We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pools and view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Save Saved
You added Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pools and view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed a week and the weather was great. The beds were comfortable. The pools were clean. The restaurants were very reasonably priced. Our room was located on the first floor, facing the bay. Our kids fished off the marina and they caught plenty of fish. The rooms could use updating, but overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy your children experienced fishing off at the marina. It is so peaceful overlooking the bay and the marina. Please come back and see us again! We would love to have your family back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    87
    46
    20
    20
See reviews for
75
74
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pool Awesome,bar awesome rooms awesome, food awesome...Bathroom by the pool totally gross!!!! We even complained on Saturday and they still did not fix it. With a packed hotel someone dropped the ball.. It had overflow all over totally a health hazard . We had to go through the restaurant to the lobby. The Head of Maintenance and Housekeeping should be fired for leaving the bathroom like this with so many people on property!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so happy you had a a great stay with us. I am sorry about thebathroom out at the pool. We have taken care of the problem. I will pass on your comment on to Sarah! Our employees take great pride in our property and its nice when they get mentioned. Please come back and see us soon! We enjoyed having you here at the Magnuson Resort Marina Cove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this place, We were really surprised. Our room was on the second floor right across from the playground, we had a perfect view of the pools and ocean. Our room was clean and our king size bed was very comfortable. The weather was wonderful, we loved the location it was really close to St.Pete beach, which by the way we visited almost every day. My husband and I fell in love with St.Petersburg. The staff was great, housekeeping was the best, they always made sure we were taken care of every day. I agree with some of the other reviews that the hotel was a bit dated but for the cost and location it was very reasonable. The pools were always clean and inviting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! I will make sure I pass your comments on to my staff. We are the Hidden Gem of Tampa Bay! Please come back and join us again. We really look forward to having you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked our room a couple months in advance for 2 nights in early May. We were initially excited because we got the rooms for about $80/night and the pictures looked very tropical and inviting. First impression pulling into the hotel/parking lot was that it looked very old and out of style. Once we walked into the lobby to check in we felt once again that it was old and out of style as well as dank and humid. Almost moldy feeling. After we arrived in our room we felt again that it was dank and moldy feeling with a small window ac unit. The room appeared to have been cleaned but it still felt pretty gross. We quickly made a drink and headed to the pool and the beach area. The marina was gross and stinky but that can be expected. The beach didn't have any chairs to lay on and was covered in rotting seaweed. The smell was pretty unbearable so we headed to the pool. The pool again appeared very old and out of style as well as dirty with ducks swimming and bathing in it. The towels that were available were tiny and stained. So at this point we were pretty pissed off and decided to leave. Fortunately Marcus, one of the managers, was very understanding and said we would have no cancelation charge. We left and went to a comfort inn for 20 dollars less a night and were amazed at how much nicer the rooms, pool, and overall hotel was compared to magnuson. Save yourself the money and go somewhere cheaper and nicer. Honestly, we have said multiple times since that we wish we would have stayed at the postcard inn. We would have been able to stay there for 100/night and it was AMAZING when we checked it out. The beach, hotel, pool, and amenities were all above and beyond expectations. Next trip to St. Pete we will book with postcard inn.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place. The view from our room overlooking the water was great. There are 2 nice pools and a spa. The grounds are well kept and clean. The hotel is obviously an older one but everything in our room was extremely clean, working and comfortable. Folks at the front desk were always helpful directing us to local fun and food. There is a great walking trail along the bridge and a small park close by. The man made beach is small but I think what others refer to as "dirty". Was just some seaweed. You are just a short drive to the larger beaches , shopping and restaurants. If you're looking for a good solid place to stay that's reasonable , peaceful and comfortable this is your pick. We will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! The view is so beautiful of the Skyway Bridge and the sunrises here at the hotel. Just last week we had manatees and dolphins playing in our marina. It was quite exciting.. We look forward to having you back with us here at the Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We liked this hotel although a renovation is needed. The location is really neat. As a previous reviewer stated, it was great fun to watch the boats on the bay. We were only staying one night while visiting family. Marcos, an asst. Mgr., checked us in & gave us an upgrade to a room (319) overlooking the bay. He was very helpful but we did get lost looking for the room.
The room was obviously dated but the bed was comfortable & we loved the view. We did not try the restaurant but it looked nice with reasonable prices. This is a fun place to stay for a weekend & a car is a must.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Magnuson Hotel for your stay. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It is a great place to just relax and enjoy yourself. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nostalgic you say? Walking into this quaint hotel complex made me feel exactly like that. It emulates Rest and Relaxation and when you are on vacation that is exactly how you want to feel. I had the strong sense that people who visit this hotel come back again and again. The rooms, very adequate and clean. The staff all around was exceptional and friendly. It is on the bay side and has a private beach and a marina. Although quiet, this offers entertainment itself to watch all the activity in the bay from swimmers and kayakers to sailboats and larger rigs. Not to mention the natural activity of fish jumping and pelicans and gulls stoppiing in. A dolphin swam into the marina while I was there too. Nice restaurant/bar area with a good menu. The beach bar which is a highlight is situatiated to offer a fantastic view with tropical ambiance. Two nice pools are also on the property. It is a family friendly complex as well. Much enjoyed the stay and hope to go back!

Room Tip: Stay on the point if possible. It offers a great view and feels set apart and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are all so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The view here at the hotel is spectacular. Great place to sit back and relax while the children play in the pools and playground. There is also great fishing here. We have seen some of our guests catch some pretty big fish! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.