We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel With The Demeanor Of A Bed And Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Inn St Petersburg to your Saves list
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Hotel With The Demeanor Of A Bed And Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at Americas Best Inn St Pete for 3 nights in January 2013. Although the facility is called an "Inn" or "Hotel" staying there more resembles guesting at a bed and breakfast or your favorite aunt and uncle's large house. The building is two floors (no elevator) with a large center hallway with rooms on both sides on both floors. The rooms are on the small side with either two twins or one double. The furniture is solid with enough room for a weeks worth of clothing. The bathroom was charming and also on the small side. The in room refrigerator was convenient for water, beer, and restaurant extra's. The rooms have individual wall unit air conditioners. The hallway had two small containers for recycling of paper, glass and plastics. A nice touch that conveys the attitude and spirit of the owners. You enter off of the sidewalk (with a a large awning to the street and potted palms and such under and around the awning) into a large lobby/living room which also contains the registration desk, a television, 4 tables with 4 chairs for each, a large couch and coffee table that contained a daily local newspaper and USA Today every day. It is in this room that a continental breakfast awaits you from 7 until 10 every morning. Coffee (which is available all day for free) orange juice, bagels and cream cheese, individually wrapped pastries, oranges and bananas, cold and hot cereal. All are included in the price of the room. In the evening wine and beer and light snacks are served. Each guest gets one beer of one wine: after the first the price is $2.00 per drink. Bottled water is also available all day for a small price. The owners, a very friendly, helpful husband and wife team, live on site with there two children. Don't be surprised when a precious 3/4 year old girl asks you where you are from before she heads down the hallway for her dinner. Both owners were very open and helpful with guests, such as directing a pair who had questions about the future of The Pier to a display of its maybe replacement at a nearby city building. Rooms were cleaned every day-- left a tip for our room cleaner one day and received a cute two pieces of candy as a thank you.The Inn is within easy walking distance of all the good restaurants in the area and the Hopper bus, which you can ride almost all over downtown on a loop including out to The Pier for a very small fee, stops just across the street. The parking lot has spaces for about 16 cars and additional street parking is easily available. The lot accommodated all of the guests when we were there. The price came to around $250 for three nights. A very nice stay, wonderful owners and a good price. Oh, and buy those water bottles. I have a fee coming to me!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
And the Award for the most detailed review of our inn goes to.... YOU!

Thank you very much for your time and attention to detail in your review of our inn. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

With this said, we just want to touch up on a view points made. To clarify: we offer rooms with 1 full, 1 queen or 2 twin beds and the number of parking spaces in our lot is 11. We do have free street parking (overnight on weekdays and all day Saturday and Sunday) available if needed and in addition to that we also have permission to use the bank parking lot across the street on Saturday nights.

Once more, thank you for your wonderful review. I am sure it is appreciated not only by us but by many fellow travelers as well.

We wish you all the best and happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    122
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
59
199
35
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Guided in the right direction by reviews on Tripadvisor. Stayed for two nights in January. Rooms a good size, clean and tidy. Great location for St Petersburg both shopping and walking along the waterfront. The young couple in charge were great hosts and had plenty of good advice about the area. The happy hour was a nice touch with beer and peanuts. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Sunny greetings to the UK and thank you very much for your review - it is greatly appreciated.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our inn during your trip to Florida and hope the rest of your vacation was a sucess as well.

We wish you all the best and happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This older property is decorated with an eclectic mix of items. An enthusiastic, friendly young couple who live on site with their two young children provide personal service not usually seen in a motel chain. We stayed at this well located downtown motel just before Christmas. We managed to leave a Kindle e-reader and a camera battery charger behind in the room. We were promptly contacted by the wife in this husband-wife management team who went out of her way to arrange shipment the day before Christmas to a relative further south who we would be visiting. Her kindness and generosity in getting these two items (whose absence would have spoiled the rest of our trip) to us promptly was very much appreciated and was indicative of the personal care these attentive hosts take of their guests.
We also enjoyed a free beer and snacks in the evening in the homey lobby and met some interesting travelers during our too brief stay. We have never experienced such an amenity before in a modestly priced motel chain. In fact, the word "chain" is totally inapt when we think back to the nice memory we have of this lodging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! The pleasure was all ours, from weloming you to our inn to making sure you were reunited with your gadgets. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and had an enjoyable time with your family over the Holidays.

Hopefully we will have the oportunity to welcome you back to our on your next trip to St. Petersburg.

Until then we wish you all the best and a fabulous 2013!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The other reviews have said it perfectly. Can't be beat in this locality. And the price point is perfect. Don't waste your money staying elsewhere.

Three easy walking blocks from the rerstaurants and waterfront, onsite parking and easy access.

Room Tip: Stayed on ground floor in 13, don't know about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that the other reviewers were on point with their opinions and your stay was just as enjoyable as you expected it to be.

Come see us again when in the area, as we'd love to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This B&B is found in an older building that has been redone to include modern comforts without sacrificing the charm of the older structure. While the modern services and charm of the place and its location close to the waterfront in St Petersburg make it a find, the owners send it's rating to the top. They are friendly from your arrival until your departure. They are attentive to their customers needs and ready with a suggestion of places to go and see in the area. Former military who served in Europe will remember Chiemsee Resort near Garmisch. The husband and wife both worked there for several years and it shows. Really nice family only added to an already great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for off the main street--do not think noise is a problem, but just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your very sweet review is greatly appreciated. We are more than happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Brian and I both love what we are doing and we work hard to make this a special place for everyone. We truly hope to welcome you back soon. Until then we wish you all the best and happy travels.

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for a night and the welcome, location and free beer at happy hour were great additions to this lovely charachterful 1937 built hotel. The couple running the place go out of their way to chat, laugh and be of assistance. It's in an excellent location too but if going out to eat, go straight down the road outside to the waterfront and its bars and restaurants. Avoid the loud bar area and park square about a block away. Lots of druggy, homeless types! Saturday there's an amazing farmers market! Just go...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for your wonderful review. Brian and I both, are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back again on your next trip to St. Pete. Until then we wish you all the best!

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Reading some of the reviews for this, it seems odd that people select individual style accommodation then bemoan that it isn't ‘cookie cutter.’
 
We chose it because we didn’t want the impersonal style of a chain hotel at Christmas. We wanted homely, and homely is exactly what we got.


This inn really scores for location. Easily reached from the Interstate exit, it’s in a quiet area of downtown and has free parking at the side. It’s in easy walking distance of the Pier, the Dali museum and loads of mid-range dinner options along Beach Drive. 



While our room was smallish, it wasn’t cramped and we were comfortable. It was good to be on the ground floor with a street view. The simple breakfast in the lounge/desk area was sociable and adequate enough for our needs. Wi-fi was fast and I appreciated having an efficient hairdryer for a change.

It was nice to come back on Christmas Eve to a gift bag of sweets in the room. We also really liked the ‘happy hour’ of beer, wine and nibbles every evening, a nice hospitable extra on the part of the innkeepers. As we enjoyed these on Christmas Eve a couple actually came to the door hoping to check in only to be told there was 'no room at the inn!'

 The big Christmas tree and decorations added to a homely, family feel, as did the quirky furnishings along the hallway to the guestrooms. These were fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Greetings to Ireland and thank you for your wonderful review! We hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip through Florida as much as you enjoyed St. Pete and our inn. We appreciate your time for this detailed write up and are very happy that you had such a great time during your stay with us.

Wishing you all the best for the New Year and happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Inn St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Inn St Petersburg 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important information: Starting mid July 2015, our hotel will be called "The Inn On Third". It will be the same owners and innkeepers as the last 10 years, so you can expect the same great service and hospitality as in the past. We look forward to welcoming you! Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 Minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Inn St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.