We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Save Saved
You added Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is truly an oasis. It's beautiful location is supplemented with A lively raised bar on a small beach. The night we stayed, there was a beautiful wedding on the small beach. We were treated to live entertainment. In the evenings you can enjoy a view of the Sunshine Skyway bridge illuminated. About 2o minutes from downtown and the beaches, it is very convenient without paying a surcharge. Two pools on well landscaped grounds, it is an older Hotel, used to be a Holiday Inn, but well maintained.
We were given a room with a Bayside view, without having to pay extra. When we looked out the window it felt like we were on a cruise, so close to the water. Decent restaurant but limited menu. Only ate breakfast there. It was convieniet to drive downtown or to the beaches for greater choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 300 section. that is the detached unit on the bay/marina. These have best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove. We do have a beautiful property here. We are so happy you enjoyed it. The view of the Skyway Bridge is incredible. Also the sunrises are so magnificent. Come back and see us all soon! We enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    87
    48
    20
    21
See reviews for
77
75
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent a week at this resort and in October it was verrryyyyy quiet. There were more staff than guests. The rooms are dated as well as the tv..... No flat screens. The channel selection is poor too .. The staff is very nice and the food good. The grounds were very nice and manicured. Two pools, jacuzzi, shuffle board, game room, fitness center and outdoor bar. There was the smell of the seaweed that washes up each morning but having read the previous reviews I was prepared....I brought lavender oil and put it on Kleenex around the room.. It was very relaxing.. But beds are hard hard hard and pillows are lumpy from being laundered so much... Still good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We hope you get to come back and visit us soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Overall it was a great stay! Everyone was so friendly. The location is VERY convenient to everything! We went to a concert at the amphitheater, visited friends in Treasure Island and spent a day in Pass a Grille. Location is prime for all that you could want to do!

Service - friendly, quick check in. Full of information on places to go and things to do. They answered all of our question and gave great directions!

Property - two pools and a hot tub. Well maintained with lots of chairs. Beachfront on the bay along with a great walkway around the property. Lots of little spots to stop and relax. The views are amazing! The property is older but well cared for. There are many scenic spots to stop and relax.

Room - the rooms were clean and spacious. We upgraded to a bay front room. It was clean and had alot of room to move around. We had amazing sunrises that you could see from bed!! The outside area had little benches, lounge chairs and tables/chairs to spend time enjoying the outdoors. There was a fridge, microwave and coffepot that were all in great working order.

Food and drinks - the dining was really good - super breakfast!! There is an onsite bar that is right on the bay. Good music, laughter and fun time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room on the bay if you can! It is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We have a beautiful property here at the Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove. We are all so happy you enjoyed it. It's very relaxing and tranquil. Our guests have had the pleasure of seeing manatees and dolphins in our marina! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent two weeks at this hotel-August and I will never go back. There was a huge cockroach in my first suite; I told the front desk at 8am and when I returned to the room 2 hours later the very large cockroach was still walking around my shower. The front desk staff moved me to a new suite (for people with disabilities, which I told them I am not disabled) and after one night a large cockroach was again in my bathroom. This place smells like rotten eggs (sulfer) most of the time. Also, the food here was absolutely horrible; the wings were thick with batter and the grilled cheese was more like plastic cheese. I am not a fussy traveler and I have visited Mexico and Cuba many times with no cockroaches and excellent food. I absolutely do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience in Florida. We dislike Palmetto Bugs as much as you do. These insects do not like living indoors but can indeed fly into rooms as doors are opened. We have asked our pest control to treat the outside area so that we can discourage a repeat visit. Our Canadian visitors are always intrigued by the various differences nature throws at Floridians.

Our chicken wings are always served "naked" (without batter). We purchase some of the meatiest wings available. These have become a favorite of locals and tourists alike. If you had batter on your wings, they were not prepared or served here.

Florida is a great place to visit and live. Being positioned right on Tampa Bay and occasionally having to deal with the smell of seaweed is challenging and beautiful, all at the same time.

Thanks again for your comments and allowing us an opportunity to reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

What Florida is all about! When visiting the St. Pete/Tampa area, I always stay at the Magnuson Hotel and Marina. Very convenient location, close to everything, shopping, dining, beaches, the bay. Best part is you never have to leave the hotel, the restaurant is fantastic and has a wide variety of food for the whole family. Enjoy the two sparkling pools, a playground for the kids, and a playground for the adults at the Napa Hut, a lively open air bar with a fantastic view, especially at sunset. The staff is warm and welcoming and the rooms are great with plenty of outlets for charging everyone's devices! Recommend a room on the point, your patio is right on the water. There is even a marina for those who care to float in. No complaints, just praise for this resort, without the resort prices and headaches.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy you enjoyed our property. We do have everything you need for your stay right here at the Magnuson! The view is so beautiful! Come back and see us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A group of friends and family stayed for the Labor Day Weekend. Very convenient location for boating activities. Restaurants, supermarkets, gas stations and some area atractions are within couple minutes from the hotel. Excellent service, very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were little outdated but clean. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel. Please come back and see us soon! Our staff would love to have you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Room stunk, outside smelled like sulphur, yes we forgot the 'do not disturb sign' but yelling quite loud "sorry we're in here" 4 times should've stopped the very loud knocking. I don't see many places that, even if they don't have conditioner, don't have a shampoo plus conditioner. Have signs about not washing towels if they're hung up, but took our 3 large towels away, even though they were hanging, and didn't replace them. Way too expensive for services/quality/amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.