, etc.).

The Coral reef continues to provide good value for vactioners. The location is excellent and the units provide everything you need for a short or long term stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    16
    5
    14
See reviews for
30
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, SD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We only stayed here three nights. We had a two room/ two bath hotel. One room had a king bed and the other room had two twin beds. We also had a foldout couch and had seven people total.

While the price was higher than we wanted, $270 per night, the kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need including a blender, coffee maker, and toaster aside from all silverware and plates.

The room is cleaned every day, the bedding is replaced every other day, and the towels are replaced on the opposite days. This is a timeshare so we understand that the services are not going to be like that of a hotel.

The two biggest disappointments are that the sign is very small and you will most likely drive past the entrance, and the toilet paper is loaded upside down! Aside from that, I have a hard time being disappointed in the property.

There are two pools, one warm and shallow for the kids, and one bigger almost like a lazy river. There are also three hot tubs that are always exceptionally warm.

Should we return to St. Pete's beach, this will be one of the first places that I look to stay upon my return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this resort from March 22, to March 29, 2014. The resort is clean, we had an ocean front room, beautiful view. The room was a one bedroom room with a small kitchen, small living room and dinette and a bathroom, good enough for two people. They come only once a week to change the linens and towels, but you can switch clean towels everyday at the towel service window on the 3rd floor. The sofa chair is a little old and dirty. The resort has a a few hot tubs, and two other pools, one was heated. The downside is that there is nothing to do except pool and beach, unfortunately we had bad weather, so the beach was out most of the time. It would have helped if there was a restaurant, maybe a game room. Also there no bar at the pool. I'm not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Have stayed here a few times now since finding out about this place a little over a year ago. Very nice accommodations and staff. Grounds and rooms are clean and well kept. Location is great in the heart of St. Pete Beach. These condos are right on the beach with easy access to gulf, as well as 2 beautiful pools and 3 hot tubs! Picnic tables with grills have just been added as well. I have recommended this place to at least 2 friends that have stayed here as well and they both had wonderful experiences. Check out this hidden gem next time you visit St. Pete Beach!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Rapids, Iowa
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lainn Menning:
We arrived at 9:00 pm The signage was so bad we drove by two times, two little wood signs 3' tall. We finally found the place then couldn't find the office, Had to walk through a tunnel to get to the office. First impression on entering the room was furniture was old and dirty. Woke up the next morning, went to make breakfast and there was mouse droppings in the cupboards. Opened the dishwasher and a mouse ran out from under the machine. My wife went outside and found a staff member to help catch the mouse. and they said that's all just a mouse you should see the rats that run around here at night. We will never stay there again. The only up side was that they refunded our payment before we went to another resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spent a week here and found the property to be spotless, immaculately cared for grounds and pool area. The room was basic furnish but clean and pleasant . The staff could not have been nicer, especially Michelle in housekeeping who smiled each and every time we met up! Perfect location to walk the beach and to walk to area restaurants. Don't miss Snappers across the street!.

Room Tip: Ask for "upgrade to ocean front room at the least upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Small, clean, retro condo right on the beach..a great location..needs some upgrades - i.e. mattresses, pillows, televisions, couch. Really great swimming pools. Is close to a lot of great places to see. Shell Key is a must. Some really good local eateries close by. Would definitely recommend, but hope some furniture upgrades happen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coral Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Resort

Address: 5800 Gulf Blvd., St. Petersburg, FL 33706-2252
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Coral Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Hotel St. Petersburg
Coral Reef Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.