We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. Petersburg

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn St. Petersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 34th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33713   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #12 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

When I read other people's review, I was not sure if I booked the right hotel. However, this is a great hotel! My room was super clean and the bed was very comfortable! i realy love that they wash the bed cover for each stay! I don't know about the hotel location, but was like OBT in Orlando..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    73
    45
    22
    19
See reviews for
75
62
22
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We found a clean, quiet room and comfortable bed which is what the brand promises. We arrived to renovations going on in the lobby. We were disappointed in the quality of the breakfast. But, still appreciated the cookies in the evening and the friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Yes, the lobby is being renovated, but it in no way interfered with check-in, breakfast, or anything else. The renovation area is kept to a minimum and was not a mess at all. I saw no "disarray" and while one elevator was kept closed (I'm guessing for the reno crew), it was a short 10 steps from the main elevator. The room was very clean, very comfortable and had everything you could need. But most important was the level of customer service of their staff. After a long, hard day of moving our daughter from the east coast to St. Pete, we arrived at the hotel, hot, dirty and exhausted. We were greeted by Alex who was wonderful to deal with but could not find our reservation. Imagine our dismay when upon showing my confirmation # we were told that we had actually been booked for the night before and we were listed as a no-show. Whether the fault of the reservation line, the hotel or my own, no one knows but Alex quickly found us the room of our choice and suggested we ask for the manager in the morning. I did just that and the manager, Tiffany, quickly took care of the problem, removing our no-show and making sure we were only charged for one night. I highly recommend this hotel. The customer service, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, etc. can't be beat. We will be making many visits to St. Pete in the future and will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is located in a seedy section of town. It was being renovated when we stayed there and we were never informed about this. The lobby was totally in disarray, the elevator near our room was not functioning, and the room was not thoroughly cleaned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srewy, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
While we're very excited about our renovations, we apologize that you were not aware of them prior to your arrival and regret any inconvenience this may have caused you. We're working with our staff to minimize as much discomfort to our guests as possible and appreciate your patience. We hope you'll consider coming back once our changes are complete and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Friendly staff, conveniently located, easy to get in and out. The rooms are not fancy, but are comfortable and quiet. Pool area is much nicer than I expected for the area and the parking lot is well lit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavares fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

when this inn is finished with renovations in the lobby i am sure it will score higher from everyone as it is inconvenient currently but the quality of the mattress and cleanliness really helped me overlook the current work being done. i suggest those going to the rays game stay here overnight

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Under renovation--horrible!! We were not advised it was under renovation when making reservations. Also, we were told that we got a lowered rate, which I do not believe. The smell of lysol permeated the room; the bathroom was different, and much less lavish, than at other Hamptons. Waited 10-15 minutes to check in since there was room for only one agent to handle the crowd. I called other local hotels and wanted to cancel, but could not get a room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srewy, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We work really hard to ensure that guests feel welcome and comfortable when staying with us. We've shared your feedback about the heavy fragrance smell in your guest room and the wait time you had at our front desk. Please consider giving us another chance for a better stay.

Kind regards,
Tiffany Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Petersburg

Address: 1200 34th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Petersburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn
St Petersburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.