We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky fun and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Inn St Petersburg to your Saves list
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Quirky fun and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Standalone building in the middle of St Petes gave us a great two night stay while we went to see our first Baseball Game. Rooms are basic but clean the Host Brian was really welcoming we enjoyed our stay here. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Lots and lots of sunshiny greetings to the UK!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our inn during your trip to St. Pete and how exciting: your very first Baseball game and you chose our Tampa Bay Rays to introduce you to everything baseball!
Did we win? I sure hope so and just to update you, the Rays are currently leading the American League East, which is awesome and we are so very proud!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays just as much and had a safe and pleasant trip home.

All the best for the future and happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    110
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
55
183
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
des moines
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Everything is in order, the owners have the answer to every question you can think of. There is a notebook with the menus of all the nearby restaurants. You can easily walk to the Dali' which one of the nicest museums you'll ever see--small so you don't get worn out, adding (of Dali') docent, and the works are stunning.
There is a specific baseball trolley and a Central Ave. trolley, both of which take you to Tropicana field.
The rooms are small but very clean and have a little fridge. This is just a VERY comfortable place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: maybe on the west side so morning light isn't as bright, if you are a sleeper-inner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Sunny greetings to Iowa and a heartfelt thank you to you for your great review!
We appreciate your decision to stay with us during your recent trip to St. Pete and are glad to hear you had such a wonderful time.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We came to St Petersburg to see the Dali museum, concert at the Palladium and to watch a baseball game at Tropicana Field. Museum and Palladium are walking distance. This is, without a doubt, the nicest inn we have ever stayed in. Brian is very welcoming and accommodating. He has the ultimate personality to be in this business. The inn is small but has a lot of old world charm. No frills but they offer a continental breakfast and, our favorite thing, a nightly happy hour. Would stay here again and again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! I will pass the compliments on to Brian, who will run around boasting for at least a month - LOL! Jokes aside, we are both happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope to welcome you back to our inn soon!

Happy Travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We can't praise the owners, Stephanie and Brian, enough for their amazing inn. They treat us like friends and make it a joy every time we come back.

This was our fifth stay in the past two years and we always look forward to coming back. The grounds, rooms and lobby are always immaculate. Stephanie and Brian are extremely helpful and have accommodated our every need. Location is in a quiet area and only a few blocks from Publix supermarket, a strip of local restaurants and even a very quaint coffee shop we discovered right down the road.

And you can't beat the value. The prices are amazing for the INVALUABLE service and amenities provided.

In five stays, we still have yet to find anything wrong...and I doubt we ever will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Aww, thank you Adrienne! Such a wonderful and heartfelt review! It's been great to welcome you back every time and the pleasure is always ours, that's for sure. Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about our inn with others, it's greatly appreciated!

Until we see you next time, we wish you nothing but the best!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this inn when we went to Tropicana Field to see a baseball game. As we walked into the door we felt a warm welcome right away. This is a " no frills hotel" if you are expecting the The Marriott or the Hilton, it is not!!! As previously posted by the other reviewers, it is clean, homey and innkeepers Brian and Stephanie are very accommodating. The main entrance is locked 24 hours a day, you need to let yourself in with your issued key card. They also have a little fridge with water and wine unless its happy hour, you need to pay for what you consume, price on the fridge "honor system." We had no issues with parking, as we took a taxi from the airport. We will absolutely be back to stay, unless they are all booked up.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our inn and for taking the time to submit this lovely review. We too, hope to welcome you back on your next trip to St. Pete - we'll be sure to hold a room for you!

All the best!

Stephanie & Brian Cox

P.S. Should you ever find that we are booked when searching online, please give us a call directly! We close our online inventory once we only have a couple of rooms left in order to avoid over booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way back to Miami. The owners were lovely and made us very welcome. The room was very clean and air conditioned which was great because it was so hot!!! The bed was comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners they even brought to me an iron and ironing board so I could iron our rather creased clothes for our evening out!! We received a complimentary glass of vino or beer which ever was preferred and the breakfast next day was also complimentary and plentiful!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Sunny greetings to the UK!
Thank you very much for your kind review. It makes us more than happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us this summer. We hope the rest of your vacation was just as enjoyable and that you had a safe and pleasant trip home.

All the best to you and Happy Travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while I had some business in St. Pete. The location was perfect--close to Beach Dr. businesses and wonderful for walking to museums and restaurants. Walked to Central Ave. for supper and ended up grabbing a ticket to see live theater on the way back, at American Stage. Easy to jump onto 275 to drive farther out, too. Liked having the free parking right there and the happy hour and breakfast were convenient. Probably the best thing is how welcoming and helpful Stephanie and Brian are (that upped the rating to very good). The building and rooms are very basic but have a nice homey feeling. Stay away if you're looking for luxury. As for me, I would come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed not only our inn but St. Petersburg itself and all it has to offer. It's true, our Downtown location is awesome, with everything you would want to do and see in walking distance.
Thank you also for your comments on myself and Brian - we simply enjoy what we are doing and hope to pass this joy on to every guest who walks through our door.

All the best to you!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Inn St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Inn St Petersburg 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Inn St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.