We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A. Maze. Ing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thuy Cafe

Thuy Cafe
5944 34th St N, Ste 22, St. Petersburg, FL 33714
(727) 521-6406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #302 of 737 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A. Maze. Ing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

So I've been CRAVING. Good banh mi sandwich and I found the only place I need to go in St. Pete!! Don't let the price fool you, you get a meal for next to nothing! I had their "special" sandwich which they said was the most authentic. I was not disappointed!!!

I will be back to this place, OFTEN!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The best boba in bubble tea ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I go here all the time just for the bubble tea. I personally love the coconut although there are many amazing flavors. What makes their bubble tea special is the boba though! It's flavored, not a lot, but just enough to be so good! If you want a treat try it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best of Boba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

They have the BEST boba milk tea. My husband that hates all tea's loved the coconut milk tea with boba (bubbles) and now he can't get enough. My kids tried a variety of flavors each time we went and fell in love with them all. I always stick with the traditional and I'm never disappointed. Did not have any food at this location but did make the 25 minute drive everyday just to get their milk tea with boba (bubbles). The prices are above average but worth it. The store front is on the corner within a shopping center so its a little hard to find.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pete FL
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“this place is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We tried this place last night and it was really good! We tried 3 different types of Banh Mi's and 3 types of boba teas. Excellent...all of them were! Dining area was clean. Cute and cozy place tucked away in a little plaza. The boba teas...so many to choose from. They come with a huge straw to suck up the tapioca pearls and jellies.....bring your kids here...they will want this instead of ice cream! We did the mango, caramel latte and cookies n cream....all delicious and presentation was worth getting another. Cheap prices...sandwiches are less than $5 ...so double the meat for an extra $1!!! Never going to subway again after trying these banh mi's....about 20 different flavors of meat too! Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great boba tea selection, but dining area is always dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We frequent this place pretty often because of the huge variety of boba tea. Some flavors are excellent, while others are so bad that we can't finish them, but we chalk that up to individual taste preferences. Overall, I give the boba tea four to five stars.

Now the reason for the "Average" rating -
I really would like to try the food, but the problem is that the dining area (basically the whole cafe, since it's a smallish place) is always dirty. And I don't mean one table that they haven't bused yet; I mean a lot of crumbs and pieces of food on nearly every table and on the floor. I understand this when they are busy, but sometimes when we walk in there's not a customer in sight and the employees are lounging around behind the counter watching the TV while the place is really dirty. This even happens when the owner is there. Seeing such a dirty dining area kills my desire to order food.

Still, the boba tea is great, so we'll continue to frequent the place for that. The employees are friendly, too. If they start to keep the place cleaned up, I will definitely try the food one day!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thuy Cafe also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Thuy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thuy Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.