We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT FOR PRICE GREAT LOCATION IDEAL FOR FAMILIES” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Looe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOR PRICE GREAT LOCATION IDEAL FOR FAMILIES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here with two friends while on two week fishing trip with friends from the Keys, Orlando to Tampa and St Petersburg. The hotel has two pools and a hot tub, a Tiki bar on stilts by the beach looking out to the Skyway Bridge. Found prices reasonable in restaurant, bar and for the room per night. Room roughly £46 per night for two adults and two children. Can not fault this hotel for location, Price and Amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are so happy you had such a great time! We like to think of our hotel as the "hidden gem" of Tampa Bay. Please come back and see us again soon! We look forward to having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    111
    65
    27
    26
See reviews for
101
98
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has beautiful water views! We found the front desk staff to be very nice and helpful. The rooms are a good size and clean. Our children love the large swimming pool and arcade. The onsite restaurant has a great selection for dinner. The location is perfect-you are very close to St. Pete beach and Ft. DeSoto. Great location and great price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Your wonderfull! We really appreciate your nice review. We think our restaurant is prett awsome as well. The pools are refreshing, rooms clean and we always get a thrill when our guests tell us so. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place has all the the ingredients to be successful except competent management and staff.
A beautiful beach but covered by seaweed. A daily raking will fix that. 2 pools and a hot tub....perfect but there is no service outside and the pool restrooms are disgusting. There is a Tiki bar waterside with a great view of the pools, the beach and Tampa Bay. It is too bad that the wait staff could care less that you are there. Waited 30 minutes at the bar for a drink and gave up. Same story inside. One server, 5 customers and the server was so confused with the cash register that she couldn't keep up. We gave up there too. And the marina; good docking but confusion on parking.
We asked about having a club event outside. We were told that FOR $3500 we could rent the use of a small area under the Tiki Hut, plus food and beverage. Really?
Overall I just don't get it. This place could be a great destination. All the assets are there. It's too bad under current management it will fail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectation. I suspect that you might be upset about the property fee to host a group at the Beach Bar. Exclusively closing one of our main outlets on a weekend day is very difficult to do. As you witnessed yourself, the bars get very busy and our customers would not appreciate us doing this to them. We are open to close the beach bar for exclusive events; this was just not a good option for the busy date you selected. We hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What stood out most about this hotel was the staff. Everyone I met was friendly and helpful, even at midnight when I couldn't get the tap to work (I wasn't doing it right). Or when I didn't have any milk at the same time. The facilities were good, pool, bar, restaurant and gym. My nephew hired a bike to ride around the grounds which he found fun. The rooms are very dated which is reflected fairly in the price. They needed to be gutted and start again. However they were clean and functional, though not a lot of room. Our room had a view of the pool and the marina which was nice and it was peaceful. The standard of food in the restaurant let it down even the pancakes were rubbery so I wouldn't eat there again but I would stay there. If you want somewhere only 6 miles from the beautiful Pass-A-Grille, but half the price this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. we really appreciate all the nice things our guests say about us. Yes, we know we are not perferct but we continue to try very hard. One of our greatest assets is indeed the great people we have working for us. We appreciate you noticing this and we will be sure to let our staff hear your comments. We hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed a week and the weather was great. The beds were comfortable. The pools were clean. The restaurants were very reasonably priced. Our room was located on the first floor, facing the bay. Our kids fished off the marina and they caught plenty of fish. The rooms could use updating, but overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy your children experienced fishing off at the marina. It is so peaceful overlooking the bay and the marina. Please come back and see us again! We would love to have your family back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pool Awesome,bar awesome rooms awesome, food awesome...Bathroom by the pool totally gross!!!! We even complained on Saturday and they still did not fix it. With a packed hotel someone dropped the ball.. It had overflow all over totally a health hazard . We had to go through the restaurant to the lobby. The Head of Maintenance and Housekeeping should be fired for leaving the bathroom like this with so many people on property!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so happy you had a a great stay with us. I am sorry about thebathroom out at the pool. We have taken care of the problem. I will pass on your comment on to Sarah! Our employees take great pride in our property and its nice when they get mentioned. Please come back and see us soon! We enjoyed having you here at the Magnuson Resort Marina Cove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this place, We were really surprised. Our room was on the second floor right across from the playground, we had a perfect view of the pools and ocean. Our room was clean and our king size bed was very comfortable. The weather was wonderful, we loved the location it was really close to St.Pete beach, which by the way we visited almost every day. My husband and I fell in love with St.Petersburg. The staff was great, housekeeping was the best, they always made sure we were taken care of every day. I agree with some of the other reviews that the hotel was a bit dated but for the cost and location it was very reasonable. The pools were always clean and inviting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! I will make sure I pass your comments on to my staff. We are the Hidden Gem of Tampa Bay! Please come back and join us again. We really look forward to having you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.