We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night business trip stay, very pleasant and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. Petersburg

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn St. Petersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 34th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33713   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #11 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One night business trip stay, very pleasant and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Hampton Inn & Suites on 34th St. N. St. Petersburg Fl. is a really nice hotel for it's age and the staff is top notch. There is no getting away from the musty odors created by smoking guest who violate hotel policy and smoke when and where they please. Over time it takes it;s toll on any building and this one is no exception. However the rooms are pretty clean, updated, and comfortable. The only complaint is that for some reason Hampton and other Hilton hotels in the "South" have forgotten the food we eat down here, It seems Bagels is always the the breakfest of choice and they even put an omlet on them now which ruins a good omlet, lol. It wasn't that long ago when staying at a Hampton down here got you biscuits, eggs, bacon and gravy. But I guess mayor Bloomberg is making out the menu now:).

Room Tip: Good hotel and a good deal when in the area, very nice rooms, peacefull and quiet. You are still clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    71
    45
    21
    18
See reviews for
71
62
22
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nothing special and nothing really bad. I'd call it your typical Hampton Inn. The staff were nice and eager to serve us. The Hampton breakfasts just don't seem as good as they used to be. On thing missing are the hard boiled eggs that were such a great source of grab and go protein. My room was nice, seemed very clean and they did a fine job of servicing the room. I do think that the price is a bit high for the off season, but hotels rates are on the way up darn it. We stayed here for a work assignment and it was convenient to where we were working. It isn't too far to go down to the pier either for a nice evening meal outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I'm a Diamond Guy, I work the Hilton flip year after year. This hotel is the desperation move in the middle of the week when you want to stack the points, and nothing more. The air conditioning barely works, the ice machines are broken, the elevators are on life support. I feel like I am in Europe again.

Room Tip: Stay in Tampa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel was very clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
Very nice free breakfast with an excellent choice of items. The evening cocktail hour of free beer/wine and snacks was a nice touch. Parking is strictly valet at $14 a night and the service was excellent. Our only complaint was the noisy room Air conditioner. We purchased the Dali Museum package which was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is very nice, but a person name Chi Nguyen is the worst! She is rude and nasty when we talk about customer service. I book around 43 different seminar /month and never had any inconvenience with any personnel at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Me and my family flew in to Tampa on the red eye,and my three kids were so exhausted. I called the hotel and told them my story and they let us check in at 10:00AM(it's usually 3:00pm)! Thank you again Hampton Inn you saved my sanity. They also let my family swim in the pool after it had closed for the night, there is a three hour time difference from where we live so I needed to tire out the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Good points...easy drive to Tropican Field and beaches...very nice and large pool area (actually 2 pools), plenty of chairs, tables and shade near pool. Check in no problem. Plenty of parking Typical Hampton Inn breakfast and area.. Rough points...not on the "best side of town"...safe in hotel grounds though...whole hotel is dated...needs to be updated...carpet, paint, tile throughout. Wear and tear is really beginning to show. AX unit was very noisy...sounded like a tractor trailer was parked oustide when it went on. Decently maintained but getting old!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Petersburg

Address: 1200 34th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Petersburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn
St Petersburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.