We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Inn St Petersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$69/$79 Web Special
Ranked #5 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This inn is located just a few blocks away from the water, and there's free parking too. The owners are warm and friendly and really contribute to the overall experience. There's an evening reception with beer, wine, snacks and a continental breakfast in the am, both of which are delicious. The inn has some lovely historic elements though the bathroom a bit dated. I did appreciate the wifi and the prevalence of outlets. The place was a fantastic value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review - we will consider this our Christmas gift!
Brian and I both are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and you will be happy to hear that bathroom remodels are on our "wishlist" for the coming year.
All the best to you, Happy Holidays and a wonderful New Year with lots of fun and exciting trips!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    100
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
47
168
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
FORT COLLINS
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Brian and his wife are great hosts.from the initial friendly greeting, the free cold breakfast and happy hour wine, this is a great value and a fun place to stay. the rooms are simple but adequate. I met some Europeans-they know how to ferret out a good deal! do reserve well in advance--a busy property like this gets booked well in advance. an easy walk to the pier and art museums-or take the 50cent trolley that stops across the street.

Room Tip: we needed two beds--we were on the second floor --nice and quiet. A/c is new unit-not a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Sunny greetings to Colorado!
It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we truly appreciate your wonderful review.
Brian and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to our inn someday.
Until then we wish you all the best as well as Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very great stay. The price was great. The Inn is a very nice area. Not very far from tourist areas. The rooms are small as well is the bathroom but I found it very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and kind. The breakfast options are nice as well. There is enough parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and taking the time for this write up. Especially this time of year where it seems that there is so much more to do than hours in our days.
It was our pleasure welcoming you to St. Petersburg and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

All the best to you and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was a quaint little inn, perfectly located, run by a very sincere and friendly couple who seemed well able to gauge their interaction with their guests very well suited to each individual guests style. Meaning, they are not overwhelmingly in your face or friendly if you are not the type to welcome that (and we are not), however there were other guests at the hotel who seemed to favor that style and we observed the owners treat them in a matter perfectly suitable as well.
The best thing about this hotel was that it was clean with no odours of dampness or staleness or absolutely anything bad. The rooms are small, just like a guest bedroom, but adequate. It is not a hotel one would choose to spend time in as a resort.
I enjoyed St. Petersburg and would return to this inn if I make another trip there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for your great review - the pleasure was all ours. With this said and knowing your prefered level of interaction, I will leave it at that ;) Short and sweet, how about that?

All the best to you!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a road trip trough Florida and it was for me one of the best hotels we slept in.

There's a very nice atmosphere, feeling more like a family home than a inn, and this is not only because of the deco: The owners offer a free glass of wine / beer in the entrance during the evening, which creates an opportunity to talk with other people staying in the hotel.

The rooms are small, but nicely decorated and clean, the location is very good (walking distance to the pier) and very quiet.

The breakfast is basic: coffee, tea, toast, muffins, orange juice, oatbran, cereals... and i found it to be of higher quality as usual (the orange juice did for once taste like oranges and not like chemicals). It also was served in real tableware, which was a nice change from the polystyrene cups in other hotels of the same price range.

The owners were great, giving us advice and even going the extra mile to ship some items that I had left in the room.

Overall a great and budget place to stay in St Pete.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our inn so much during your trip to Florida and hope that you had some more great hotel experiences during the remainder of your trip. It was our pleasure mailing you your forgotten sweater and no big deal to us at all. Maybe we get to welcome you back one day, should you decide to do some more travelling in Florida. Until then, sunny greetings to Germany!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We relied on the reviews we had read on tripadvisor to book this hotel and we have not been disappointed. The hotel is really good and somehow different from your usual standard hotel room.

The location is really excellent close to the action... as long as you take the right direction when leaving the hotel (ie make a right when getting out). If your sense of orientation is as bad as ours and you take the wrong direction, you quickly arrive in a shady park where you don't want to be (I think it's called Williams Park). Well, nothing bad happened, it was daylight, we quickly went back to the hotel and realized we had taken the wrong way. But if you happen to be at the Pier and want to walk back to the hotel, avoid that area and just take the 3rd street.

The room is small but has some charm. The breakfast was rather average, but since it's a small hotel, it's understandable. The owners of the hotel are very nice and offer a drink to guest in the evening. We missed it but it's definitely a nice gesture. Overall, it's is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your time and effort in writing it and know it will be helpful to fellow travellers in making their hotel selection.

Two things we would like to touch on:

Williams Park is a small park about a block away from the inn. Due to it being a major bus hub, there are a lot of people "hanging out" during the day. There really is no reason for cocern, yes you might encounter a cooky character here and there, but most importantly, every one is friendly.

Our breakfast selection is limited due to licensing regulations. We are allowed to serve only what is individually wrapped and unfortunately the choices for us to purchase are therefor limited too. We do offer the following: bagels, muffins, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, cream cheese, butter, jelly, OJ, tea, coffee, milk, hot cocoa mix, and fresh fruit such as bananas and clementines/tangerines.

We hope to have answered any questions that might have popped up for fellow travellers reading your review.

Again, thank you for your time and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in November. It was a nice alternative to chain hotels and a better price. It definitely has a more homey feel. We had a room on the second floor towards the back. There were windows on two sides which was nice. The room did have a bit of a distinct smell when we arrived, but after we turned off the a/c and opened the windows the smell went away. The room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small and basic, but just fine for a two night stay. we did not really eat breakfast at the hotel - just took some fruit and went to the Kawah coffee shop a few blocks away. We stayed over a weekend and parking wasn't a problem - we either parked on the street or across the street in the bank lot. We walked into the town in the evenings to go out and it was an easy 10 min walk to the center. I would have been slightly nervous walking back late at night alone just because there weren't many people on the street and it is in a quiet area.
all in all we had a pleasant stay. The owners were friendly and the price was good.
If you are in St Pete on a Saturday morning there is an interesting market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments are are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our inn. The Saturday Morning Market (Oct. - May) is indeed worth a visit and we are glad to have such a neat event to send our guests to during their stay in St. Pete.

Happy Holidays and a fantastic New Year to come!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Inn St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Inn St Petersburg 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Inn St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.