We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms leave much to be desired.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Resort

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly JMS Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Orlando, Florida
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rooms leave much to be desired.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my first time here, I had read reviews on another site that were pretty positive so my partner and I decided to spend our weekend here. Big mistake. When so got into our room the first thing we noticed was the smell which luckily we were able to fix by turning on the AC. We then noticed the blue sitting chair with all kinds of stains on it, we made sure not to sit on it or put anything on it. I go to sit on the bed and the white down comforter the was brown stains that looked like someone had wiped their behind on it. No kidding. The pillow on the bed was a small traveling pillow. After seeing this we decided to buy some bed sheets and pillows. The bath tub had yellow rust stains all over it so we made sure to shower with flip flops. I'm a guy thats usually easy to please but I was totally disappointed about my experience and will not be returning, The only thing we did enjoy with the gift shop where they sold swim suits, post cards, and ornaments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    27
    23
    21
See reviews for
5
46
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have gone a couple times, I must say the first time the room was a bit old, the last time, the room was in better condition. The rooms never do get really cool though.
We wont be staying again, due to some activity that we observed in the pool, we are a straight couple, that goes with our gay friends,and there was extra activities going on in the pool by straight and gay couples. It is a place to stay if you have been drinking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The pool and bar areas are nice.The restaurant looks good.Its a friendly crowd. Mostly locals.I would not try to stay there. The place is rundown. The rooms are old, and worn.Bathrooms are small. The air conditioner is very loud.
There are unshady characters there. Not sure if hustlers, or dug dealers. Probably both.There is some cruising going on in the bathroom area.Didnt see it anywhere esle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The website and ads are totally different than what this place really look like. They want a deposit of $100 when you check in then they proceed to tell you no smoking in the room and if they smell that you have they keep it. THE ROOM SMELLED LIKE AN ASHTRAY. Of course I let the front desk person know. The next thing I notice is the dirty carpet with cigarette burns all over it. I walked in the bathroom and the first thing I notice is the roll of toilet paper is half used. They couldn't even provide a new roll. While in the bathroom I noticed a splatteron the cieling from a colored liquid. There was also mold on the bottom edge of the shower curtain. I went outside the room to look at the pool area and noticed more things. The pool had black mold on the walls. There was a questionable thug looking man walking around and one of the guests told me to watch my stuff because he is looking to steal. They let anyone from outside the property in....you don't have to be a guest.I don't know why they don't put any money into this place. It has so much potential. So sad. Never again!
I WISH I WOULD HAVE TAKEN PICS TO PROVE IT! TRUST ME.

Room Tip: DON'T GO! Its just not a great property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

No water working in room, no toilet working in room.. shards of glass in my breakfast.. people in pool all night long,,, air conditioning doesnt work very well.. internet worked for about 5 min a day.. had to keep calling and getting them to reset router.. room in disrepair.. very out dated...wud never stay here again.. stay somewhere else and use pool here for free like everyone else does

Room Tip: stay somewhere else and come use pool here for free like everyone else does
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently stayed the weekend.

First Room:
1. Door lock broken.
2. Filthy stains on floor.
3. Smelled like cigarette smoke.
3. Air hardly cooled.

Second Room:
1. STUNK!

Third Room.
1. Overall Cleaner.
2. Filthy Carpets.
3. Toilet had black mold ring.
4. Top of bathroom tile was actually black from dirt.
5. Took three trips to the front desk to get a working remote for the TV.

Although the place is starting to get run down looking like, rusting railings, stains over walkways, and filthy smelly rooms the staff has been very friendly and helpful.

I hope the place doesn't run down like the old Suncoast Hotel.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you settle on one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay during St Pet Pride 2012 and proved to be a great exoerience. Comfortable but basic rooms but onsite shops, restaurant and clubs were great. Nice pool and staff was helpful. Loved the 70's/80's music in the dance club on Saturday. Great band by the pool and drag shows too. Lots of fun and no need to drive back to a room later.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly JMS Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO GLBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEXJust minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 120 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill & Cafe, 9 On-Site Shops, 7 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Video Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo BLU Room Night Club, with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Royal Players Cabaret Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering Non-Stop Entertainment, Great Food & Drinks and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one focus. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.