We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and homey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Inn St Petersburg to your Saves list
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$74 Sun - Thu Nights
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint and homey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights during my husband's conference at another hotel. Although our room was small, it was very clean, comfortable and homey. We enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast and evening happy hour. Stephanie and Brian were excellent hosts! I highly recommend it if you want something different from a big chain hotel. It's walking distance to just about all of the attractions in St. Petersburg and 20 minutes drive to the beach. Don't miss the Dali Museum while you are there. Catch the Saturday morning market if you are there on the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review as well as including some tips on things to do for fellow travelers. I am sure they will be much appreciated. It was our pleasure welcoming you and your husband to our inn during his business trip to St. Pete and hope to welcome you back on a future trip.

All the best!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    108
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
53
179
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a charming small hotel with wonderful owners/hosts. The rooms are small, but very clean and with the feel of a European hotel or B&B. There is a happy hour in the evening, with one glass of wine or beer and snacks. It is a great time to meet other guests or ask the owners for restaurant/nightlife ideas. The continental breakfast in the morning is pretty basic, but they put out real cups and plates and make sure the coffee is always filled. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if stairs are an issue be sure to request the ground floor (only two floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your write up. We appreciate your time in doing so as well as choosing our inn for your stay in St. Pete.

Wishing you happy travels,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a tiny little hotel ... rooms old and small ... very clean and quiet ... husband and wife run it and are always around to answer questions and give advice ... has the feel of grandma's place about it ... conveniently located ... attractively priced ... we will return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! It's been our pleasure welcoming you to St. Pete during your recent trip and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel deserves its no 1 rating for a no of reasons;
1. The hosts were fantastic, just the right balance of being genuine and friendly without being over bearing. I don't think in all my years of travelling I have ever come across nicer hoteliers.
2. The hotel is not pretending to be something its not. The rooms were clean and more than adequate, its not a 5 star hotel but neither is it pretending to be! You get excellent value for money.
We were made to feel most welcome. Our baby was under the weather when we visited and our hosts guinely took an interest in how she was, we left feeling very valued. Its a number of years since I bothered to submit a tripadvisor review and I was so impressed with the hosts that I felt compelled to pass the word!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure welcoming your lovely family to our inn, snotty noses and all. Surely your little girl felt better soon and you all were able to enjoy the rest of your Florida vacation. We thank you once again for choosing our inn and hope to welcome you back one day.

All the best, from our family to yours!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is easy to see why Am Best Inn gets such high reviews. The hosts/owners were very knowlegeable, helpful and accomodating on our recent overnight business trip. The rooms are simple but very clean and had everything essential to hand. Thank you for allowing us to meet in the lobby area as we had such little time before leaving for Orlando. Overall this is a vacation/leisure spot rather than a business hotel but for our purposes it was a great choice and we also enjoyed Cassis as recommended for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, as brief as it was and hope that your business meeting was sucessful.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pay the extra money and stay in the nearby Courtyard. The Inn was charming but when you open your room and get slapped with the old musty smell that should have been our first sign. The coverlet on our bed was dirty and other than the very thin cheap sheet there was no other blanket to use. The bed was extremely old and springy. The shower had one of those rubber mats in it and when I went to pick it up as I don't really like them, underneath was hair and grime from previous guests, I literally put a towel in the shower to step on. The towels were thin, cheap, and old like the sheets. This place has potential but owners need to clean up and replace some of the very old, warn out linens & springy mattresses and for the love of god clean the nasty coverlets on the beds and offer a clean blanket between the sheet and coverlet. I would not recommend this place unless you like old and dirty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of our inn. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at all. We do wish though, that you would have approached us during your stay so we would have had the chance to fix at least some of the problems you encountered. Our bed and bath linens get sorted out and replaced as needed - a delivery of sheets and towels just came in yesterday as a matter of fact, so a lot will be replaced today. Our bedspreads are washed at the very least every other stay, if stained then with every guest. Our bedspreads are white, not multicolor with patterns to hide stains. With them being white, there might simply be some discoloration due to usage over time. Also, a second blanket is in every guest room closet for your convenience. There is absolutely no excuse for the dirt underneath the rubber bath mat. We truly apologize for this and will make sure our housekeeping team is on top of this from here on out.
Again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your time at our inn but do wish we would have been given the opportunity to make it right, then and there. We don't bite, are open for honest criticism and will always do our best to make each and everyone of our guest happy. If that means going in myself to reclean a bathroom, switch out the bedding completely, or anything else, we will do it.

We are proud of the great reviews we receive from our guests as well as the high number of return customers we get to welcome back throughout the years.

With all this said, we wish you happy travels from here on out!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at Americas Best Inn St Pete for 3 nights in January 2013. Although the facility is called an "Inn" or "Hotel" staying there more resembles guesting at a bed and breakfast or your favorite aunt and uncle's large house. The building is two floors (no elevator) with a large center hallway with rooms on both sides on both floors. The rooms are on the small side with either two twins or one double. The furniture is solid with enough room for a weeks worth of clothing. The bathroom was charming and also on the small side. The in room refrigerator was convenient for water, beer, and restaurant extra's. The rooms have individual wall unit air conditioners. The hallway had two small containers for recycling of paper, glass and plastics. A nice touch that conveys the attitude and spirit of the owners. You enter off of the sidewalk (with a a large awning to the street and potted palms and such under and around the awning) into a large lobby/living room which also contains the registration desk, a television, 4 tables with 4 chairs for each, a large couch and coffee table that contained a daily local newspaper and USA Today every day. It is in this room that a continental breakfast awaits you from 7 until 10 every morning. Coffee (which is available all day for free) orange juice, bagels and cream cheese, individually wrapped pastries, oranges and bananas, cold and hot cereal. All are included in the price of the room. In the evening wine and beer and light snacks are served. Each guest gets one beer of one wine: after the first the price is $2.00 per drink. Bottled water is also available all day for a small price. The owners, a very friendly, helpful husband and wife team, live on site with there two children. Don't be surprised when a precious 3/4 year old girl asks you where you are from before she heads down the hallway for her dinner. Both owners were very open and helpful with guests, such as directing a pair who had questions about the future of The Pier to a display of its maybe replacement at a nearby city building. Rooms were cleaned every day-- left a tip for our room cleaner one day and received a cute two pieces of candy as a thank you.The Inn is within easy walking distance of all the good restaurants in the area and the Hopper bus, which you can ride almost all over downtown on a loop including out to The Pier for a very small fee, stops just across the street. The parking lot has spaces for about 16 cars and additional street parking is easily available. The lot accommodated all of the guests when we were there. The price came to around $250 for three nights. A very nice stay, wonderful owners and a good price. Oh, and buy those water bottles. I have a fee coming to me!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
And the Award for the most detailed review of our inn goes to.... YOU!

Thank you very much for your time and attention to detail in your review of our inn. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

With this said, we just want to touch up on a view points made. To clarify: we offer rooms with 1 full, 1 queen or 2 twin beds and the number of parking spaces in our lot is 11. We do have free street parking (overnight on weekdays and all day Saturday and Sunday) available if needed and in addition to that we also have permission to use the bank parking lot across the street on Saturday nights.

Once more, thank you for your wonderful review. I am sure it is appreciated not only by us but by many fellow travelers as well.

We wish you all the best and happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Inn St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Inn St Petersburg 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Inn St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.