We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop but needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Craftsman House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Craftsman House
2955 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33713-8631
727-323-2787
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 707 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a fine cafe inside an art gallery and studio.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a fine cafe inside an art gallery and studio.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
800 reviews 800 reviews
653 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Nice stop but needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stopped here to look at the gallery. Saw lots of nice artwork--much of it pricey. Outside needs repair work. But we loved the fact that we could get a cup of coffee and sit on the porch enjoying the nice weather. This is more like old Florida. And I loved the house itself. Weeds have truly taken over around it however.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“New favorite place for visitors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I love this place! I've heard about it for years but only started going recently, and this is my new go-to for out-of-towners who want a taste of St. Pete. It's on Central Ave., on the edge of the Grand Central Arts District, so there's no water to be seen, and the neighborhood looks a little shaky. But it's spiritually connected to the arts places just to the east, like Nitally's and Queenshead, and it's a great place for lunch. Wonderful, homemade food, desserts, and coffee in an art gallery setting within a quaint Craftsman style house. The owners are quiet but friendly, and you'll enjoy strolling through the rooms eyeing the eclectic mix of art for sale.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AWFUL - DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was once a quaint, charming gallery, NOW --- don't waste your time going over there, stay along the main drag on Central and check out all the galleries and fun shops. The Craftsman House needs major renovation and if you like weeds, well... they have a garden full! We were once customers and hadn't been there in a while because every time we went back, the place was going down hill, so we decided to check them out again hoping it had changed. The owner treated us so poorly; we were kinda taken back - we are not at all hard to get along with, guess he was just in a bad mood probably due to the lack of business --- noticeable. Well, he just lost another customer because we will NEVER go back again and that's a promise! If you decide to go; you'll see what we mean, but again - don't waste your time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Sweet inside. Sad outside. Food wanting.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Craftsman House is at 2955 Central Ave St Petersburg, FL 33713
(727) 323-2787. We hadn't been there in awhile and sadly it'll be our last. Since this establishment is out of the art district you actually have to seek it out. So very sad to see the decline of this gorgeous craftsman cottage. What used to be little rot areas now reflect parts of the roof decaying. The courtyard is unkempt. I suppose they have little money to maintain the properly but now it's at a critical point. When I inquired with the "owner" he surprisingly said "do you want to pay for it?", Even with that attitude we decided to have lunch in the little courtyard. Although we knew there were no customers there we still chanced it. My Caesar salad had poached chicken instead of grilled and it tasted of some days old. The lettuce was crisp but the croutons could attract deer. They were like salt licks! I ate the lettuce. One of my guests had a green apple salad and it was OK. Another guest had a hummus wrap and it too was OK. The crafts inside the bungalow are wondrous so perhaps it is worth the trip to see the great display of handcrafted goods from pottery to woodwork to leather goods all beautifully displayed in this glorious interior of the Craftsman House.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gallery and Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this is a wonderful place! My sisters-in-law and I stopped for lunch. Wraps, salads, and cookies...all healthy, freshly made, and delicious. After lunch, we walked the shop twice there was so much to see. There are lots of lovely artistic and creative items to catch your attention. We found gifts for ourselves and for others. And, returned the next day to buy caps with the Craftsman House logo. Jeff is pleasant to chat with and knowledgeable about the area and the craftspeople who make the items in his store. This is a place to buy higher end craft items including jewelry, pottery, hand blown glass. The building is a Craftsman style bungalow, authentically restored. Delightful place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craftsman House also viewed

 

Been to Craftsman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craftsman House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.