We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnuson hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Save Saved
You added Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 45 hotels in St. Petersburg
Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magnuson hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

we recenly stayed at the Magnuson Marina Cove and we had a very enjoyable time. The rooms were pretty standard but they were nice and clean and the cleaning staff were right on top of things. The hotel is quiet so if you're looking for alot of action it's not for you. The washroom was clean and nice and roomy.There is a boat cruise that leaves from the hotel called the Adventure Boat Cruise which is a must do!! The hotel is conveniently located right at the 275 entrance and is within a 20 minute drive to Clearwater,Treasure Island, Madiera Beach and Tampa. There is also a huge mall nearby called the Tyrone Shopping Center.The beach at the hotel is not that great so you would probably want to use the pools. The restaurant (The Periscope) left a lot to be desired and the first night we got there we didn't pay enough attention to the bill and left a 15% tip not realizing they had already INCLUDED an 18% tip in the bill. We were NOT happy about it. Believe me the sevice was not worth the 18 % let alone 38%!!!! I would stay at this hotel again it was enjoyable and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: courtyard overlooks the bay and has a nice balcony on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our staff is so happy that you had a grat time here at the hotel.
Hope you had a safe trip back to Canada and it is not too cold. We are so busy here right now with Spring Break travelers. The sunshine has been perfect everyday.
Come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    88
    47
    21
    21
See reviews for
77
76
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a visit to Eckerd College. The location was the reason we chose this hotel. The service was very good and we had two issues that were attended to right away. The beds were comfortable and the room was adequate. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel hosts family and friends of Eckerd College all the time. We have a great parternership with them and we are only minutes away from their front entrance. Please come back again soon and best of luck to your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay! Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice, the food was good and the people were great! All the staff were very professional and made sure I got what I needed. I will definitely be returning sometime soon! I wish I could thank everybody by name but a special thanks to Steve for taking care of my aunt Vivian every time she's there!

Room Tip: Make sure to make the most of this cozy resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are so glad you really enjoyed your stay!
Ms. Vivian has stayed with us for years and it is always great to see her each February. She had a great stay with us. We were sad to see her leave this morning. Hope to see you all again next year. You guys are truly part of our extended hotel family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wow. Management here is terrible. Service was not good either. Our room had issues and they were not the least bit interested in resolving it. Would not consider coming here again. There were some others we spoke with here that had the same sentiments. Not worth the money.

Room Tip: Best tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are sorry you had issues during your stay. We always do our best to respond to any problems in a timely manner.
Our management staff has been here for several years and we take great pride in our guests.
Please look at all the other great postings from other guests and maybe you will give us a second chance next time you are in the St. Pete area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for a Half Marathon, picked this hotel because of price and it was decently rated. Pros: the grounds are very nice, beautiful views of the water.
Challenges we had: Shower curtain had a large, unsightly stain. Ate in the restaurant, mainly because there was nothing else around. It was less than half empty but service was extremely slow. Our server did the best he could but it was just severely understaffed for the evening. The restaurant manager was great, but she had not been notified that there was a race event in the area (this was a hotel listed on the race site). Manager gave us a % off, but we felt like we wasted so much time. Food was just okay. While the beds were comfortable, the A/C was SO loud, I couldn't sleep through the night. I scheduled a wake-up call but I always set the alarm on my phone just in case. Thank goodness because my wake-up call came almost 35 minutes late. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel has two good sized pools, one heated in winter.The pools are large enough to swim laps. The hotel also has a small beach with a nice view. The building is a two-story, motel-like structure and we had a second-story unit with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The unit was small, had two double beds, a refrigerator and a small coffee maker. All-in-all quite adequate for our needs. We did not need the A/C but opened the balcony door. The hotel is right off major highway 275 but with our entrance door closed we heard no traffic noise.
We were taking courses with an Elderhostel group and had breakfasts, some lunches and one dinner at the hotel. The breakfasts were monotonous. For example, there should have been more than one choice of cold cereal. The lunches were pretty much boring. (Maybe the Elderhostel was trying to save money). Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor balcony room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for stay with us during your time with Eckerd College Elderhostel/Road Scholar. They do pick a pre-determined menu for the group. Our restaurant might have offered you a few other options.
I hope you had time to enjoy some of our amenities while you were here and our beautiful weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went for a Scrapbookers weekend.Room was clean, bright & cheery. Food was great. Especially the Clam Chowder. Loved the Tiki Bar for a refreshing brew and view.
All the staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We love hosting Cheeky Chics Scrapbooking. We are glad you had a great weekend and the scrapbooking event was a success. It looks like you had a chance to spend sometime around the hotel enjoying our amenities. The soup is delicious. Our restaurant has a great menu with a variety of options. Thank you for posting the pictures with your review. Hope to see you for the next event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.