We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food done well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasadena Steak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pasadena Steak House
1530 South Pasadena Avenue, St. Petersburg, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #328 of 705 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really good food done well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great steakhouse, traditional setting, great service and really flexible. I asked if my med-rare prime rib could be seared on the griddle and it was no problem, just enough char done quickly so the meat did not overlook. The meal was served with heaps of great fresh veggies - not what I am used to in the US but most welcome! Love this place as it's not touristy like some.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lousy service this time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My church's women's group made reservation for 15, however 17 showed at lunch. The waiter was out loud verbal about the change."They told me 15, we set up for 15" Over all rude to women he was helping. The waitress was trying to compensate for him, and the food is great there. But we were very uncomfortable, not knowing what would set him off again. Menu has changed at lunch, we were limited in our selections, and no dessert(sherbet?) as in yrs past. The upshot of this is that we were the only ones there, and very little take out. So we made their lunch hr , but will never go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service and delicous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have been to the Pasadena Steakhouse on a saturday evening. At first, we were wondering why nobody was there and if this means, they don't serve good food. But we didn't understand why there were no people because the food was great. It was one of the best steaks which we ever had in the US and also the fish soup as appetizer was delicious.
The service was great. After dinner, we spoke to the manager who was also very friendly.
Unfortunately, we forgot our credit card in the restaurant. When we noticed later in the hotel, we called our front desk and they told us that the owner has already brought the credit card to the hotel. That is really what you call great service!
We defintely recommend going to Pasadena Steakhouse!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely the worst experience and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently ate dinner at this restaurant and the service was beyond terrible. When we walked in a waiter at the podium stood there looking at us and we had to ask him for a table. He clothing had stains and he was most unkempt. After being seated and during the ordering process he advised the other person in my party to not drink the milk. Thereby, indicating it was bad and should be avoided. I frankly think this did this restaurant a tremendous disservice. Tell a guest you are out, but don't tell them it is bad. The food was not very good especially the stroganoff. The steak as think, not very tasty. But it could have been great food and still have been a terrible experience because of the sloppy, incredibly stupid waiter. Avoid this place, you might get him

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Place for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had dinner at the Pasadena Steak House over the Memorial Day weekend. The building is a little older but was clean. The service was great and our meal was delicious. The one thing that kept them from a 5 was that my medium rare steak was served medium well. I don't send food back so I ate part and took the rest home for my husband, who is not as picky. My husband had liver and he said it was delicious. It's hard to find good liver so we gave them points for that. The salad was fresh and really crisp and the vegetables were properly cooked. I would go back and eat there again to give them one more chance, as we did enjoy the more adult dining experience. There are so many choices on the menu, we had a hard time deciding what to try. They did offer us a free desert to make up for the steak, but we had plenty to eat and declined. Will give them another try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasadena Steak House also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Pasadena Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasadena Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.