We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Resort to your Saves list
Flamingo Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly JMS Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nothing Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just a basic old hotel that has a beautiful pool, too bad it is not heated. They should offer beach towels to guests since they have zapped my credit card $100 as a secrutiy deposit. Never tried the food due to the pricing. The beds were nothing grand but comfortable. Glad we took our own booze that we kept in the room because they were charging $12 for a Miller Lite and a Bacardi & Coke. Amazed they did not charge for ice. The bartenders at the Cabana Bar were awesome, friendly and fun. Mary from housekeeping was super friendly.
They only serve coffee in the lobby so there are no coffee pots in the rooms. Thank God there is a Wal-Mart down the street and did not feel bad about leaving a $9.00 coffee pot behind.

Room Tip: If you need your morning coffee and don't feel like walking to the lobby everyday, stop at Wal-M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    29
    24
    21
See reviews for
6
48
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Im not one typically to complain, however this resort needs alot of help internally.. The property was not bad, nothing to brag about either.. The staff was friendly, however no one was on the same page about anything at the resort.. I was checked into dirty rooms, after finally getting to a clean one, the front desk re rented my room out, so at 12:30 am, someone w a key to my occupied room came barging in! As if that wasnt bad enough, it happened again at 4:30 a.m.. At least this time I had the latch on..so not one, but two random ppl had a key to my room and my key would only work once and then go dead every single time I used it.. No one had any explanation what so ever and every time I went to the desk, they had no idea who was where or where was what.. Also, there is a $100 deposit on your card with any stay.. It was explained that It would be refunded w in 3 days.. I happened to check on the 4th day and of course.. No refund.. After calling, I was informed it was anywhere from 3 days to 3 weeks.. Pretty considerable difference there.. I would not suggest this place to anyone.. Suncoast Resort was much better in my opinion.. After booking this crappy place, I did find a little gay bed and breakfast in st pete.. Havent checked it out yet though.. Just know there are other options.. Beware of this hotel..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent two enjoyable days at the Flamingo Resort over New Years. I have been staying at this property ever since Jack Dougherty took it over a few years back. He has put a lot of time, talent and treasure into making this one the best Gay properties in the State of Florida. While it is far from luxurious, the grounds and rooms are spanking clean, the pool is huge and pristine, and his bars and dining continue to be outstanding. Jack has always known how to throw a party, but in the early years no one came. This has all changed now, as his reputation is spreading. Word of mouth from people like myself are his best advertising! The property itself keeps getting better and better. The food has gone from adequate to outstanding and several new bars have been added, from another outdoor Tikibar to the dark and sleazy leatherbar called CODE. What really makes Jack's opperation excell however, are his people. From the front desk to the bartenders and servers, to the housekeeping crew, you will not find a friendlier place to stay. His hard work finally paid off with this year's New Years Eve party. Every room, all 120 of them were booked solid and I would estimate that over the course of the evening over 1,000 friendly people partied hardy at the Flamingo. Everyone was pleasant and well behaved; they were having too much fun to be otherwise. There was live entertainment not found elsewhere, such at a Cique de Sole style show, go-go dancers, a balloon drop at midnight and free bubbly. There was a DJ at poolside and the party went on from early until well after 3AM. A wonderful time was had by all and I must say that this was the most fun I've had in years and perhaps ever! Kudos to Jack and his staff for throwing one hell of a party at a great venue. I'm sure I'll return next year and look forward to the continued improvements of the property and their creative party planning. Highly reccomended whether you are Gay, straight or just looking to have a blast!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the most updated and deluxe, but can be noisy if you are not there to party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

OK, time to get honest with the readers, this place is mostly a place to party with friends. There is a patio bar, sort-of main lounge bar, pool bar and even a neo-leather bar.

The pool patio rocks on weekends with loud music and Sunday's big pool party goes until the late hours of the night. If you want peace and quiet, stay in an outside room or another hotel. Just come for the party.

The rooms are nothing exceptional and housekeeping could give the rooms a little more attention. As could the maintenance for the hotel which was more than likely a Holiday Inn of sorts in a past life.

Midweek rates make staying at this hotel worthwhile; however, the higher weekend rates are a rip-off.

Just be aware, this can be sort of a "cruisy place" and you might want to ensure your window draps are fully closed or you may wake up only to find eyes pearing into your room. That can be a little strange...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights for Leather Pride did not want to leave. Staff was very nice. The shows where amazing. Pool bar stayed busy the whole weekend. Room was nice 70's vintage hotel room. I did not find a parking space close to my room but small inconvenience for the crowd. I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed here mutiple times over holiday weekends-place is over-priced for what you get. The place was dead...nothing really going on at night. Some old drag queens-more of a camp style. If you are looking for something to do at night, this is not the place for you. I liked that I was supporting LGBT, but what a boring stay. Very close to the beack. Spent a bit more and stay on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed in the past, and will never do so again. However, we were in town for a quick weekend and decided to staop in for a few drinks Saturday evening. The place was dead. We sat out at the pool bar, and were treated rudely by both bartenders. As we sat watching the bartenders at work, I realized they were skimming the drawers! Almost every single drink they rang in was $1, and the rest went into the tip bucket. Every drink, every time. I inquired if there were drink special, and was told it was Saturday - what a stupid question! LOL..really?

We left that bar, and went inside, and wouldn't you believe it, the bartender was doing it there too!

This place has systemic issues that it cannot overcome. It is staffed with untrustworthy employees, and that is a shame. I will never step foot in the place again. I am told I am a generous tipper, and love to tip - especially in gay establishments. But I won't give a dime over to thieves.
I encourage you to avoid this place. If they will steal from the owner, they certainly will steal from you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly JMS Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO GLBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEXJust minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 120 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill & Cafe, 9 On-Site Shops, 7 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Video Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo BLU Room Night Club, with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Royal Players Cabaret Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering Non-Stop Entertainment, Great Food & Drinks and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one focus. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.