We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, so-so area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. Petersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn St. Petersburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 34th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33713   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, so-so area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

The hotel itself was nice; modern, clean rooms and a good (free) breakfast in the morning. The staff accomodated my early arrival and let me check in 4 1/2 hours early.

However, the hotel was in a rather shady area of strip malls with fast food restaurants and check advance/bail bond businesses. Downtown was definitely not within walking distance. If you drive to the downtown area, I would definitely recommend taking the highway, because the neighborhood in between the hotel's location and downtown was very rundown.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    82
    49
    25
    20
See reviews for
92
70
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new braunfels
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

nothing special, but not bad. nice pool for a hampton. Not very close to anything nice.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

The location was great. On a main highway, minutes from Tropicana field and the Pier. Enjoyed the pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The only oddity was that I booked a suite, which did have a cube refrigerator, microwave, and small sink but that was all. There was no dish clothes or towels (not even paper towels), no utensils or plates. It made it hard to utilize the kitchenette. Other than that, the stay was good and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

We came down to St. Pete to see the Red Sox and Devil Rays game. They have directions ready for you at the front desk, its so close to the stadium, its awesome. Nice staff, clean rooms, big pool and fantastic breakfast. I'm a convert, I'm only doing Hampton Inn from now on. One bummer, restaurants were hard to find, fast food is all around, but not many cool sit-down places.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

This Hampton Inn is pretty nice considering its location. Everything was clean and in order. This particular Hampton Inn has not been upgraded to the new stlye of bedding. Everytime I took a shower I had to wait 10+ minutes for the hot water to arrive. At first, I called the desk to complain and they told me to wait so I did. I didn't use the pool but it is very large for a Hampton Inn. The staff was very friendly. The included breakfast was good with eggs and saugsage to go along with the usual cold stuff. A sign in the lobby advertised "Farm Fresh Egg" and it is obvious that they were not. They are little round egg patties! The coffee was really good. Also free hi-speed internet (wired) in the room is always nice. No restaurants really close. You have to drive 10-15 minutes to find some.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

Our family spent two nights at the Hampton Inn while visiting family over Thanksgiving. I was impressed by the condition of the hotel. It was very clean and well maintained. The rooms were large and comfortable. The kids liked the outdoor pool though the "hot tub" left a little to be desired! The hotel has interior corridors and was very quiet. I could not hear any noise from any other rooms. Our room had a refridgerator and a coffee pot in it. The hotel offers a free continental breakfast and has coffee and tea available all the time. The breakfast selection was very good and the quality of food was much better than I ever expected. Check in was fast and check out was even faster. There are laundry facilities in the hotel which we utilized to wash our sandy beach attire. Overall we had a very nice stay and would definately stay at this hotel the next time we visit the St. Petersburg area.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2005

We arrived at the hotel on July 23. It was easy to find; we were checked in quickly and efficiently by a very cheerful young man. We parked in the shaded lot, entered the building with our electronic keys and took the interior stairs up to the 3rd floor. (The elevator prooved to be a major slow poke during our stay.) The hallways above first floor were much too warm, but our room was comfortably cool when we entered. The room was as requested, very clean with a pleasant fragrance. Our window overlooked the pool, spa & sundeck below. It was lovely! The surrounding area was well kempt as well. The bathroom floor appeared to be ceramic tile, and the shower had one of those curved curtain rods which provided lots of extra space. The usual toiletries and towels were provided. The linens, pillows and comforters were clean and in excellenet condition. The mattresses were very comfortable. Complimentary continental breakfast provided the next morning offerred a good choice of items. The attendant was prompt and courteous, the food and drink were fresh and plentiful. Check-out was not necessary - the bill was left under my door very early in the morning. We simply left our keys in the room and departed. The property is situated in a location convenient to dining, shopping, entertainment and sports events. Our stay was most enjoyable - I highly recommend this property. By the way, the Devil Rays won the game 3 to 2!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Petersburg

Address: 1200 34th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Petersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn
St Petersburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.