We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Clean, Amazing Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cordova Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cordova Inn to your Saves list
The Cordova Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701 (Formerly Pier Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Charming & Clean, Amazing Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

When an Airbnb in Madeira Beach cancelled on us just one week before our trip from Wisconsin to Florida during the most brutal winter of our lives (learn from our mistake here), we panicked. The prices were by that time out of the roof unless we wanted to stay near the airport. But somehow the Pier Hotel in St. Petersburg had space and at a great rate, for a 7 day stay $111 week night/weekends $155. We were reluctant, it's located in the heart of St. Petersburg rather than the beach and the reviews vacillated between great and worst place ever. But our options were few and we liked the sound of its historic nature, but also knew that could have been a euphemism for, "old and run down." I'm a travel writer and have seen it all. WE WERE THRILLED. First of all, it was so clean you could eat off the bathroom floor. In all areas. The bedroom, the bathroom, the common areas, including the common bathroom. The decor was kitchy but darling, a cross between real vintage and great garage sale finds. And the architecture was true to the Victorian era of the building with no creepy add-ons like paneling or shag carpet, it was the real historic deal without being price-driving polished. And the staff was the friendliest, most helpful bunch of young, hard workers I've ever seen. Melissa, the hotel manager, even let us out of three days that were accidentally booked, without a charge, when our booking agent, Hotels.com refused. The Continental breakfast was pretty mainstream but had real eggs and sausage and the 24 hour coffee tasted brewed and acceptable for this have-to-find-the-best-latte-in-the-city age. The location was great (but directly across from a junior college so keep your view expectation low) just a few blocks from the water (not the beach side but a beautiful bay with marinas, no beaches) and outdoor cafes-- we recommend the Beach and Vine -- moderately priced, locally sourced yummy food (fish tacos out of this world), and super friendly servers--the Fine Arts and Dali museum and just a peaceful, well-appointed city. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room amenities were pretty bare-bones, but for overall comfort, including a large front porch with cafe tables and wicker chairs, it was a joy to have found this place by default. Strongly recommend it if you're traveling on a budget. Or just want a great price in a great location. Stephanie, the night clerk, is a sweetie. We heart The Pier.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    94
    32
    28
    25
See reviews for
28
144
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We are Tampa residents and were attending at wedding at the Vinoy and needed an affordable place to stay the night. The Pier Hotel was quaint, quiet, affordable, and met our needs. If you are looking for a high-end hotel with tons of ammenities then this is not the place. The hotel was charming and in great walking distance from lots of bars, restaurants, and the Vinoy. The front desk was very friendly and parking was free if you stay at the hotel. The hotel uses actual keys to get into your room, not the magnetic key cards and each room has a wall A/C unit which does work. We stayed on the second floor and didn't hear a sound- very quiet. In the morning, there was coffee and free breakfast which was nice. Overall, a great place to stay the night for a good price.

Room Tip: We had the room on the 2nd floor in the corner, away from all the other rooms- near the book shelf a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

After a day of looking at condos and houses in lovely downtown St. Pete, it started to rain -- a lot -- and we abandoned plans of driving to Sarasota, where we were scheduled to look at real estate the next day. It was almost 8 at night, and we stumbled upon this attractive looking hotel smack dab in the middle of downtown. The price on the search engine for a king room was a little over a hundred dollars, but booking through the hotel, we automatically got it for about $95, so I'd advise doing that. This is an unusual hotel. It looks like it's going to be fancy, but it isn't. It's full of antiques -- tables, chaise longues -- but the rooms seem to be smaller and pretty basic in spite of these furnishings. The tv in our room was a smaller, old-fashioned one. The king bed was comfy. We fell into it, watched TV, and didn't move on such a rainy night. The bathroom was miniscule but very clean. It seemed like the perfect place to spend a couple of nights when you want to have money leftover to take advantage of downtown St. Pete's restaurants and attractions. Porch is great. Wifi is free. Breakfast is free too, and it has real eggs and sausage and on our morning, fellow travelers were pleasantly chatty. Staff seemed friendly and helpful as well. I'm assuming we had the cheapest room, perfect for our 12-hour stay, but we didn't even have time to go upstairs to check out those rooms, which might be bigger and more luxurious. Parking at $6 right next door was a deal. You can walk to just about everything. We felt lucky to have found such a bargain downtown!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Nice, old fashioned hotel 2 blocks from downtown and the parks. My husband and I stayed for eight days and the staff were most helpful and friendly. The trolley was great to get around and we took the bus to Pass A Grille twice. I love hotels like this! We plan to go back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel located in downtown St. Pete. It's in a great location close to restaurants and the Salvadore Dali Museum. There is even a movie theater just across the street. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we really enjoyed the breakfasts. Parking was not a problem as we parked in the dirt lot beside the hotel for $6 per day. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. It's not first class, but it was clean and definitely worth the price.

Room Tip: We had a room downstairs in the back and had no problem whatsoever with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel for whatever reason gets its share of favorable reviews. I cannot see how. Let me say that it is not all bad. Its location is right in the heart of downtown St Petersburg. For a $6 fee payable upon check in, you can park in an ample parking lot (unpaved and quite dusty). The free wifi was strong and adequare. The clerks seem to be college undergraduates eager to please and helpful. Now the not so good. The hotel is neither chic, charming or quaint. While most things function, they are heavily used, inelegantly recycled, and unattractive. The room itself was dark and creepy and faced a house whose inhabitants were down at the heels. No one would want to open either of the two windows. The sight was very unsavory. I was surprised to see a plethora of homeless in the nearby park and streets but this is more St Pete's problem than the hotel's. The room is very cheap coming in at about $100/night including taxes. The furniture is 2nd if not 3rd hand. If getting a room at a rick bottom price in the heart of town is of prime importance, this place is for you. I felt obligated to write a basically negative review to balance the positive ones that I find incredible. Like a previous guest experienced, we had someone lock someone else out if their room after midnight. This added to the overall creepiness of the place. There is no managerial presence after 10 pm so you're on your own. (There is an after 10 pm number to call and my advice would be to copy it down.) I booked for a two day stay but only stayed for one. They did refund my second night's fee on short notice when I explained the nightime antics.

Room Tip: Find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a great time at the Pier Hotel, enjoyed having drinks on the Veranda and the Hostess, Hotel Clerk was exceptional. We just stayed the one night to go to the Boat Show. The rooms are small and you must use the stairs for second floor rooms. All just part of the experience. Convenient Location

Room Tip: Small rooms and stairway. Great little downtown hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cordova Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cordova Inn

Address: 253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701 (Formerly Pier Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cordova Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordova Inn, located in historic downtown St Petersburg, welcomes you. We are a boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown St Pete, and all of the fun, romance and excitement of St. Petersburg awaits, just footsteps away. When you stay at The Cordova Inn, you'll enjoy modern amenities merged with historic ambiance. As an award winning boutique hotel, we'll work hard to make your stay in downtown St. Petersburg FL a wonderful experience while you enjoy all the best that St Pete has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Cordova Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Petersburg
Pier St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cordova Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.