We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Play,Don't stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Resort

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly JMS Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 45 hotels in St. Petersburg
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Play,Don't stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The pool and bar areas are nice.The restaurant looks good.Its a friendly crowd. Mostly locals.I would not try to stay there. The place is rundown. The rooms are old, and worn.Bathrooms are small. The air conditioner is very loud.
There are unshady characters there. Not sure if hustlers, or dug dealers. Probably both.There is some cruising going on in the bathroom area.Didnt see it anywhere esle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    27
    23
    21
See reviews for
5
46
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, Florida, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The website and ads are totally different than what this place really look like. They want a deposit of $100 when you check in then they proceed to tell you no smoking in the room and if they smell that you have they keep it. THE ROOM SMELLED LIKE AN ASHTRAY. Of course I let the front desk person know. The next thing I notice is the dirty carpet with cigarette burns all over it. I walked in the bathroom and the first thing I notice is the roll of toilet paper is half used. They couldn't even provide a new roll. While in the bathroom I noticed a splatteron the cieling from a colored liquid. There was also mold on the bottom edge of the shower curtain. I went outside the room to look at the pool area and noticed more things. The pool had black mold on the walls. There was a questionable thug looking man walking around and one of the guests told me to watch my stuff because he is looking to steal. They let anyone from outside the property in....you don't have to be a guest.I don't know why they don't put any money into this place. It has so much potential. So sad. Never again!
I WISH I WOULD HAVE TAKEN PICS TO PROVE IT! TRUST ME.

Room Tip: DON'T GO! Its just not a great property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

No water working in room, no toilet working in room.. shards of glass in my breakfast.. people in pool all night long,,, air conditioning doesnt work very well.. internet worked for about 5 min a day.. had to keep calling and getting them to reset router.. room in disrepair.. very out dated...wud never stay here again.. stay somewhere else and use pool here for free like everyone else does

Room Tip: stay somewhere else and come use pool here for free like everyone else does
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently stayed the weekend.

First Room:
1. Door lock broken.
2. Filthy stains on floor.
3. Smelled like cigarette smoke.
3. Air hardly cooled.

Second Room:
1. STUNK!

Third Room.
1. Overall Cleaner.
2. Filthy Carpets.
3. Toilet had black mold ring.
4. Top of bathroom tile was actually black from dirt.
5. Took three trips to the front desk to get a working remote for the TV.

Although the place is starting to get run down looking like, rusting railings, stains over walkways, and filthy smelly rooms the staff has been very friendly and helpful.

I hope the place doesn't run down like the old Suncoast Hotel.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you settle on one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay during St Pet Pride 2012 and proved to be a great exoerience. Comfortable but basic rooms but onsite shops, restaurant and clubs were great. Nice pool and staff was helpful. Loved the 70's/80's music in the dance club on Saturday. Great band by the pool and drag shows too. Lots of fun and no need to drive back to a room later.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

The rooms need updating, and the staff need to pay more attention to their PAYING guests. Calling ths place a resort is a bit of a stretch. Carpet filthy, linens cheap, and bathroom grotty. At $140 a night (Pride Weekend)they need to lift their game, , It is the busiest time, but most of the staff were pretty unprofessional and some were downright rude.

Bar staff were friendly, as were housekeeping, but front of house and restaurant staff looked pretty much out of it , and mostly unhelpful.

What sort of resort requires you to show ID every time you enter?

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I don't care what "953traveler" said, my cost for the memorial day weekend was $399.00 for stinky room with nasty carpet, a piece of sheet that was tucked on the bed with holes and no chance of being able to take my own drinks or food to the pool area. Also, several people that were quoted $59 a night arrived to find out that was not the case and they had booked their room in advance with a confirmation number. Yes, the bars are nice and the pool area is great. That's it. I would have liked a sheet that fitted my bed. Internet service was really bad. It was only available in spurts. When I complained to the front desk about the internet service. The woman at the desk said she'd send "maintenance" to my room to check it. LOL How stupid can you get? I am not a drinker and not a smoker. This place caters to bar people and, as I understand it, bar people run it. I will never come here again and only recommend it to drunks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly JMS Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO GLBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEXJust minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 120 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill & Cafe, 9 On-Site Shops, 7 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Video Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo BLU Room Night Club, with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Royal Players Cabaret Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering Non-Stop Entertainment, Great Food & Drinks and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one focus. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.