We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming bed and breakfast feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Inn St Petersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$69/$79 Web Special
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming bed and breakfast feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was a wonderful experience. I was reminded of travel in Europe where the rooms are efficient, the hosts are hardworking and extremely helpful regarding the logistics, and tourist attractions. My room was clean and the wi-fi was free. Breakfast was generous with juice, fruit, yougurt, milk, coffee, bagels, cereal and hot chocolate. Coffee was available during the day. Stephanie and Brian shared their lives with the patrons and we enjoyed learning about their backgrounds. The children were charming and well behaved. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We appreciate the time you put into this review and are very happy that you enjoyed not just our inn but our family as well.

We wish you happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    101
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
49
169
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights during my husband's conference at another hotel. Although our room was small, it was very clean, comfortable and homey. We enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast and evening happy hour. Stephanie and Brian were excellent hosts! I highly recommend it if you want something different from a big chain hotel. It's walking distance to just about all of the attractions in St. Petersburg and 20 minutes drive to the beach. Don't miss the Dali Museum while you are there. Catch the Saturday morning market if you are there on the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review as well as including some tips on things to do for fellow travelers. I am sure they will be much appreciated. It was our pleasure welcoming you and your husband to our inn during his business trip to St. Pete and hope to welcome you back on a future trip.

All the best!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a charming small hotel with wonderful owners/hosts. The rooms are small, but very clean and with the feel of a European hotel or B&B. There is a happy hour in the evening, with one glass of wine or beer and snacks. It is a great time to meet other guests or ask the owners for restaurant/nightlife ideas. The continental breakfast in the morning is pretty basic, but they put out real cups and plates and make sure the coffee is always filled. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if stairs are an issue be sure to request the ground floor (only two floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your write up. We appreciate your time in doing so as well as choosing our inn for your stay in St. Pete.

Wishing you happy travels,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a tiny little hotel ... rooms old and small ... very clean and quiet ... husband and wife run it and are always around to answer questions and give advice ... has the feel of grandma's place about it ... conveniently located ... attractively priced ... we will return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! It's been our pleasure welcoming you to St. Pete during your recent trip and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel deserves its no 1 rating for a no of reasons;
1. The hosts were fantastic, just the right balance of being genuine and friendly without being over bearing. I don't think in all my years of travelling I have ever come across nicer hoteliers.
2. The hotel is not pretending to be something its not. The rooms were clean and more than adequate, its not a 5 star hotel but neither is it pretending to be! You get excellent value for money.
We were made to feel most welcome. Our baby was under the weather when we visited and our hosts guinely took an interest in how she was, we left feeling very valued. Its a number of years since I bothered to submit a tripadvisor review and I was so impressed with the hosts that I felt compelled to pass the word!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure welcoming your lovely family to our inn, snotty noses and all. Surely your little girl felt better soon and you all were able to enjoy the rest of your Florida vacation. We thank you once again for choosing our inn and hope to welcome you back one day.

All the best, from our family to yours!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is easy to see why Am Best Inn gets such high reviews. The hosts/owners were very knowlegeable, helpful and accomodating on our recent overnight business trip. The rooms are simple but very clean and had everything essential to hand. Thank you for allowing us to meet in the lobby area as we had such little time before leaving for Orlando. Overall this is a vacation/leisure spot rather than a business hotel but for our purposes it was a great choice and we also enjoyed Cassis as recommended for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, as brief as it was and hope that your business meeting was sucessful.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pay the extra money and stay in the nearby Courtyard. The Inn was charming but when you open your room and get slapped with the old musty smell that should have been our first sign. The coverlet on our bed was dirty and other than the very thin cheap sheet there was no other blanket to use. The bed was extremely old and springy. The shower had one of those rubber mats in it and when I went to pick it up as I don't really like them, underneath was hair and grime from previous guests, I literally put a towel in the shower to step on. The towels were thin, cheap, and old like the sheets. This place has potential but owners need to clean up and replace some of the very old, warn out linens & springy mattresses and for the love of god clean the nasty coverlets on the beds and offer a clean blanket between the sheet and coverlet. I would not recommend this place unless you like old and dirty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of our inn. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at all. We do wish though, that you would have approached us during your stay so we would have had the chance to fix at least some of the problems you encountered. Our bed and bath linens get sorted out and replaced as needed - a delivery of sheets and towels just came in yesterday as a matter of fact, so a lot will be replaced today. Our bedspreads are washed at the very least every other stay, if stained then with every guest. Our bedspreads are white, not multicolor with patterns to hide stains. With them being white, there might simply be some discoloration due to usage over time. Also, a second blanket is in every guest room closet for your convenience. There is absolutely no excuse for the dirt underneath the rubber bath mat. We truly apologize for this and will make sure our housekeeping team is on top of this from here on out.
Again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your time at our inn but do wish we would have been given the opportunity to make it right, then and there. We don't bite, are open for honest criticism and will always do our best to make each and everyone of our guest happy. If that means going in myself to reclean a bathroom, switch out the bedding completely, or anything else, we will do it.

We are proud of the great reviews we receive from our guests as well as the high number of return customers we get to welcome back throughout the years.

With all this said, we wish you happy travels from here on out!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Inn St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Inn St Petersburg 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Inn St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.