We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel badly in need of renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cordova Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cordova Inn to your Saves list
The Cordova Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701 (Formerly Pier Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Tarpon Springs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tired hotel badly in need of renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We've stayed at the Pier Hotel several times. It used to be very affordable and since we lived 40 miles from downtown St. Petersburg we would come for an event and then stay overnight rather than drive home on a late Saturday evening. We never really expected luxury because it used to be well under $100 per night. No longer - they're well over $110 or $120/night. The rooms vary greatly by size in our experience. While the hotel is old, musty and dingy, the staff is generally very nice, which is why it gets 2 stars and not 1. The last time we stayed, is the last time we'll go there. The room was incredibly small - something you'd expect at a 2 star hotel in Europe. The room frankly looked like a converted mop room. The windows were dirty and one was cracked, the curtains were caked with dust. The a/c worked fine but it was a noisy window unit. The bathroom was a converted closet and the whole place had been painted so many times it was hard to get doors to even close. When it's no longer a bargain is when I started to really look around. This place needs a complete renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    94
    32
    28
    25
See reviews for
28
144
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This older hotel is very carefully maintained and clean. It is staffed by a variety of people who know how to smile. The website talks about a refurbishing project a while back. The job was clearly supervised by somebody with a real appreciation for the hotel's old-fashioned style. It looks like a carefully preserved period piece. If you are looking for no-frills value and can make do without an elevator, this is the place for you. I would happily stay again should the opportunity arise. There is a hot breakfast option (truly inexpensive and very good - my travelling companion ordered one, while I stuck with the standard free offering, which was just fine). The location is terrific - well within walking distance of many of the City's attractions, and the really cheap "Looper" trolley stops right out front, so those who don't want to walk can get to many of the highlights without driving (service every 15 minutes). Recommend wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a lot of character in a great location. We stayed here a couple of times and really enjoyed it both times. The location is great for a concert at Jannus Landing. They have a nice happy hour and the charm of the hotel is really nice. Sitting outside was like the Old Florida feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are thrilled you have stayed with us recently and in the past and enjoyed each stay. We love our repeat guests! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed one night at the Pier Hotel and just loved it! The staff was so welcoming from the moment we arrived. We arrived during happy hour and each offered a complimentary drink. Location was a short walk to downtown and great restaurants. From the moment we arrived until we left we felt taken care of and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved the charm of this historic hotel. From the claw-foot tub to the "real" room keys to the exceptional staff, we loved all of the quaint details! Happy hour was a great start to our evening, and we enjoyed meeting the chef.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and all of the charm The Pier Hotel has to offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Words can't explain how much I loved and enjoyed my stay at the pier. I have never encountered a more hospitable crowd of workers. From when I walked in til the time I left I felt special and really taken care of. The rooms are good sized and clean. Happy hour and dinner were full of laughs and my friends and I made great memories. Chef really aided with that. From start to finish the pier is quite the experiance. Thank you Pier staff for all you did for us to make our trip special and everyone reading this you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so glad that you had a wonderful time with us. We hope you chose to come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's not a new hotel. It reminded me of my childhood when we went to Atlantic City and stayed a few blocks off of the boardwalk. BUT, a few friends came into down and we stayed with them here and had the time of our life. GET the deluxe room and book directly with them for the best price. They have a small breakfast, a quaint dining room for meals, and I loved my stay here. A few blocks from the heart of one of the countries great downtowns. The teens had a blast at the clubs, we took the ghost tour. Great jazz and food. Took in a Baseball game too! Great transportation. Easy walk to parks and museums. Staff couldn't be better, even the flaws added to the charm.

Room Tip: book with them directly for best price get deluxe room suite, it's so much bigger and worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again and continue providing many memories of laughter and joy at The Pier Hotel.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cordova Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cordova Inn

Address: 253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701 (Formerly Pier Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cordova Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordova Inn, located in historic downtown St Petersburg, welcomes you. We are a boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown St Pete, and all of the fun, romance and excitement of St. Petersburg awaits, just footsteps away. When you stay at The Cordova Inn, you'll enjoy modern amenities merged with historic ambiance. As an award winning boutique hotel, we'll work hard to make your stay in downtown St. Petersburg FL a wonderful experience while you enjoy all the best that St Pete has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cordova Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Petersburg
Pier St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cordova Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.