We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate lodging in great location in downtown St Petersburg” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. Petersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn St. Petersburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 34th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33713   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
ohio
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Adequate lodging in great location in downtown St Petersburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a perfectly fine place to stay with close proximity to everything downtown in St Petersburg. Not flashy. Big drawback is the lack of self-parking. All parking is by valet. Breakfast is the standard fare, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    78
    47
    22
    19
See reviews for
86
65
23
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I travel a good bit and I am a Hilton honors member so I try to use their properties whenever possible. This property really needs an update. Everything just seems pretty worn. The staff was friendly enough but the overall condition of the rooms and dining area was just really average or perhaps a bit below average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We always try to stay at Hampton. But the really downtown one was just a bit more than we wanted to pay. This Hampton was just a couple of miles from downtown, a little closer to the beaches, and was very clean and nice. The rooms were good sized, they were quiet, and we got a good sleep both nights we were there. We ate at restaurants in St Pete on the gulf,so the location of the hotel meant that it was easier to drive there. But it only took 10-12 minutes to drive back downtown, so it seemed pretty ideal to us. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Oh boy...this was NOT good. The neighborhood is scary. Be sure to lock your car and bring in all your belongings. The staff was wonderful. They were so nice and polite. I think we are just accustomed to a different class of hotel. This hotel appears to be old and tired. The elevator and hallways were dirty. My husband made the mistake of walking in the room barefoot and he said the carpet was 'sticky'. I wouldn't take my shoes off after that so I have no clue. The room smelled musty and we think there may have been some water damage at some point. The ceiling looked like it had a bad repair done in the past. We were so uncomfortable with the cleanliness and location that we called another hotel in the area and actually moved. I've never had to do hat before. This is NOT the typical Hampton.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srewy, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
The carpet in all guest rooms and in all guest public spaces is 5 months old. The carpet may seem dirty, but I acn assure you it's not . The design is a light color on one side and a dark color on the other side. Our carpet is new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I agree with the other recent reviews. I travel weekly for work and mostly stay at Hamptons. I booked a King Study which are normally pretty spacious rooms. Well this one was a standard size room with a desk that was about 6 inches larger than normal. In that king "study" the desk chair was wooden with no wheels...like a small dining chair. The room was smaller even than most Hmapton's regular rooms. The room had a sofa, but if there was a bed in there you wanted to use, I doubt you could have unfolded it to fit in the room. The furniture was outdated and the hall carpeting just awful. While I didn't use it, the pool area looked very pretty though it is on the main road.

Now the area. I am a woman travelling alone for work. So I become a bit wary when what I see from my hotel room directly across the street in big neon letters is sign that glows "pawn shop". I did not feel comfortable driving alone even through this area at night ( and of course night is now 6PM in the summer) to get dinner. Yes there is stuff nearby, like a Wendy's next to the pawn shop, but I did not feel comfortable going to those places alone.

The breakfast was good except this is the only Hampton I have ever seen that did not offer Robust Coffee in the urns. They did have the baked cookies in the evening, and the "to go" brown bag breakfast.

I was scheduled to stay 3 nights, but checked out after one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srewy, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and I regret your disappointment. We are remolding our guest room decor and lobby. We will take your feedback into consideration as we improve our property look. Please let us know if you have any other comments or suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here on November 17 and it was the third time I've stayed at this property. Unfortunately things seem to have gone down hill a bit since my last visit. The room had a distinct odor of bug spray (better than bugs) and the shower didn't appear to have been cleaned last couple of go arounds. There was mildew in the shower, hair everywhere and the curtain was pretty dirty. The headboard also had chunks of wood gouged out of it. BUT, as always the staff was very friendly and they graciously allowed the runners a later check-out. Might try the other Hampton next time though.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Petersburg

Address: 1200 34th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Petersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn
St Petersburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;