We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Inn St Petersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$69/$79 September Special
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in November. It was a nice alternative to chain hotels and a better price. It definitely has a more homey feel. We had a room on the second floor towards the back. There were windows on two sides which was nice. The room did have a bit of a distinct smell when we arrived, but after we turned off the a/c and opened the windows the smell went away. The room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small and basic, but just fine for a two night stay. we did not really eat breakfast at the hotel - just took some fruit and went to the Kawah coffee shop a few blocks away. We stayed over a weekend and parking wasn't a problem - we either parked on the street or across the street in the bank lot. We walked into the town in the evenings to go out and it was an easy 10 min walk to the center. I would have been slightly nervous walking back late at night alone just because there weren't many people on the street and it is in a quiet area.
all in all we had a pleasant stay. The owners were friendly and the price was good.
If you are in St Pete on a Saturday morning there is an interesting market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments are are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our inn. The Saturday Morning Market (Oct. - May) is indeed worth a visit and we are glad to have such a neat event to send our guests to during their stay in St. Pete.

Happy Holidays and a fantastic New Year to come!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    105
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
52
173
29
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here recently for a two day visit to St. Petersburg. This was a return visit to this Inn and our opinions remain the same as our previous positive review from March 2011. When reviewing this Inn one must take in to account that it is a small hotel akin to a bed and breakfast establishment and that the owners and their family live on site. The central location of the Inn is ideal for visiting the many different attractions on offer in St. Pete. The accommodation is perfectly satisfactory for a short stay, the bedrooms are clean and comfortable, complimentary WiFi, parking and continental style breakfast is available. The owners are courteous and are always happy to share their knowledge of the local area attractions. The rates at the Inn offer good value for money. We would not hesitate to return for a further stay in the future when next visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was - again - a pleasure welcoming you to our inn and we hope to see you again next year.
Happy Holidays and a fantastic New Year to come!

All the best,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were looking for a place that didn't break the bank and found that this property fit the bill. The Owner's live on site and were excellent hosts. Only a few blocks to the waterfront where all the restaurants and shops are located. The happy hour from 5:00pm to 7:00 pm was a nice little extra as well as the morning coffee and light breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com and are happy to hear (or read) that you enjoyed your stay at our inn so much. We hope to welcome you back to our inn someday. Until then we wish you happy travels and a wonderful Holiday season.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was driven to this Inn by the reports I read at trip .
It is true that Brian and his wife work hard and are very friendly to their gests, but, this is all.
The rooms are clean but very,very small. The hallway carpet is dirty and full of " strange " things , like their kids bikes, and a couple of boxes with recicles.
Despite of their simpathy dont expect more.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your review on Tripadvisor.com. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our inn to the fullest. We strive to make our inn a welcoming and enjoyable place for everyone walking in our doors.Thank you also, for commenting on Brian's and my hospitality as well as the cleanliness of our your guest room. We will pass the compliment on to our housekeepers.

With this said, we would like to comment on the few things you have listed as our shortcomings.

Room size: The inn was built in 1937. Back then rooms were built on the small side, not like nowadays newly built hotels with large suite-like rooms. You will see many reviews commenting on the room size. They are small, it's a fact. As St. Petersburg is a city with lots to offer, one will find that there will be not much time spent inside the guest room. We also have a very comfortable and cozy lobby area which many guest use as a "iving room" to read, socialize or watch sports or the news.

Recycling Containers: We have taken up recycling this past year, to do our part to help the environment as much as possible. Recycling containers (in nice decorative bins) are located in both the ground floor as well as the second floor hallway so our guests can participate in our efforts should they wish to do so.

Bikes: We do sometimes store our kids two little bikes in the hallway and periodically a guests bike as well. They are out of the way and there is still plenty of room to walk.

Carpets: Our common area carpeting gets deep cleaned twice a year and spot cleaned as needed.

We hope to have answered any questions that readers might take away from this review and want to thank you once more for staying with us this past fall.

Wishing you all the best and sunny greetings from St. Pete,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is not to be missed in St. Petersburg - wonderful location, meticulously maintained, friendly hosts - all the reviews are to be believed! We have stayed here recently (and we have stayed in sister hotel Terrace Park Suites in Old Northeast) - wonderful - again ,stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you guys for your great review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and we of course look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a very Happy Holiday and a fantastic New Year to come.

All the best,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and were very pleased by the experience. The Inn is centrally located in the downtown area within easy walking distance of everything. It has a lot of old world charm and is a nice change from the run of the mill hotel chains on the road. The lobby is a good place to sit and chat and meet new friends over a glass of wine or beer in the evening....my wife did just that! Brian and Stephanie are wonderful hosts and are very helpful at answering any questions you may have about the area. Parking is right next to the hotel and is free with your room rate. No need to worry about your car being left out on the street. The hotel is very affordable and the morning breakfast is just right. You can't beat this place! Loved it here and highly recommend it for a St. Pete stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your wonderful review of our inn is greatly appreciated. We are more than happy that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our inn someday. Until then we wish you Happy Holidays and safe travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a wonderful find. This hotel is located right in Historic St. Petersburg. It is within walking distance to many of the sites. Don’t feel like walking? The touring trolley stops immediately across the street from the hotel every 15 minutes during daytime hours. Driving there? The hotel offers free off-street parking.

My father and I visited Historic St. Petersburg earlier this month. We did the whole tourist thing and had a most enjoyable mini-vacation. Our two evening stay at the Americas Best Inn was enhanced by the courtesy and friendliness of the hotel’s owners Brian and Stephanie. They could not have been more helpful in assisting us to find the best places to go. Their suggestions truly enhanced our stay. In addition, the desk assistant, Susan, is a former St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce employee, so she was also a great source of information.

The hotel rooms are simple, but spotless. Excellent firm beds and a quiet location made for a good sleeping environment. The complimentary continental breakfast was a good way to start our mornings. With only 22 guest rooms, you will find that the hotel has somewhat of the feel of a Bed and Breakfast. With only a little effort, you are sure to get to know many of the other hotel guests. A very good all-around experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate your time and attention to detail on this write up. Brian and I are happy you both enjoyed your stay with us so much and we will also pass on the compliments to Susan. Hopefully we get the chance to welcome you back again on your next trip to St. Pete. Until then we wish you all the best as well as Happy Holidays and a fantastic New Year.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Inn St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Inn St Petersburg

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Inn St Petersburg 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Inn St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Inn St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.