We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place...fun and decent if not great rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Resort

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly JMS Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Indianapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a bad place...fun and decent if not great rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

First time here. You can tell they have tried to make a tired old motel into a decent place. FAR better than the Parliament House in Orlando, but could still use some upgrades. The room smelled fine, and excepting the carpet was fairly clean. Some repairs needed but not too bad for the price. The bar was very nice as was the pool area. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    27
    22
    20
See reviews for
5
44
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I live in Anna Maria Island, Fl and travel on business to St. Petersburg FL several times a week (40 miles one way). Many times I find myself working late and staying for drinks with friends and business workers. In St Pete (as throughout the State of Florida) the Police / Highway Patrol set up "check points' in which ALL cars are made to pull over and they conduct an inspection to make sure you have your drivers lic, Insurance card and your reg. documents. What they really are doing is looking to hand out DUI situations as they only do these "check points" between the hours of 11PM and 3AM. Long story short, its best to stay put and don't drive and take a chance getting a ticket and going to jail. The Flamingo Hotel now has a 'VIP" program for area residents that will you allow you a great discount. I stayed at the Hotel and it was wonderful. The staff are great, the bartenders all seem to be Models from GQ and very nice.
Curb side appeal: SUPER
Rooms : SUPER
Staff: Super GREAT
Price: VIP PRICE IS SUPER
Watching the action by the pool : Spellbinding !
Parking: Great and Free and when the place is packed by locals going to the bar, park next door at the Maxi Mall

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We have stayed here numerous times and just love it! The guys treat us soooo well. We always feel welcome. The music and dancing is the best, especially the Sun. afternoon T-Dance at poolside. The Sat. evening drag shows are usualy great. Food is very good. The pool and courtyard area with Tiki bar is inviting . If you want to actually sleep at night, just request an outside vs. poolside room, as the partying goes on forever. Our rooms have always been OK, not fancy but clean. Housekeeping staff has always been great to us. No refridgerators (at least in ouside rooms) so we just bring a cooler for the weekend. Just a great place to have fun and dance your butt off. We hate leaving when weekend is over.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Stayed labor day weekend for 4 nights and 5 days. The front desk personnel were friendly, and helpful. Rooms in Saint Pete average 152 dollars, so 90 bucks a night to stay here wasn't bad, especially for the quality of the rooms, and atmosphere. The restaurant was delicious every time I ate there. Some of the younger bartenders seemed to be a bit inexperienced with high volume, but the veteran bartenders definitely made up for their short coming. The on site shopping could be more extensive, but the ones there are OK. I have been to this resort every month since they have opened.. They have come along way, and continue to draw in more people. Local and abroad.. I suggest this resort to anyone staying in the area, or visiting the area...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I just spent two nights at Flamingo and had a blast! The place is very clean, the staff is very attentive and friendly, the pool is good, the music is wonderful, and the bartenders make excellent cocktails. In addition, the other guests were very friendly and polite. It is very easy to make friends there.

I enjoyed it so much that I am going back for Labor Day weekend. I highly recommed Flamingo to anyone looking for a fun and relaxing break!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

When i walked into the room, the smell was awful, the carpet filthy, the bedding dingy, and looked like the old furniture from when it was a budget motel.
The rooms need a complete re-do. Will say the pool area and common rooms were acceptable, and staff friendly.
My guess the owners are on a tight budget, but c'mon you need to have clean and updated rooms to compete today. My opinion one "P" house is enough.
I wish you success and sincerely hope you get the bucks to offer your Resort to those not interested in only a sex palace. I'm not opposed to a sex palace but i want a clean bed without leftover's from other's.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I'm from Orlando and the Flamingo Resort makes a great little weekend get away for me at least once a month.The rooms are nice, and the one time I had a problem with the safe in the room, maintenance was there with in minutes.The pool and tiki bar at the pool are really nice.I'm not crazy about the dance floor that's also used for the drag shows and breakfast buffet area. It's very small and just doesn't seem to be laid out right.But the staff and bartenders are all very friendly.I enjoy the stay there, every time I go.I would definately recommend Flamingo Resort to anyone .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly JMS Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO GLBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEXJust minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 120 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill & Cafe, 9 On-Site Shops, 7 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Video Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo BLU Room Night Club, with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Royal Players Cabaret Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering Non-Stop Entertainment, Great Food & Drinks and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one focus. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.