We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Service at a Chain Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Inn St Petersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 Web Special
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in St. Petersburg
BAINBRIDGE ISLAND
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Personal Service at a Chain Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This older property is decorated with an eclectic mix of items. An enthusiastic, friendly young couple who live on site with their two young children provide personal service not usually seen in a motel chain. We stayed at this well located downtown motel just before Christmas. We managed to leave a Kindle e-reader and a camera battery charger behind in the room. We were promptly contacted by the wife in this husband-wife management team who went out of her way to arrange shipment the day before Christmas to a relative further south who we would be visiting. Her kindness and generosity in getting these two items (whose absence would have spoiled the rest of our trip) to us promptly was very much appreciated and was indicative of the personal care these attentive hosts take of their guests.
We also enjoyed a free beer and snacks in the evening in the homey lobby and met some interesting travelers during our too brief stay. We have never experienced such an amenity before in a modestly priced motel chain. In fact, the word "chain" is totally inapt when we think back to the nice memory we have of this lodging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! The pleasure was all ours, from weloming you to our inn to making sure you were reunited with your gadgets. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and had an enjoyable time with your family over the Holidays.

Hopefully we will have the oportunity to welcome you back to our on your next trip to St. Petersburg.

Until then we wish you all the best and a fabulous 2013!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    101
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
161
27
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The other reviews have said it perfectly. Can't be beat in this locality. And the price point is perfect. Don't waste your money staying elsewhere.

Three easy walking blocks from the rerstaurants and waterfront, onsite parking and easy access.

Room Tip: Stayed on ground floor in 13, don't know about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that the other reviewers were on point with their opinions and your stay was just as enjoyable as you expected it to be.

Come see us again when in the area, as we'd love to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This B&B is found in an older building that has been redone to include modern comforts without sacrificing the charm of the older structure. While the modern services and charm of the place and its location close to the waterfront in St Petersburg make it a find, the owners send it's rating to the top. They are friendly from your arrival until your departure. They are attentive to their customers needs and ready with a suggestion of places to go and see in the area. Former military who served in Europe will remember Chiemsee Resort near Garmisch. The husband and wife both worked there for several years and it shows. Really nice family only added to an already great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for off the main street--do not think noise is a problem, but just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your very sweet review is greatly appreciated. We are more than happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Brian and I both love what we are doing and we work hard to make this a special place for everyone. We truly hope to welcome you back soon. Until then we wish you all the best and happy travels.

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Going nowhere fast!
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for a night and the welcome, location and free beer at happy hour were great additions to this lovely charachterful 1937 built hotel. The couple running the place go out of their way to chat, laugh and be of assistance. It's in an excellent location too but if going out to eat, go straight down the road outside to the waterfront and its bars and restaurants. Avoid the loud bar area and park square about a block away. Lots of druggy, homeless types! Saturday there's an amazing farmers market! Just go...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for your wonderful review. Brian and I both, are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back again on your next trip to St. Pete. Until then we wish you all the best!

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Reading some of the reviews for this, it seems odd that people select individual style accommodation then bemoan that it isn't ‘cookie cutter.’
 
We chose it because we didn’t want the impersonal style of a chain hotel at Christmas. We wanted homely, and homely is exactly what we got.


This inn really scores for location. Easily reached from the Interstate exit, it’s in a quiet area of downtown and has free parking at the side. It’s in easy walking distance of the Pier, the Dali museum and loads of mid-range dinner options along Beach Drive. 



While our room was smallish, it wasn’t cramped and we were comfortable. It was good to be on the ground floor with a street view. The simple breakfast in the lounge/desk area was sociable and adequate enough for our needs. Wi-fi was fast and I appreciated having an efficient hairdryer for a change.

It was nice to come back on Christmas Eve to a gift bag of sweets in the room. We also really liked the ‘happy hour’ of beer, wine and nibbles every evening, a nice hospitable extra on the part of the innkeepers. As we enjoyed these on Christmas Eve a couple actually came to the door hoping to check in only to be told there was 'no room at the inn!'

 The big Christmas tree and decorations added to a homely, family feel, as did the quirky furnishings along the hallway to the guestrooms. These were fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Greetings to Ireland and thank you for your wonderful review! We hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip through Florida as much as you enjoyed St. Pete and our inn. We appreciate your time for this detailed write up and are very happy that you had such a great time during your stay with us.

Wishing you all the best for the New Year and happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This inn is located just a few blocks away from the water, and there's free parking too. The owners are warm and friendly and really contribute to the overall experience. There's an evening reception with beer, wine, snacks and a continental breakfast in the am, both of which are delicious. The inn has some lovely historic elements though the bathroom a bit dated. I did appreciate the wifi and the prevalence of outlets. The place was a fantastic value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review - we will consider this our Christmas gift!
Brian and I both are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and you will be happy to hear that bathroom remodels are on our "wishlist" for the coming year.
All the best to you, Happy Holidays and a wonderful New Year with lots of fun and exciting trips!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT COLLINS
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Brian and his wife are great hosts.from the initial friendly greeting, the free cold breakfast and happy hour wine, this is a great value and a fun place to stay. the rooms are simple but adequate. I met some Europeans-they know how to ferret out a good deal! do reserve well in advance--a busy property like this gets booked well in advance. an easy walk to the pier and art museums-or take the 50cent trolley that stops across the street.

Room Tip: we needed two beds--we were on the second floor --nice and quiet. A/c is new unit-not a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Sunny greetings to Colorado!
It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we truly appreciate your wonderful review.
Brian and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to our inn someday.
Until then we wish you all the best as well as Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Inn St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Inn St Petersburg 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Inn St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.